Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 ... 259 260 [261] 262 263 ... 296

Author Topic: [0.95.1a] Nexerelin v0.10.3i "SpaceLand Battle" (update 2021-12-17)  (Read 1909481 times)

Histidine

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 3627
    • View Profile
    • Bitbucket profile
    • Email

So on the subject of "vanilla stuff that isn't quite playing nice with Nex 10.1c", I'm That Dork who actually wanted to do the Tutorial start with Nex for the "story immersion" (I am newish to the game but I have played the default game a fair bit, while some friends heavily recommend Nex as more or less being vital to the game overall). So I started up a new game with the tutorial start, and it turns out that consistently crashes the game - everything else is fine, number of mods doesn't matter, this is specifically a Nex issue. To reproduce, just try to start a new game with the tutorial start option under custom start. It should crash with a short "null: fatal" error asking you to consult the log file.

That said, it manages to save before the crash, so the game still appears to work... however, the game actually also forgets to advance the calendar to March 2nd! I'll have to play more to see if it breaks anything else, but it seems like the game otherwise works, it's just the tuto start that's a bit off. :V Here's the snippet of the crash log on my end, with the big obvious exception. (That is not a small number of zeroes. That is a lot of zeroes!) https://pastebin.com/Yvf7naEa
Yeah, it's an obscure bug somewhere in the vanilla code. I've reported to Alex, but don't know if it's being worked on.
(One odd workaround is to start at level 2, the crash only happens at level 1 for some reason)

Hey, i see there is a feature to trade bps, cool as hell.

i waned to know how it works...and im looking at "campaign\rulecmd\Nex_BlueprintSwap.java" now, didn't think there was so much code behind it


Can this be used to add specific bps(or any item) to a submarket, so they always have it on stock?
ofc a lot of it is interface, but there didn't seem to be any mods that do that so i wonder
The blueprint trader doesn't interact with submarkets at all, if you're wondering. I see you've already gotten help elsewhere though.

love the mod and all the work you guys have done, but ive made about 6-8 different nex campaigns over the course of this year and i keep running into the same thing.   

every time i start a game as a faction that faction starts getting invaded almost right away.  ive tried running campaigns as a few different factions but the result always seems to be the same.  in this last example the 2nd notice of any faction taking any hostile actions toward one another was the announcement of my factions largest world coming under assault which they then proceeded to lose as i just hit level 7 and cant stop waves of battleships quite yet.

Ive tried to avoid black market transactions more then i have in the past, altho i suppose i have made some illicit trades, but really...what am i doing wrong? this happens 100% of the time to me even when i disable factions like hegemony altho i did have diable (mod) faction in their place who turned out to be the aggressor in this example, but i think ive tried neither in the past and STILL got the same result.

what am i doing wrong?

edit: just struck me.  im going to start another game where i am hegemony or diable and maybe leave them later when i get on my feet or if they start getting hit to bad.

What are the war declaration parameters?  Wasn't so much of an issue before (ie, 0.91), but in 0.95 so far, both major alliances declared war on me within like six months of each other, all to attack a single colony I started that was barely a 4... has led a a weird situation where my colony's access is negative, so can't resupply.  Not that I can't prolly overcome it, just weird choices by mod.  Like maybe Nuclear Gandhi weird.
For opportunistic declarations of war (the "Declare War" diplomacy event), check the diplomacy profiles in intel; if the faction is able to opportunistically declare war on your faction, it'll say so near the top. A faction will do it if it smells an easy target, and relationships are low enough; most require inhospitable, but the Paranoid trait allows it at suspicious.

Other than that, random events can also push you into the hostile range.

Best thing I can suggest is build up a reputation buffer with the big boys before getting a colony, or get a commission with one of the said big boys as cover (that faction won't attack you, and others will be more likely to attack your commissioning faction's colonies than your own); can always resign it later.
Logged

bob888w

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile

In a prespawned system who has the initial "claim" on a systems worlds? Or is it split evenly among the existing polities in the system?

(Trying to figure out why Kadur Remnant is getting invaded in the first few cycles of game start).
Logged

Jade Tendency

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Fourth Olympus
    • View Profile

So I have a weird issue, Hegemony conquered an ARS base, and now I get "Hegemony Respawns" messages over and over. Is this a problem with Legacy of Arkgneisis or Nex you think? I have faction respawn set to off.

Edit: I had the bright idea to kill the base with console comands and now I get "Neutral Faction Respawns" and then Neutral Faction Disbands over and over instead.


« Last Edit: May 25, 2021, 09:47:22 AM by Jade Tendency »
Logged

envenger

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
    • Email

love the mod and all the work you guys have done, but ive made about 6-8 different nex campaigns over the course of this year and i keep running into the same thing.   

every time i start a game as a faction that faction starts getting invaded almost right away.  ive tried running campaigns as a few different factions but the result always seems to be the same.  in this last example the 2nd notice of any faction taking any hostile actions toward one another was the announcement of my factions largest world coming under assault which they then proceeded to lose as i just hit level 7 and cant stop waves of battleships quite yet.

Ive tried to avoid black market transactions more then i have in the past, altho i suppose i have made some illicit trades, but really...what am i doing wrong? this happens 100% of the time to me even when i disable factions like hegemony altho i did have diable (mod) faction in their place who turned out to be the aggressor in this example, but i think ive tried neither in the past and STILL got the same result.

what am i doing wrong?

edit: just struck me.  im going to start another game where i am hegemony or diable and maybe leave them later when i get on my feet or if they start getting hit to bad.

I increase the invasion settings in the config to avoid this.
Logged

Warlord-616x

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 99
    • View Profile

interesting, i might have to look into that. and thanks.
« Last Edit: May 25, 2021, 11:39:44 PM by Warlord-616x »
Logged

Histidine

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 3627
    • View Profile
    • Bitbucket profile
    • Email

So I have a weird issue, Hegemony conquered an ARS base, and now I get "Hegemony Respawns" messages over and over. Is this a problem with Legacy of Arkgneisis or Nex you think? I have faction respawn set to off.

Edit: I had the bright idea to kill the base with console comands and now I get "Neutral Faction Respawns" and then Neutral Faction Disbands over and over instead.
Yeah, seems like a weird interaction with the Reparations Society logic on gaining/losing markets. I'll discuss with Gwyvern about why it's happening.
Logged

SpaceDrake

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • Mio Harcourt: fixin' the Machine.
    • View Profile

In a prespawned system who has the initial "claim" on a systems worlds? Or is it split evenly among the existing polities in the system?

(Trying to figure out why Kadur Remnant is getting invaded in the first few cycles of game start).

Kadur is treated more like a "proper" faction than the pirates or Path, and they start out hostile with everybody, so they're going to get steamrolled a bunch. They got crushed early in my new game too, but I realized real fast what was happening.

Yeah, it's an obscure bug somewhere in the vanilla code. I've reported to Alex, but don't know if it's being worked on.
(One odd workaround is to start at level 2, the crash only happens at level 1 for some reason)

Yeah, I was going to say, I tried out the level 2 thing and I *think* what's going on is that the game is being thrown for a loop by the fact that the level 1 tutorial start actually holds back your initial, level 1 skill point. The game is "forced" to skip you buying your initial skill point like you do on any other start (including in vanilla), and as a result, when the Nex stuff is applied on top of that and there's no skillpoint to allocate at all, the game gets very confused. The level 2+ start still skips the time advancement for some reason, but that generally appears to just be cosmetic.

And thanks for the quick response! I do adore the mod and all my friends were right (although I do have some Opinions™ about the way diplomacy events are handled w/r/t a player-established faction...)
Logged

tiberazure

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile

Hello, i do not know where else to ask this. Anyways, so I had the quest for red planet, but it was bit too early for me , so i decided not to pick it up ( dumb mistake ). So after a bit of time the same place where the quest giver was got sat bombed by pirates. Afterwards the quest giver disappeared from the game. I checked for days "irl" time to find the old spacer questgiver in every bar possible, with dev mode jumping around the sector. I never found her again.

So i am at a conundrum, where can i find the old spacer or the red planet that case. Easy answer from others is always the same": you can still find the planet randomly". But with adjusted sector i have more constellations then usual, so i think it doesnt follow the regular spawn pattern.
I tried reading about posts about this in the past, of people struggling to find, i saw one post by you Histidine. About a command for console, but i believe its outdated, as it failed to comply, or with edits, to the code it doesnt do anything.
So any tips what to do about it, kinda tired of searching for the red planet, as i mostly want it for the planetery shield, i was hoping to get much earlier as i have brawl mode enabled and some invasion fleets are 15+fleets big and i have fleet sizes of 40. Because of that the shield would protect my colonies much better.
All in all, thx for any help provided!
Logged

alaricdragon

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
    • Email

custom scenario 'avatar of vengeance'. it says it has a 'class load failure, disabled' anyone know how to enable this fun looking custom start?
Logged

Cyresnershull

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile

So I have an issue with a missing NPC. Specifically, the High Hegemon. When I take over Chicomoztoc, the capital of the Hegemony where the High Hegemon stays, he disappears from the game and I can't find him anywhere. Am I just blind or this a known issue?

For Mods, I only have Console Commands, LazyLib, MagicLib and Nexerelin.

Any help would be appreciated.
Logged

Histidine

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 3627
    • View Profile
    • Bitbucket profile
    • Email

The level 2+ start still skips the time advancement for some reason, but that generally appears to just be cosmetic.
Forgot to mention this earlier, but tutorial (including vanilla) intentionally doesn't have the time pass at start.

custom scenario 'avatar of vengeance'. it says it has a 'class load failure, disabled' anyone know how to enable this fun looking custom start?
It's broken and cannot be played until SEEKER updates.

So I have an issue with a missing NPC. Specifically, the High Hegemon. When I take over Chicomoztoc, the capital of the Hegemony where the High Hegemon stays, he disappears from the game and I can't find him anywhere. Am I just blind or this a known issue?
It's a bug when player captures markets (the previous admin disappears forever).

To work around, dock with Chicomoztoc and enter the following in console (copy and paste):
Code: java
runcode MarketAPI market = Global.getSector().getCampaignUI().getCurrentInteractionDialog().getInteractionTarget().getMarket();
market.addPerson(Global.getSector().getImportantPeople().getPerson("daud"));
market.getCommDirectory().addPerson(Global.getSector().getImportantPeople().getPerson("daud"));
Logged

Jade Tendency

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Fourth Olympus
    • View Profile

So I have a weird issue, Hegemony conquered an ARS base, and now I get "Hegemony Respawns" messages over and over. Is this a problem with Legacy of Arkgneisis or Nex you think? I have faction respawn set to off.

Edit: I had the bright idea to kill the base with console comands and now I get "Neutral Faction Respawns" and then Neutral Faction Disbands over and over instead.
Yeah, seems like a weird interaction with the Reparations Society logic on gaining/losing markets. I'll discuss with Gwyvern about why it's happening.

Do you have any ideas for how to turn of the messages? Is my only option to conquer the base?
Logged

Phoenixheart

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
    • Email

Does Prism sell the end-game redacted weapons you'd normally get from the storyline end fights?

if not, is there a way to add them to the list? Just messing around with builds and it would be fun to be able to get them in game instead of just with console commands.
Logged

Histidine

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 3627
    • View Profile
    • Bitbucket profile
    • Email

So I have a weird issue, Hegemony conquered an ARS base, and now I get "Hegemony Respawns" messages over and over. Is this a problem with Legacy of Arkgneisis or Nex you think? I have faction respawn set to off.

Edit: I had the bright idea to kill the base with console comands and now I get "Neutral Faction Respawns" and then Neutral Faction Disbands over and over instead.
Yeah, seems like a weird interaction with the Reparations Society logic on gaining/losing markets. I'll discuss with Gwyvern about why it's happening.

Do you have any ideas for how to turn of the messages? Is my only option to conquer the base?
If you haven't seen it already, the latest version of LoA (1.9.10) fixes the issue.
(Although I see you also found the kill workaround)

Does Prism sell the end-game redacted weapons you'd normally get from the storyline end fights?

if not, is there a way to add them to the list? Just messing around with builds and it would be fun to be able to get them in game instead of just with console commands.
Prism doesn't currently sell the secret weapons. It's hardcoded to ignore stuff with the "restricted" tag, so you could remove that tag from vanilla's weapon_data.csv (this might cause the weapons to appear in unrelated places, like during salvaging).
Logged

Phoenixheart

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
    • Email

Thanks for the reply!
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 259 260 [261] 262 263 ... 296