Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: A couple modding questions  (Read 1005 times)

Tellaris

• Ensign
    • View Profile
A couple modding questions
« on: May 28, 2019, 04:36:52 PM »

I'm extremely new to modding and coding in general. The most experience I have with coding is BeeperBot.

I have made maps for Age of Mythology and Warcraft 2/3 so I have some idea how those systems worked.
I even engineered a simple script for Age of Mythology that created a Day/Night cycle during the game, that people seemed to love and popped up all over the place after I did it online...

(It was basically a system of simple triggers that fired after x amount of time, and repeated.)

Anyways. I'm looking at Rules.csv and trying to understand what's going on in the dialogues. I DID look at the PDF file for rules.csv that's linked in the forums here. However, I'm still not really understanding what's going on.

So this string:

marketOptionCommDir,DialogOptionSelected,$option == marketCommDir,OpenCommDirectory,You connect to the local comm directory and browse the public and otherwise known listings.,,

So if I understand it, it's adding an option, called "CommDir", checking if someone clicked it, loading what CommDir tells it to, and then opening CommDirectory, followed by a line that is printed in the window for it.

So off of that I came up with this:

marketOptionDecInd,DialogOptionSelected,$option == marketDecInd,OpenDecIndDecision,Are you sure you want to grant this colony independence? #(Yes, No)

Currently it does absolutely nothing, as I've not defined "DecInd" to mean anything.

I'm thinking I could get that rolling with something like:

marketAddOptionDecInd, PopulateOptions,"$hasMarket
$menuState == main
$tradeMode != NONE #Is this line necessary? Does the game consider it a trade if not here? Or some weirdness?
$faction.id == player",MakeOption ...
And that's as far as I got.