Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Need some artistic help on a crappy little game I'm making  (Read 4007 times)

weed33

• Lieutenant
    • View Profile

So I'm a computer science student having just finished my first year and need something to do over the holidays, being familiar with java I came across the slick2D library. I immediately made a clone of flappy bird in a few hours and now I'm looking to be a little more ambitious. I'm a fan of vertical scrolling shooters so that's what I'm doing. It will involve a space fighter with both front mounted guns and a mouse aimable turret and you will be able to upgrade your ship as you go along.

However, I'm a *** artist :( So I came here to beg for permission to use some of the fantastic sprites the modding community here have come up with. I have no plans in selling the game it's entirely a 'for fun' project but I will most likely be putting it up for download on reddit and on these forums when it's done (if it doesn't totally suck of course...) for people to play around with so I thought it would be best to get permission first from the people who made them.

EDIT: I should also add that I will be giving credit to everyone who offers their art even if I don't use it in the end and to the modding community here in general. In fact I would be making a mod here instead of a game if I could make decent sprites.
« Last Edit: May 13, 2014, 03:01:10 PM by weed33 »

Sundog

• Admiral
    • View Profile
Re: Need some artistic help on a crappy little game I'm making
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2014, 05:26:41 PM »

You can use the sprites from my [WIP] faction mod if you like. If you do, please let people know the sprites are from some mod for an awesome game called Starsector, which they can learn more about at http://fractalsoftworks.com

Good luck with your game! Let us know when you're done so we can try it :)

xenoargh

• Admiral