Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.97a is out! (02/02/24)

Author Topic: what DP settings do you play on?  (Read 1275 times)

Cruis.In

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
what DP settings do you play on?
« on: February 01, 2022, 04:30:19 PM »

I play on 550 currently. But I could up it to 1000. I've seen videos of people with probably more than 100 ships on screen, I am wondering if theres any real fun in that? Not sure how it works in 2d theres only so much screen real estate, and well it just seems theres a whole lot going on that your missing.

thoughts?
Logged

MrTwister

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: what DP settings do you play on?
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2022, 04:46:05 AM »

1000
Logged

Ruddygreat

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 513
  • Seals :^)
    • View Profile
Re: what DP settings do you play on?
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2022, 02:25:04 PM »

only the defualt 400 - I find it makes for much more interesting battles when you've got to vaguely choose what to deploy & when, instead of the capital-line slugfest that >500 battlesize inevitably devolves into

Linnis

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1009
    • View Profile
Re: what DP settings do you play on?
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2022, 02:29:29 PM »

800. No objective. Things are fast and dirty.
Logged

Albreo

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 175
  • A! Oh nyo!
    • View Profile
Re: what DP settings do you play on?
« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2022, 06:59:44 AM »

Imagine if Starsector could use more than 1 CPU core...
Logged

LinWasTaken

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 189
    • View Profile
Re: what DP settings do you play on?
« Reply #6 on: February 05, 2022, 03:22:01 AM »

800. No objective. Things are fast and dirty.
wait you can set it up so there would be no objectives?
i honestly HATE the objectives in battles, and would GLADLY turn them off permanently if i knew how too.

also i play on 300 cuz even on 300, after long fights the game *** itself and i have to save close and reopen the game so i imagen increesing DP would make every fight do that.(?)

vladokapuh

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
  • Cabbage
    • View Profile
Re: what DP settings do you play on?
« Reply #7 on: February 05, 2022, 04:44:32 AM »

800. No objective. Things are fast and dirty.
wait you can set it up so there would be no objectives?
i honestly HATE the objectives in battles, and would GLADLY turn them off permanently if i knew how too.

also i play on 300 cuz even on 300, after long fights the game *** itself and i have to save close and reopen the game so i imagen increesing DP would make every fight do that.(?)
vmparams and jre8 mostly solve this, or extend the time it takes to slow down enough that i barelly notice the problem anymore
Logged
Cabbage