Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.97a is out! (02/02/24); New blog post: Planet Search Overhaul (07/13/24)

Author Topic: Alpha Site showing as 'Unknown Location' in blueprint hint mission.  (Read 884 times)

Gorgonson

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile

Hello,

I picked up a mission from my close contact Allen Newman, where he shares the general location of a blueprint.
However there're a few quirks to this mission:

1. The location is the hidden Alpha Site system.
I don't know who Allen was in a past life - and honestly no judgement - but it's pretty unlikely he'd know about anything going on at this location.

2. The game refers to the Alpha Site location as 'Unknown Location' probably because it's not a true system.

If I hadn't finished the campaign before, this would probably be very confusing.

My currently-enabled mods are:
  • Console Commands
    LazyLib
    MagicLib
    GraphicsLib
    Nexerelin
    Ship and Weapon Pack
    Starship Legends

I'm not 100% sure if this is a mod-related mission (it's been a while) so please forgive me if this should've gone in the Bug Reports (Modded) section.

Hope this helps : )
- Pete

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: January 16, 2022, 06:27:41 PM by Gorgonson »
Logged

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 24494
    • View Profile
Re: Alpha Site showing as 'Unknown Location' in blueprint hint mission.
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2022, 06:07:48 PM »

Thank you for the report! Yeah, just about anything with mods (except for if it's just, say, LazyLib + Console Commands) should go into modded regardless.

Did you happen to start the campaign on 0.95a? Alpha Site being used for these kinds of missions should be fixed, but the fix would only apply for games created with 0.95.1a.

Also, are you sure the mission is a vanilla one? I mean, there is one like that in vanilla, certainly, but I don't know if another mod might also do something similar.
Logged

Gorgonson

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: Alpha Site showing as 'Unknown Location' in blueprint hint mission.
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2022, 06:27:29 PM »

Hi Alex,

Thanks for moving this post to the correct forum section (and for everything else, too - love your work)

It's definitely a new save made in 0.95.1a_RC6.

I've looked through the mods I have installed and can't find anything that would've introduced a mission like this - the most likely culprit would've been Nexerelin but it seems to be innocent.

- Pete
Logged

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 24494
    • View Profile
Re: Alpha Site showing as 'Unknown Location' in blueprint hint mission.
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2022, 06:32:34 PM »

Thank you for the details! Oh, hmm. Now that I've looked into it a bit more, it was fixed for survey planet and analyze derelict missions, but did not - I think - affect this specific mission. Fixed it up, though haven't had time to double-check this yet.
Logged

Gorgonson

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: Alpha Site showing as 'Unknown Location' in blueprint hint mission.
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2022, 06:34:59 PM »

Thanks Alex. You're a legend : )

PS: Congrats on (just about) 20k posts!
Logged

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 24494
    • View Profile
Re: Alpha Site showing as 'Unknown Location' in blueprint hint mission.
« Reply #5 on: January 16, 2022, 06:35:28 PM »

PS: Congrats on (just about) 20k posts!

(Gaaah!)
Logged