Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Poll

Would you like to see...

more frigates
- 6 (4.7%)
more destroyers
- 10 (7.8%)
more cruisers
- 40 (31%)
more weapons
- 43 (33.3%)
more lore/ information
- 17 (13.2%)
more portraits
- 7 (5.4%)
more little stuff, custom names etc.
- 6 (4.7%)

Total Members Voted: 128


Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 ... 37

Author Topic: Antediluvians - Under Development - (Dev15)  (Read 235264 times)

Uomoz

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2663
  • 'womo'dz
    • View Profile
Re: Antediluvians - work in progress
« Reply #60 on: May 02, 2012, 03:09:25 AM »

I really like the latest upgrades to the sprites!
Logged

Erick Doe

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2489
  • "Pretty cunning, don't you think?"
    • View Profile
Re: Antediluvians - work in progress
« Reply #61 on: May 02, 2012, 03:25:12 AM »

Thanks Uomoz!

Can someone help me? I am running into a problem after adding a description to a planet.

I had already created the planet of Atlantis in the planet file, and added it through the gen file. It worked perfectly. But after trying to add a description, everything goes to heck.  :P

in planets.JSON:
Quote
},
   "water_world":{ # Antediluvian homeworld
      "name":"Atlantis",
      "tilt":-40, # left-right (>0 tilts to the left)
      "pitch":-20, # towards-away from the viewer (>0 pitches towards)
      "rotation":-3, # degrees/second
      "planetColor":[255,255,255,255],
      "atmosphereThickness":0.5, # as fraction of radius.  Set to 0 for no atmosphere
      "atmosphereThicknessMin":62, #  minimum thickness in pixels - used when radius * atmosphereThickness is really low
      "atmosphereColor":[30,90,140,130],
      "texture":"graphics/planets/planet_water01.jpg",
      "icon":"graphics/warroom/icon_planet.png",
      "iconColor":[120,170,210,255],
      "isStar":false,
      "lightPosition":[0,0,10], # in planet radii.  Not used for stars.  z > 0 is above the playing field.
      "cloudTexture":"graphics/planets/clouds_banded01.png", # omit for no cloud layer
      "cloudColor":[83,153,199,150],
      "cloudRotation":-5, # degrees/second, optional
      "cloudOffset":5, # optional, this is how much bigger the cloud sphere is than the planet.  Good values are 2-10      
   },

It gets the proper texture and cloud file just fine. And works ingame.

the AntediluvianGen file:
Quote
package data.scripts.world;

import java.awt.Color;
import java.util.List;

import com.fs.starfarer.api.campaign.CampaignFleetAPI;
import com.fs.starfarer.api.campaign.CargoAPI;
import com.fs.starfarer.api.campaign.FactionAPI;
import com.fs.starfarer.api.campaign.FleetAssignment;
import com.fs.starfarer.api.campaign.SectorAPI;
import com.fs.starfarer.api.campaign.SectorEntityToken;
import com.fs.starfarer.api.campaign.SectorGeneratorPlugin;
import com.fs.starfarer.api.campaign.StarSystemAPI;
import com.fs.starfarer.api.campaign.CargoAPI.CrewXPLevel;
import com.fs.starfarer.api.fleet.FleetMemberType;

@SuppressWarnings("unchecked")
public class AntediluvianGen implements SectorGeneratorPlugin {

   public void generate(SectorAPI sector) {
      
      StarSystemAPI system = sector.getStarSystem("Corvus");

      // SectorEntityToken centre = system.getEntityByName("star_yellow");
      
      SectorEntityToken token = system.createToken(15000, 0);

      SectorEntityToken centre = system.createToken(0, 0);

             SectorEntityToken Atlantis = system.addPlanet(centre, "Atlantis", "water_world", 150, 200, 12000, 200);

      system.addSpawnPoint(new AntediluvianSpawnPoint(sector, system, 5, 1, token));

      FactionAPI antediluvian = sector.getFaction("antediluvian");

      antediluvian.setRelationship("hegemony", 0);
      antediluvian.setRelationship("tritachyon", -1);
      antediluvian.setRelationship("pirates", -1);
      antediluvian.setRelationship("independent", 0);
      antediluvian.setRelationship("player", 0);

This adds the planet into the mod just fine. Everything works.

Trouble starts when I add this line to data/strings/descriptions:
Quote
water_world,PLANET,"Fair Atlantis is a blue-green jewel, sitting in the Corvus system. It is covered by the Celadon Sea, a never ending ocean below which rests the Antediluvian home of Cerulean City."


log:
Quote
3054 [Thread-6] ERROR com.fs.starfarer.combat.String  - org.json.JSONException: JSONObject["type"] not found.
org.json.JSONException: JSONObject["type"] not found.
   at org.json.JSONObject.get(JSONObject.java:406)
   at org.json.JSONObject.getString(JSONObject.java:577)
   at com.fs.starfarer.loading.SpecStore.Ò00000(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.loading.SpecStore.super(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.loading.G.super(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.super.A.Ò00000(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.combat.String.super(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.StarfarerLauncher$2.run(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:619)

At first I thought that with 'type' the log refered to "water_world"... but I don't see how this could cause a problem?

[edit]
I -am- using a copy of the original core descriptions.CSV with all the original strings intact. Is that what may be causing troubles?
« Last Edit: May 02, 2012, 03:32:33 AM by Erick Doe »
Logged

Uomoz

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2663
  • 'womo'dz
    • View Profile
Re: Antediluvians - work in progress
« Reply #62 on: May 02, 2012, 03:40:50 AM »

In the mod's descriptions.csv, try to just leave the line of the modded planet and the "name, type, description..." line.
Logged

Erick Doe

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2489
  • "Pretty cunning, don't you think?"
    • View Profile
Re: Antediluvians - work in progress
« Reply #63 on: May 02, 2012, 03:47:11 AM »

Thanks. I tried that. But it doesn't work.

I keep getting the
Fatal: JSONObject["type"] not found.
message


[edit]
The mod works fine when I remove the line:
water_world,PLANET,"Fair Atlantis is a blue-green jewel, sitting in the Corvus system. It is covered by the Celadon Sea, a never ending ocean below which rests the Antediluvian home of Cerulean City."

Or any variant of it:

water_world,"PLANET","Fair Atlantis is a blue-green jewel, sitting in the Corvus system. It is covered by the Celadon Sea, a never ending ocean below which rests the Antediluvian home of Cerulean City."

water_world,planet,"Fair Atlantis is a blue-green jewel, sitting in the Corvus system. It is covered by the Celadon Sea, a never ending ocean below which rests the Antediluvian home of Cerulean City."
« Last Edit: May 02, 2012, 03:59:43 AM by Erick Doe »
Logged

Erick Doe

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2489
  • "Pretty cunning, don't you think?"
    • View Profile
Re: Antediluvians - work in progress
« Reply #64 on: May 02, 2012, 04:02:04 AM »

I've cross-referenced my line with the core starfarer one and that of an already existing mod... I really can't figure out what's wrong with mine. It looks the same.

[edit]
I've got it to work! The problem was the quotation marks on both sides of the description. Which is odd, since the other mods I checked (and the core game) uses quotation marks.

This line worked perfectly:
waterworld,PLANET,Fair Atlantis is a blue-green jewel sitting in the Corvus system. It is covered by the Celadon Sea. A never ending ocean below which rests the Antediluvian home of Cerulean City.

I also had to change the name in the planet.JSON to "Aquatic" and the one in the Gen file to "Atlantis".

Now there's a blue planet sitting in the Corvus system with the following description:

Quote
Atlantis, Aquatic
Fair Atlantis is a blue-green jewel sitting in the Corvus system.
It is covered by the Celadon Sea.
A never ending ocean below which rests the Antediluvian home of Cerulean City.
« Last Edit: May 02, 2012, 04:19:15 AM by Erick Doe »
Logged

Erick Doe

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2489
  • "Pretty cunning, don't you think?"
    • View Profile
Re: Antediluvians - work in progress
« Reply #65 on: May 02, 2012, 04:22:56 AM »

Oh, by the way! You're all free to nick the portraits I post in the OP for your own personal use. Just don't put them in your mods without permission.
Logged

Erick Doe

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2489
  • "Pretty cunning, don't you think?"
    • View Profile
Re: Antediluvians - work in progress
« Reply #66 on: May 02, 2012, 04:32:12 AM »

I feel like I'm spamming here, but what the heck, I am making progress. We have a planet!



BTW, thanks for the help Uomoz!
Logged

Erick Doe

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2489
  • "Pretty cunning, don't you think?"
    • View Profile
Re: Antediluvians - work in progress
« Reply #67 on: May 02, 2012, 06:31:17 AM »

Well, I'm getting there. But I also keep running into issues.

Can someone help me with adding in weapons?

Here's what I did:

1.) I copied over the lightmg.WPN and lightmg_shot.PROJ files to my mod. Placed the lightmg file under weapons and the lightmg_shot file under the proj folder.

2.) I started to change around the stuff within the files, and changed their names to plato.WPN and slug.PROJ

plato.WPN:
Quote
{
   "id":"plato",  # this id must match what's in the spreadsheet
   "specClass":"projectile",
   "type":"BALLISTIC",
   "size":"SMALL",
   "turretSprite":"graphics/weapons/antediluvian_pressure_turret_final.png",
   "turretGunSprite":"graphics/weapons/antediluvian_pressure_turret_final.png",
   "hardpointSprite":"graphics/weapons/antediluvian_pressure_turret_final.png",
   "hardpointGunSprite":"graphics/weapons/antediluvian_pressure_turret_final.png",
   "visualRecoil":3,  # the gun sprites are only used if this is non-0
   "turretOffsets":[12, 0],
   "turretAngleOffsets":[0],
   "hardpointOffsets":[17, 0],
   "hardpointAngleOffsets":[0],
   "renderHints":[RENDER_BARREL_BELOW],
   "barrelMode":"ALTERNATING", # or LINKED.  whether barrels fire at the same time or alternate.
   "animationType":"MUZZLE_FLASH",
   "muzzleFlashSpec":{"length":20.0,   # only used if animationType = MUZZLE_FLASH
                  "spread":6.0,
                  "particleSizeMin":6.0,
                  "particleSizeRange":8.0,
                  "particleDuration":0.15,
                  "particleCount":7,
                  "particleColor":[255,240,165,200]},
   "projectileSpecId":"slug",  # projectile that will be fired
   "fireSoundOne":"machine_01",
   "fireSoundTwo":"slug_01",
}

slug.PROJ:
Quote
{
   "id":"slug",
   "specClass":"projectile",
   "spawnType":"BALLISTIC_AS_BEAM",
   "collisionClass":"RAY",
   "collisionClassByFighter":"RAY_FIGHTER",
   "length":30.0,
   "width":3.5,
   "fadeTime":0.3,
   "fringeColor":[240,220,220,200],
   "coreColor":[245,245,245,80],
   "textureScrollSpeed":64.0,
   "pixelsPerTexel":5.0,
   "bulletSprite":"graphics/weapons/proj/slug.png"
}

3.) I also have the sound files and image files in all the right folders, all lower case to match the text in the .WPN and .PROJ files.

SF boots up just fine. However, the weapons are missing from the codex ingame. I can't figure out why. Is it these lines?:
   "turretSprite":"graphics/weapons/antediluvian_pressure_turret_final.png",
   "turretGunSprite":"graphics/weapons/antediluvian_pressure_turret_final.png",
   "hardpointSprite":"graphics/weapons/antediluvian_pressure_turret_final.png",
   "hardpointGunSprite":"graphics/weapons/antediluvian_pressure_turret_final.png",

Can't I use the same image for all lines?

Any help would be appreciated!

Oh yeah, the weapon_data.CSV has the following line:
Plato,plato,0,100,300,,25,,1,50,3,1000,KINETIC,3,,0,0.4,5,0.1,0,5,1,15,,500,,,10,PD,0.5
« Last Edit: May 02, 2012, 07:28:12 AM by Erick Doe »
Logged

Upgradecap

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 5422
  • CEO of the TimCORP
    • View Profile
Re: Antediluvians - work in progress
« Reply #68 on: May 02, 2012, 07:59:07 AM »

Ofcourse you can use the same image for all of them.
Also, you need to make sure that the game reads them into the game itself I've had numeros errors where the weapon didn't show up in the codex, and it was because of some ID errors.
Try checking through your files again ;)
Logged

Erick Doe

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2489
  • "Pretty cunning, don't you think?"
    • View Profile
Re: Antediluvians - work in progress
« Reply #69 on: May 02, 2012, 08:12:12 AM »

I've done this multiple times. No luck.

I've even tried copying the lightmg again, only changing the name and id by adding a 2 behind everything. So 'lightmg2.WPN', 'lightmg_shot2'. Ive changed all the values within the files (including the .CSV) accordingly... even this weapon wouldn't show up.

What gives?
Logged

WKOB

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 732
  • Odobenidine Benefactor
    • View Profile
Re: Antediluvians - work in progress
« Reply #70 on: May 02, 2012, 08:14:20 AM »

Uh, you are Windows, right?
Logged

Erick Doe

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2489
  • "Pretty cunning, don't you think?"
    • View Profile
Re: Antediluvians - work in progress
« Reply #71 on: May 02, 2012, 08:16:56 AM »

Yes, Austupaio.
Logged

WKOB

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 732
  • Odobenidine Benefactor
    • View Profile
Re: Antediluvians - work in progress
« Reply #72 on: May 02, 2012, 08:20:01 AM »

Well, it's just the codex. It might not be working properly any how.
Logged

Erick Doe

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2489
  • "Pretty cunning, don't you think?"
    • View Profile
Re: Antediluvians - work in progress
« Reply #73 on: May 02, 2012, 08:22:03 AM »

Well, it's just the codex. It might not be working properly any how.

I hope you're right. I hope it's just the codex. Still, would be nice to view weapons in there.
Logged

Uomoz

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2663
  • 'womo'dz
    • View Profile
Re: Antediluvians - work in progress
« Reply #74 on: May 02, 2012, 08:24:34 AM »


SF boots up just fine. However, the weapons are missing from the codex ingame. I can't figure out why. Is it these lines?:
   "turretSprite":"graphics/weapons/antediluvian_pressure_turret_final.png",
   "turretGunSprite":"graphics/weapons/antediluvian_pressure_turret_final.png",
   "hardpointSprite":"graphics/weapons/antediluvian_pressure_turret_final.png",
   "hardpointGunSprite":"graphics/weapons/antediluvian_pressure_turret_final.png",

Can't I use the same image for all lines?


Those lines actually *should* direct to different images. For instance turretsprite is the base of the turret, turretgunsprite is the actual barrel of the gun (same for the other 2 but with hardpoint sprite, not turret).

Need to try the dev version to figure out the error better though ;)
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 ... 37