Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Optional tank controls in combat  (Read 1021 times)

chandl34

• Ensign
    • View Profile
Optional tank controls in combat
« on: May 01, 2021, 08:44:37 AM »

I started playing recently and put a few hundred hours in, but I haven't been able to get used to how the game handles ship controls.  It has correct tank controls when moving forward, but incorrect tank controls when going backwards.  I've never played another game that does this, and it really throws off my muscle memory.

I'd like for there to be an option to use tank controls in the Settings.  When going backwards, left and right should be swapped.
« Last Edit: May 01, 2021, 09:03:23 AM by chandl34 »

IonDragonX

• Admiral
    • View Profile
Re: Optional tank controls in combat
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2021, 03:36:45 PM »

Nice. I can see that. But how does a tank strafe a locked target?

chandl34

• Ensign
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2021, 04:09:19 PM »

I think strafing would be the same.  It would be comparable to 3D behind-the-back movement controls, or some 2D games like the original GTA.

The issue I usually run into looks like this:
- An enemy is approaching quickly on my left flank
- I hold back and right, expecting to back away and face my guns at them
- What actually happens is I back into them, with my engines exposed

« Last Edit: May 01, 2021, 04:11:53 PM by chandl34 »

TaLaR

• Admiral
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2021, 04:17:58 PM »

You already have all the keybinds. They just aren't assigned terribly conveniently by default.

I reassigned like this:
ws - forward/backward
ad - strafe
qe - rotation

Good for controlling Conquest and Odyssey. Smaller broadside ships (in mods) are practically unusable.

chandl34

• Ensign
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2021, 04:44:46 PM »