Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Hyperspace Topography and my thoughts: An in-depth analysis  (Read 413 times)

prrrki

• Ensign
    • View Profile
Hyperspace Topography and my thoughts: An in-depth analysis
« on: February 26, 2024, 06:12:57 AM »

Starsector 0.97 has come with some lovely new ways of traversing hyperspace, and also some new tools that facilitate moving in general. In this post I have prepared some feedback for what I think about the new mechanics, how I think they fit into the rest of the game, and where I think they could go in the future. This is my first time posting on this forum, so be prepared for bad formatting.

Hyperspace Topography
First of all, let's talk about the exploration data and how it enables travel. I like that there is progress as I go through the game, but I think some things need tweaking.

Reverse Polarity
This is probably the most powerful tool that has been added this update, simply because of how easy it makes travel throughout the entire sector. As the blog post mentioned, there's pretty much always a slipstream taking you roughly where you want to go, and that's a much welcomed change. As a result, the amount of fuel I can save going anywhere is massive. So massive, in fact, that I barely use any fuel when I travel at all. Add in player skills, and it starts to get a little out of hand. It's gotten to the point where the limiting factor in my salvage missions is no longer how much fuel I have, but rather how long my supplies can last. I simply don't spend enough fuel by the end of the game to really care about my range. On one hand, it's really nice as a player because it essentially removes something I have to worry about constantly when I am out and about at the fringes. That being said, fuel is also a core gameplay mechanic. Is it really a good thing that it isn't even an issue any more? I can't say for certain.

Slipsurge