Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.95.1a is out! (12/10/21); Blog post: The Pilgrim's Path (07/19/22)

Pages: 1 ... 122 123 [124]

Author Topic: [0.95.1a] TC: Archean Order: Rebalanced Combat/Lore RPG - *hotfix* 4/14/22  (Read 564798 times)

Albreo

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 175
  • A! Oh nyo!
    • View Profile

I have encountered a bug with Archean Order stations. I wanted to supply a rebellion on Obsidian Crucible and after I sneaked in with transponder off the text says: "You might be able to establish contact dissident elements within the order if you come in later with the transponder turned off." I tried to access the black market anyway but there is not even an option to see markets, only the colony info.

One possibility is that you were spotted before with a transponder on by one of their patrols. In this case, the game will not consider you to be sneaky enough and they will still recognize you even with your transponder off. You can read the text description in the upper left corner whether this is the case.

Another possibility is that there's really some oversight on the AO part and we will have to wait for Morrokain.
Logged

Gamingninja01

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile

Hey there! First of all thanks for making the mod. I was planning on playing it with nexerelin, however when I do the tutorial custom start I talk with the planet I get a nullpointer exception without crashing. It happens when it tries to add a ship and an officer to my fleet I think.  I am not sure what causes it or why but I thought i'd attach a file of what it gives me, so someone more experienced with mods might be able to help. I've also included my modlist, and without nexerelin the tutorial start isnt available. I like the storyline so I like playing with it tutorial and all Thanks in advance!
- Archean order
-Combat Chatter
-Concord
-DroneLib
-LazyLib
-MagicLib
-Nexerelin
-speedup
-starship legends
-Terraforming & station construction
-Unknown Skies
-crew_replacer
-Graphicslib
Since my attachment didnt work here is the error typed out: RuntimeException: attempting to add null fleet member to [player player fleet]
Could not find vigilance_Starting variant, getting random ship instead (it doesnt add anything to my fleet afterwards)
NullPointerException: Null
edit: the officer part is fixed, however the tutorial seems to not be completable since I cannot hand over the AI core to the station commander
« Last Edit: June 11, 2022, 08:45:49 AM by Gamingninja01 »
Logged

Morrokain

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2143
  • Megalith Dreadnought - Archean Order
    • View Profile

I have encountered a bug with Archean Order stations. I wanted to supply a rebellion on Obsidian Crucible and after I sneaked in with transponder off the text says: "You might be able to establish contact dissident elements within the order if you come in later with the transponder turned off." I tried to access the black market anyway but there is not even an option to see markets, only the colony info.

Hi sorry for the delay I've been taking a break from modding for sanity purposes. I believe I did some special exceptions with a few markets to restrict access so that could be what you are running into, but I will look into it once I start modding again - which should hopefully be soontm.

Hey there! First of all thanks for making the mod. I was planning on playing it with nexerelin, however when I do the tutorial custom start I talk with the planet I get a nullpointer exception without crashing. It happens when it tries to add a ship and an officer to my fleet I think.  I am not sure what causes it or why but I thought i'd attach a file of what it gives me, so someone more experienced with mods might be able to help. I've also included my modlist, and without nexerelin the tutorial start isnt available. I like the storyline so I like playing with it tutorial and all Thanks in advance!
- Archean order
-Combat Chatter
-Concord
-DroneLib
-LazyLib
-MagicLib
-Nexerelin
-speedup
-starship legends
-Terraforming & station construction
-Unknown Skies
-crew_replacer
-Graphicslib
Since my attachment didnt work here is the error typed out: RuntimeException: attempting to add null fleet member to [player player fleet]
Could not find vigilance_Starting variant, getting random ship instead (it doesnt add anything to my fleet afterwards)
NullPointerException: Null
edit: the officer part is fixed, however the tutorial seems to not be completable since I cannot hand over the AI core to the station commander


Hello there! I am glad you like the story line I put in place. That was done forever ago and is very much incomplete so unfortunately at this time its not a good idea to use the tutorial with the mod. I disable it by default but Nex overrides the starting options so it is technically playable again but uncomplete-able. Apologies its definitely something I want to finish up at some point.
Logged

MiniMaster22

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile

Been enjoying this mod a lot, I love the amount of weapons each ship has. I was wondering if there are any faction mods that work well with this mod or have been made with this mod in mind or even any recommended factions with stronger ships in general that can contend with the combat balance XD

thx :D
Logged

Dtox

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile

First I wanna say this mod has been really interesting to play, haven't experienced a whole lot just yet but so far combat has been feeling more tentative than what I was used to and I think I like it.

Second I've got a question regarding flux venting; there seems to be fewer options to improve one's ability to vent flux, is this intentional? because I remember combining things such as a skill and ship mod to vent flux really fast, but now it seems there isn't a skill that affects flux venting anymore.
Logged

Jaime-wolf

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile

Hello so I don’t know if this is supposed to happen but the adamantine consortium has a ludicrous amount of colony’s. They have captured just over 1/4 of the sector and it keeps getting worse and I am in no position to intervene. Is this a bug or are they just over powered right now?
« Last Edit: July 05, 2022, 06:21:26 AM by Jaime-wolf »
Logged

Albreo

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 175
  • A! Oh nyo!
    • View Profile

Been enjoying this mod a lot, I love the amount of weapons each ship has. I was wondering if there are any faction mods that work well with this mod or have been made with this mod in mind or even any recommended factions with stronger ships in general that can contend with the combat balance XD

thx :D

There's no mod faction that officially supports AO right now.

First I wanna say this mod has been really interesting to play, haven't experienced a whole lot just yet but so far combat has been feeling more tentative than what I was used to and I think I like it.

Second I've got a question regarding flux venting; there seems to be fewer options to improve one's ability to vent flux, is this intentional? because I remember combining things such as a skill and ship mod to vent flux really fast, but now it seems there isn't a skill that affects flux venting anymore.

The skill that increases maximum flux vent has been moved to the last tier yellow tech. There's also some phase ship hull mod like the Phase Anchor that double phase ship flux vent.

Hello so I don’t know if this is supposed to happen but the adamantine consortium has a ludicrous amount of colony’s. They have captured just over 1/4 of the sector and it keeps getting worse and I am in no position to intervene. Is this a bug or are they just over powered right now?

The latest experimental build has some changes to the AD faction ships but that only affects actual combat and not the auto resolve. Perhaps, they just got lucky and their foes are occupied with each other. Has to wait for Morrokain to confirm this.
Logged

MegaMemeMan

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Email

Hi, I've been having a lot of fun with the mod, however it seems as though there's been some sort of problem with my save, haven't had this sort of problem with the base game so I'm assuming it has something to do with the mod, and was just wondering if there was any way to fix it. Here's the error message from the logs:
---- Debugging information ----
cause-exception     : com.thoughtworks.xstream.io.StreamException
cause-message       :
class               : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.JumpPoint
required-type       : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.JumpPoint
converter-type      : com.thoughtworks.xstream.converters.reflection.ReflectionConverter
line number         : 317221
class[1]            : com.fs.starfarer.api.campaign.JumpPointAPI$JumpDestination
class[2]            : java.util.ArrayList
converter-type[1]   : com.thoughtworks.xstream.converters.collections.CollectionConverter
class[3]            : com.fs.util.container.repo.ObjectRepository
class[4]            : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.StarSystem
class[5]            : com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.procgen.Constellation
class[6]            : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.StarSystem$UpdateFromHyperspaceLocation
class[7]            : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.BaseLocation$LocationToken
class[8]            : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.Hyperspace
class[9]            : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.CampaignEngine
converter-type[2]   : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.save.oooO
version             : not available
-------------------------------
com.thoughtworks.xstream.converters.ConversionException:
---- Debugging information ----
cause-exception     : com.thoughtworks.xstream.io.StreamException
cause-message       :
class               : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.JumpPoint
required-type       : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.JumpPoint
converter-type      : com.thoughtworks.xstream.converters.reflection.ReflectionConverter
line number         : 317221
class[1]            : com.fs.starfarer.api.campaign.JumpPointAPI$JumpDestination
class[2]            : java.util.ArrayList
converter-type[1]   : com.thoughtworks.xstream.converters.collections.CollectionConverter
class[3]            : com.fs.util.container.repo.ObjectRepository
class[4]            : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.StarSystem
class[5]            : com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.procgen.Constellation
class[6]            : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.StarSystem$UpdateFromHyperspaceLocation
class[7]            : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.BaseLocation$LocationToken
class[8]            : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.Hyperspace
class[9]            : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.CampaignEngine
converter-type[2]   : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.save.oooO
version             : not available
-------------------------------
There was some other text after this but was significantly longer that I can provide if required
Logged

Barracuda

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: [0.95.1a] TC: Archean Order: Rebalanced Combat/Lore RPG - *hotfix* 4/14/22
« Reply #1853 on: August 02, 2022, 05:40:13 AM »

Would it be possible for me to know the code to reduce the number of ships in a fleet in this mod. I am using Nex and the early game is a little rough without going straight to the crusier start as most starting pirate fleets usually have up to 7 frigates that will run down anything short of a combat crusier. Since this is just personal preference I don't want to ask for a whole update for just one change.
Logged

Albreo

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 175
  • A! Oh nyo!
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95.1a] TC: Archean Order: Rebalanced Combat/Lore RPG - *hotfix* 4/14/22
« Reply #1854 on: August 05, 2022, 01:28:36 AM »

@MegaMemeMan That doesn't look like a normal AO crash to me. Are you trying to start on a specific campaign? This mod campaign is unfinished. Also, some other mods that you install might conflict with this mod. In that case, Please refer to the front page.

Would it be possible for me to know the code to reduce the number of ships in a fleet in this mod. I am using Nex and the early game is a little rough without going straight to the crusier start as most starting pirate fleets usually have up to 7 frigates that will run down anything short of a combat crusier. Since this is just personal preference I don't want to ask for a whole update for just one change.

It's not recommended to immediately start a fight with a starter fleet. You should join other fights first to accumulate your fleet some more or fish in troubled water. Grab all the broken ships and slap whatever garbage weapons you have onto every slot. Even an unarmed shuttle start can go this way.

I'm assuming, NEX should be the one that controls fleet spawn. This mod only contributes by lowering the deployment cost of all ships. Adjusting and rebalancing those would be more of a pain.
Logged

kbjone

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95.1a] TC: Archean Order: Rebalanced Combat/Lore RPG - *hotfix* 4/14/22
« Reply #1855 on: August 05, 2022, 10:25:35 AM »

Playing this mod with the A New Level 40 mod, and I've found an issue:

When working down the Technology tech tree, I've been unable to choose Electronic Warfare because it requires 4 lower tier skills. But I have all five skills before it in the line, although I think the issue is with how the skills are "divided" in the tree, it seems to be a 3-3-2-2 divide, causing EW to only see 3 lower tier skills. Link to screenshot included below.

https://imgur.com/a/p8tBLnw
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 122 123 [124]