Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.95a is out! (03/26/21); Blog post: Skill Changes, Part 2 (07/15/21)

Pages: 1 ... 254 255 [256] 257 258 ... 273

Author Topic: [0.95a] Nexerelin v0.10.2e "Mercenaries and Patriots" (fixes 2021-08-05)  (Read 1697224 times)

Ezene

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile

When ordering an agent to repeat their last mission, and the last mission has a price above your current funds, they will still do so, resulting in having negative credits.

While credits are negative, agents cannot be ordered to perform any actions, even ones without a cost.
Logged

ThePinkPanzer

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
  • Professional accidentaly rude person
    • View Profile
    • Email

Just wondering, are you still looking for help writing planet descriptions? Would love to lend a hand somehow.
Logged

Histidine

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 3281
    • View Profile
    • Bitbucket profile
    • Email

Hmm, now this is problematic... I really don't wanna fight against an Independent faction. It's either give up the whole questline or find out other ways to solve this. There are no such things as 'Black ops' (*hope they add this kind of content in future - like All-Phase fleet only contents), looks like the only option I have is to capture TONS of VIP from Pirate and bulk release them on another Independent colony after I blast targeted station and retrieve cores.
Turn off your transponder before doing the raid. You'll lose only a bit of rep (or none, if you want to spend a story point on it).

First time poster here so first of all I just want to say thank you Histidine for all that you do. What a wonderful mod this is!

I'm not sure if this is a bug or not, but since v0.10.0e (and in v0.10.1) I've noticed a lack of pirate activity in my systems. I've had colonies for ~20 hours now and have not endured a single pirate raid.

I initially thought I found the issue when I noticed the pirates had somehow become "inhospitable" with my faction instead of hostile; however, I reset my relationship with them to -100 and there still hasn't been any raids.

Pirates raids on AI factions appear unchanged, so it's only the player faction thats affected. The luddic path cells are spawning correctly.
Hmm, Nex shouldn't affect pirate raids to that degree but I'll keep an eye out.
Do you have the pirate activity condition at least?
Are your colonies size 4 or larger? Size 3 player colonies seem to have immunity from almost all vanilla hostile actions in 0.95.

Quote
On a separate note, this is not a bug but rather a point of discussion. It's about abandoning colonies.

In vanilla, abandoning one's own colony is a strategic choice. It allows the player to recoup some of their investment, and as such, it makes perfect sense as a vanilla mechanic.

In nexerelin however, this mechanic seems a little broken when paired with the invasion mechanic. This is because after invading an AI colony, you can immediately abandon it and receive anywhere from 300k-1.2mil credits, and you don't even receive any diplomatic repercussions. To me, this is broken because it essentially makes saturation bombardments useless.

In vanilla if you wanted to delete an AI colony you had to Sat bomb it, which takes time, you don't get paid, and there are severe diplomatic repercussions. In contrast, in Nexerelin you can simply Invade ->abandon, which essentially accomplishes the same thing, except it is immensely profitable, instantaneous, and without any diplomatic repercussions. It would make more sense to me that either you aren't allowed to abandon colonies that were not yours originally, or if you abandon an AI colony it immediately get's returned to it's previous owner.
Yeah, vanilla abandon mechanic (and a bunch of other things about vanilla) wasn't meant to handle colonies being taken by player.
Although even without abandon, the player can still sell all the buildings except spaceport and then hand it over to indies for a little rep. And I've already cut the shutdown refund as much as I'm comfortable with.

Well, I've got plans to make invasion somewhat harder (though this won't really affect the smallest colonies, unfortunately) and also have a (still vague) concept of diplomatic penalties for players who abruptly grab existing colonies, since nobody is going to be happy about a new dangerous warlord arriving on the scene. Maybe those will help.

When ordering an agent to repeat their last mission, and the last mission has a price above your current funds, they will still do so, resulting in having negative credits.
While credits are negative, agents cannot be ordered to perform any actions, even ones without a cost.
Nice catch! Fixed.

Just wondering, are you still looking for help writing planet descriptions? Would love to lend a hand somehow.
TBH working on the planet desc system has been enough of a pain that I'd like to move it to someone else's mod if possible. It's been a fair amount of work copying texts from Google Docs to the game files, and there's also the somewhat smaller work of managing the writers. (Although if people did the integration into Nex in addition to the writing part of it, that'd be a lot easier for me)

I do have some art/writing things I'd like to have though! Right now, they're:
  • Portrait for Remnant contact
  • Concept and dialog for more Remnant story missions
  • Intel icons (invasions, rebellions, and a 'hire mercenary company' feature I'll introduce in the next major release)
Logged

Il

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile

I have this problem where the game crashes if i choose a lvl 1 start, it goes straight to sector generation skipping skill selection and boom. If i chose a lvl 6 start, i get 5 skills (should be 6 or 7 no?), and once in game it appears i am at negative xp. Here is my mod list:
https://imgur.com/7CqgcqI

Has anyone else had this bug? Any hints appreciated ty.
Il

PS. I couldn't run this mod list on RC15 (but i think i was choosing lvl 1 start anyway before i figured it out) so i reverted to RC12 is this ok or no?

PS2. New RC15 install also crashes on lvl 1 start with this mod list. Pls help ;3
« Last Edit: May 11, 2021, 06:39:04 AM by Il »
Logged

dEVoRaTriX_LuX

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
    • Email

Consistent crash to desktop when halfway generating a randomized core worlds sector with Nexerelin v0.10.1 but not when generating a non-randomized core world sector. Below is the crash log and my mod list, thank you.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1EE9zrHabwHMsMC5AwNiJQ-fk7Z8cbjsL/view?usp=sharing

Code
292113 [Thread-3] ERROR com.fs.starfarer.combat.CombatMain  - java.lang.NullPointerException
java.lang.NullPointerException
at com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.RouteManager$RouteSegment.isInSystem(RouteManager.java:141)
at com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.RouteManager$RouteData.getInterpolatedHyperLocation(RouteManager.java:379)
at com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.RouteManager.shouldSpawn(RouteManager.java:651)
at com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.RouteManager.spawnAndDespawn(RouteManager.java:617)
at com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.RouteManager.advance(RouteManager.java:577)
at com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.CoreScript.advance(CoreScript.java:128)
at com.fs.starfarer.campaign.CampaignEngine.advance(Unknown Source)
at com.fs.starfarer.campaign.save.CampaignGameManager.o00000(Unknown Source)
at com.fs.starfarer.title.TitleScreenState.dialogDismissed(Unknown Source)
at com.fs.starfarer.ui.Oo0O.dismiss(Unknown Source)
at com.fs.starfarer.ui.impl.o0oO.dismiss(Unknown Source)
at com.fs.starfarer.campaign.save.J.actionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at com.fs.starfarer.ui.newnew.buttonPressed(Unknown Source)
at com.fs.starfarer.ui.I.Ò00000(Unknown Source)
at com.fs.starfarer.ui.I.processInput(Unknown Source)
at com.fs.starfarer.ui.Stringsuper.super(Unknown Source)
at com.fs.starfarer.BaseGameState.traverse(Unknown Source)
at com.fs.state.AppDriver.begin(Unknown Source)
at com.fs.starfarer.combat.CombatMain.main(Unknown Source)
at com.fs.starfarer.StarfarerLauncher.o00000(Unknown Source)
at com.fs.starfarer.StarfarerLauncher$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

Mod List:
Code
"$$$_lightshow",
  "$$$_trailermoments",
  "pantera_ANewLevel30",
  "Adjusted Sector",
  "advanced_gunnery_control_dbeaa06e",
  "anotherportraitpack",
  "ARSWP",
  "armaa",
  "raccoonarms",
  "automatedcommands",
  "lw_autosave",
  "timid_admins",
  "beyondthesector",
  "bg",
  "BSC",
  "HMI_brighton",
  "CWSP",
  "CaptainsLog",
  "capturecrew",
  "Csp",
  "charmingly_wearisome",
  "CAS",
  "chatter",
  "combat_docking_module",
  "timid_commissioned_hull_mods",
  "lw_console",
  "domain_mship_controllable",
  "diyplanets",
  "DetailedCombatResults",
  "diableavionics",
  "XLU",
  "fluffships",
  "sun_flux_reticle",
  "sun_fuel_siphoning",
  "GrandColonies",
  "HHE",
  "HMI_SV",
  "HMI",
  "gunnyhegexpeditionary",
  "hte",
  "hostileIntercept",
  "hullmod_expansion",
  "sun_hyperdrive",
  "IndEvo",
  "interestingportraitspack",
  "internalaffairs",
  "kadur_remnant",
  "kazeron",
  "kiith-nabaal-shipyard",
  "lw_lazylib",
  "leadingPip",
  "ArkLeg",
  "logisticsNotifications",
  "low_scatter_amplifier",
  "luddenhance",
  "MagicLib",
  "Mayasuran Navy",
  "missingships",
  "su_CarrierHullmod",
  "more_hullmods",
  "more_ship_names",
  "wisp_NeutrinoDetectorMkII",
  "sun_new_beginnings",
  "nexerelin",
  "objects_analysis",
  "OcuA",
  "Ocutek",
  "old_hyperion",
  "ORA",
  "wisp_perseanchronicles",
  "wyv_planetaryShieldAccessControl",
  "portrait",
  "TAR",
  "QualityCaptains",
  "remnant_command_transfer",
  "rotcesrats",
  "roider",
  "sun_ruthless_sector",
  "SCY",
  "RC_Second_Wave_Options",
  "secretsofthefrontieralt",
  "SEEKER",
  "Shield_Shunt_Buff",
  "PT_ShipDirectionMarker",
  "solsystem",
  "speedUp",
  "sun_starship_legends",
  "steelcardinal",
  "stelnet",
  "StopGapMeasures",
  "timid_supply_forging",
  "surveycorpssp",
  "tahlan",
  "Terraforming and Station Construction",
  "star_federation",
  "TORCHSHIPS",
  "trulyautomatedships",
  "underworld",
  "US",
  "ungp",
  "URW",
  "vayrashippack",
  "WEAPONARCS",
  "audio_plus",
  "Safety Override mod",
  "mir_ed",
  "astroidships",
  "ifonly",
  "shaderLib",
  "ShipCatalogVariantEditor"
« Last Edit: May 11, 2021, 02:26:55 PM by dEVoRaTriX_LuX »
Logged

Flacman3000

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 188
  • A man cannot put his shaft into the unknown.
    • View Profile
    • Email

if one disables some factions at the start of the game and goes through a playthrough will the factions I disabled appear later if I turned on enable spawning of factions not present at the start?
Logged
Ryzen 7 2700x, 1080ti, 16GB DDR4 RAM and playing SS on a SSD - Always stay ahead because when you're ahead you're rear anatomy is open to interpretation.

ThePinkPanzer

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
  • Professional accidentaly rude person
    • View Profile
    • Email

I do have some art/writing things I'd like to have though! Right now, they're:
  • Portrait for Remnant contact
  • Concept and dialog for more Remnant story missions
  • Intel icons (invasions, rebellions, and a 'hire mercenary company' feature I'll introduce in the next major release)
Added you on Discord to talk to you about helping out with those!
Logged

Helldiver

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 211
    • View Profile

Well, I've got plans to make invasion somewhat harder

Would love this. Right now invading worlds (even big ones) is very very easy for the player even though it feels like it would be the most difficult military action and a big thing to work towards.
A few hundred marines, one ship with ground support hullmod, some heavy armaments, and you can take most major colonies with no chance of failure by just destroying the station (if there's one) and doing one tactical bombardment before invasion. Not much is required and preliminary work such as reducing a colony's stability/defenses beforehand with various means (sabotage and attacking convoys to cause shortages etc) is never really needed.
Logged
Nex is life, and my helm is pointier than yours!

Histidine

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 3281
    • View Profile
    • Bitbucket profile
    • Email

I have this problem where the game crashes if i choose a lvl 1 start, it goes straight to sector generation skipping skill selection and boom. If i chose a lvl 6 start, i get 5 skills (should be 6 or 7 no?), and once in game it appears i am at negative xp. Here is my mod list:
https://imgur.com/7CqgcqI

Has anyone else had this bug? Any hints appreciated ty.
Il
That should only happen if you're doing the tutorial start. In which case the -1 skill point is deliberate (you get it back for free a bit into the tutorial). I can't easily fix the negative XP without doing a replacement of the vanilla tutorial mission, but you can add the XP back with console.

The crash with level 1 happens after the new game save, so you can load the save after the crash and continue, but I'll ask Alex why it's happening to begin with.

Consistent crash to desktop when halfway generating a randomized core worlds sector with Nexerelin v0.10.1 but not when generating a non-randomized core world sector. Below is the crash log and my mod list, thank you.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1EE9zrHabwHMsMC5AwNiJQ-fk7Z8cbjsL/view?usp=sharing
Hmm, are you on the unofficial Starsector Discord server?
The modlist is far too long for me to want to debug personally, but if you're available for a period of time later I can provide a modified Starsector API to try and figure out why it's crashing.

I do have some art/writing things I'd like to have though! Right now, they're:
  • Portrait for Remnant contact
  • Concept and dialog for more Remnant story missions
  • Intel icons (invasions, rebellions, and a 'hire mercenary company' feature I'll introduce in the next major release)
Added you on Discord to talk to you about helping out with those!
Thanks! I think we can discuss sometime this week.
Logged

Flacman3000

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 188
  • A man cannot put his shaft into the unknown.
    • View Profile
    • Email

if one disables some factions at the start of the game and goes through a playthrough will the factions I disabled appear later if I turned on enable spawning of factions not present at the start?

Does anyone know the answer to this?
Logged
Ryzen 7 2700x, 1080ti, 16GB DDR4 RAM and playing SS on a SSD - Always stay ahead because when you're ahead you're rear anatomy is open to interpretation.

ChrysalisThe

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile

I can verify the pirate activity bug, I infact have not one but 12 colonies without ANY pirate activity. Some even had no patrol buildings. Most layed back playthrough i have had. While I had raids and invasions by the pesky hegemony by the dozend and invasions by just about anyone who polutes my sector yet not a single pirate attack, which is weird since i am at -100 opinion with them. By all rights they should hate me :D
Logged

Warnoise

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
    • View Profile

Did anyone check the vengeance fleet feature in the latest version?

I despite having incoming vengeance fleet notification multiple times, they never came to me. It always end as "missione finished" or something like that
Logged

Glitzer

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile

I can verify the pirate activity bug, I infact have not one but 12 colonies without ANY pirate activity. Some even had no patrol buildings. Most layed back playthrough i have had. While I had raids and invasions by the pesky hegemony by the dozend and invasions by just about anyone who polutes my sector yet not a single pirate attack, which is weird since i am at -100 opinion with them. By all rights they should hate me :D

I have had a similar experience. In fact, I've gone through quite a while of not having any pirate base bounties in addition to no pirate activity for my 3 colonies that are pop 6.

Did anyone check the vengeance fleet feature in the latest version?

I despite having incoming vengeance fleet notification multiple times, they never came to me. It always end as "missione finished" or something like that

I've had this happen a couple times where I see that the vengeance fleet was launched but eventually it ends because they didn't find me. I was actually wondering if it was because I kept my transponder off while they were hunting me down until I saw your post.
Logged

Justinkid

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Email

I'm not sure if this is a bug or not, but since v0.10.0e (and in v0.10.1) I've noticed a lack of pirate activity in my systems. I've had colonies for ~20 hours now and have not endured a single pirate raid.

Update: I did eventually get a single raid on my system. So it seems raids are possible, they're just exceptionally rare. I have Second-Wave Options installed which makes the game more difficult including decreasing colony growth and income. Because of that my colonies only recently began making a profit, and even then only 50-70k at population 5. So maybe that's part of the problem. Also I know .95a-RC14 made changes aimed at decreasing pirate activity, so that's likely involved as well. Still, it appears others running nex have noticed the same thing.

Assuming .95a-RC14 introduced changes to the variables or the equation responsible for determining raid frequency, I wonder if Nexerelin's settings somehow conflict with the new changes in a way that precludes the raids from occurring?

I have had a similar experience. In fact, I've gone through quite a while of not having any pirate base bounties in addition to no pirate activity for my 3 colonies that are pop 6.

Weird, bases are still spawning normally for me and I'm getting bounties for them. The problem in my game seems to be limited to the frequency of pirate activity in my system.

Did anyone check the vengeance fleet feature in the latest version?

I despite having incoming vengeance fleet notification multiple times, they never came to me. It always end as "missione finished" or something like that

Can confirm. I've had dozens of incoming vengeance fleet notifications but never actually encountered one. Its not as if I'm hiding either, I just go about my business as usual and after awhile it says the mission's over. I thought maybe they were getting killed en-route so I increased "vengeanceFleetSizeMult" from .8 to 4 in the exerelin config, theoretically making them more than 4x bigger, but they still never could find me. Someone should test if the vengeance fleet can find them if they sit motionless in the core with their transponder on, for science!
« Last Edit: May 12, 2021, 05:34:51 PM by Justinkid »
Logged

The Soldier

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 3792
  • Quartermaster
    • View Profile

Am I supposed to lose Marine experience when I give them to a station commander to counter rebellions?  I had 100% Elite marines, I gave 100 to the station commander to counter a rebellion, and my Maine experience dropped to 68%. Just selling Marines doesn't reduce their experience.
Logged
Quote from: Trylobot
I am officially an epoch.
Quote from: Thaago
Note: please sacrifice your goats responsibly, look up the proper pronunciation of Alex's name. We wouldn't want some other project receiving mystic power.
Pages: 1 ... 254 255 [256] 257 258 ... 273