Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.96a is out! (05/05/23); Blog post: Colony Crises (11/24/23)

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4

Author Topic: [0.65.1a] Protonian Technologies (Closing)  (Read 13595 times)

Lcu

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 213
    • View Profile
Re: [0.65.1a] Protonian Technologies (V. 0.3.4)
« Reply #30 on: January 26, 2015, 04:21:04 AM »

Have you made your own mod plugin?
Logged
Spoiler
66766766
66766766
66666766
66766766
66766766
Ctrl+F, type 6
[close]

Protonus

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 444
  • AAAAAAAAAAAA
    • View Profile
Re: [0.65.1a] Protonian Technologies (V. 0.3.4)
« Reply #31 on: January 26, 2015, 06:45:26 AM »

I... have no idea what kind plugin you ask of me.  ???

Is it okay if I know about this?
Logged

The cookies are a weird one, okay.

Lcu

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 213
    • View Profile
Re: [0.65.1a] Protonian Technologies (V. 0.3.4)
« Reply #32 on: January 26, 2015, 08:08:28 AM »

In your mod_info.json, add this line :
"modPlugin":"data.scripts.your_modPlugin",
Name the mod plugin whatever you like, maybe "PT_modPlugin"

And then make a mod plugin with the same name with the above, and put them in your data/scripts folder.
Here's an example of the mod plugin (courtesy of Tartiflette, only a few parts of the mod plugin are shown) :

Code: Java
package data.scripts;

import com.fs.starfarer.api.BaseModPlugin;
import com.fs.starfarer.api.Global;
import com.fs.starfarer.api.PluginPick;
import com.fs.starfarer.api.campaign.CampaignPlugin;
import com.fs.starfarer.api.combat.MissileAIPlugin;
import com.fs.starfarer.api.combat.MissileAPI;
import com.fs.starfarer.api.combat.ShipAPI;
import data.scripts.world.SCY_gen;
import org.json.JSONObject;

public class SCY_modPlugin extends BaseModPlugin {



    private static void initSCY() {
        try {
            Global.getSettings().getScriptClassLoader().loadClass("data.scripts.world.ExerelinGen");
            //Got Exerelin, so just Exerelin
        } catch (ClassNotFoundException ex) {
            new SCY_gen().generate(Global.getSector());
        }
    }

}


Just copy that code, rename the classes, and replace SCY_gen() with the name of your mod's gen file.
Don't worry, i encountered the same problem you are facing now a few months ago, took me days to figure it out with the help of the modding community.
« Last Edit: January 26, 2015, 08:11:57 AM by Lcu »
Logged
Spoiler
66766766
66766766
66666766
66766766
66766766
Ctrl+F, type 6
[close]

Protonus

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 444
  • AAAAAAAAAAAA
    • View Profile
Re: [0.65.1a] Protonian Technologies (V. 0.3.4)
« Reply #33 on: January 26, 2015, 06:44:08 PM »

Oh. I see now how the plugin actually works for the scripts.

Thanks for the help, I really appreciated it.  ;)
Logged

The cookies are a weird one, okay.

Protonus

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 444
  • AAAAAAAAAAAA
    • View Profile
Re: [0.65.1a] Protonian Technologies (V. 0.4)
« Reply #34 on: January 26, 2015, 07:03:24 PM »

Major patch is up.

Hopefully soon, I might be able to get the Faction up.
Logged

The cookies are a weird one, okay.

Protonus

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 444
  • AAAAAAAAAAAA
    • View Profile
Re: [0.65.1a] Protonian Technologies (Closing)
« Reply #35 on: February 07, 2015, 11:39:22 PM »

I'm closing this mod down now.
Logged

The cookies are a weird one, okay.

WKOB

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 732
  • Odobenidine Benefactor
    • View Profile
Re: [0.65.1a] Protonian Technologies (Closing)
« Reply #36 on: February 08, 2015, 03:01:25 AM »

Well, don't take their criticism too harshly or anything. People just generally strive for balance.
Logged

Tommy

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
Re: [0.65.1a] Protonian Technologies (Closing)
« Reply #37 on: February 08, 2015, 03:41:23 AM »

Protonus, you could work on it more. If some parts are not balanced, it would be a waste to not carry on. You've probably invested so many hours into this already.
Logged

ValkyriaL

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2145
  • The Guru of Capital Ships.
    • View Profile
Re: [0.65.1a] Protonian Technologies (Closing)
« Reply #38 on: February 08, 2015, 03:45:07 AM »

As stated above, it would be a shame to give up now, you have an unpolished diamond laying here, all that needs doing is removing the sharp edges. (dammit, stop posting before i do!)

In truth, you make a mod because YOU want something different, you dont make a mod because someone else told you to. people want balance because otherwise the mod wont play nice with the big guns out there, BRDY, SS+, SHI and so on, and indeed, vanilla itself

Make a mod the way YOU want, all you do is share what you have with the rest of us, and if people disagree, they are free to either alter the stats, start their own mods, or simply not use the faction.

I do hope you resume your work. :)
Logged

Protonus

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 444
  • AAAAAAAAAAAA
    • View Profile
Re: [0.65.1a] Protonian Technologies (Closing)
« Reply #39 on: February 08, 2015, 03:59:15 AM »

I do appreciate your support very much.

Actually, I'm just closing this down, since I'm working for another mod with someone, most likely a merge. Or just simply sharing the same post soon, and also, I'm trying to revise the version numerals, there are a lot of things that needed to done, I think.

Oh well, if anything happens, I'm not permanently leaving. I just feel the first few posts really bothered me (bad omens to people who just visited the thread), that's all.  :o
Logged

The cookies are a weird one, okay.

WKOB

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 732
  • Odobenidine Benefactor
    • View Profile
Re: [0.65.1a] Protonian Technologies (Closing)
« Reply #40 on: February 08, 2015, 04:00:38 AM »

Fair enough.
Logged

Protonus

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 444
  • AAAAAAAAAAAA
    • View Profile
Re: [0.65.1a] Protonian Technologies (Closing)
« Reply #41 on: February 08, 2015, 04:02:51 AM »

Here is the new ship for the new faction, by the way.

Well, actually, an old design. But proof enough that I am working on two mods.

Logged

The cookies are a weird one, okay.

HELMUT

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1363
    • View Profile
Re: [0.65.1a] Protonian Technologies (Closing)
« Reply #42 on: February 08, 2015, 04:43:07 AM »

Good luck with your new project. By the way, is the person you are now working with is Jay2Jay? He said he was a coder and searching for stuff to work with. Speaking of Protonians, can you "archive" your old sprites on the spiral arms thread? This way they won't be lost forever, which would pains me.

For your new sprites, i'll mainly warn you about three things.

1: Watch out for the saturation, your old Protonian ships were over-saturated and this new one isn't an exception.

2: As people said before, you'll need to be careful about the number of weapons mounts on your ship. While weapons mounts are an easy way to "fill" the sprite, balancing the ship will become exponentially harder. For this one i can see 10 frontal medium turrets, one large and 17 small, plus the launch bay (that i tend to consider, balance wise, as an additional large weapon). The closest vanilla ship to this one would be the Odyssey but yours seems to have nearly twice as many guns.

Here's an invaluable tutorial by Psiyon to learn how to paint on sprites. I won't ask you to make entire ships from scratch but this method is extremely good if you want to "hide" some details or weapons mounts if you have too many. (works for you too, Valk!)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Wr3O4yPxZg

3: Weapons mounts proximity can be an issue to look out for. In this one it feel like two of the medium mounts are too close to each other and as a result the weapons will overlap, which will looks weird.

Also not a fan of the two Aurora "fins", the ship would looks much better without those i think.
Logged

Protonus

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 444
  • AAAAAAAAAAAA
    • View Profile
Re: [0.65.1a] Protonian Technologies (Closing)
« Reply #43 on: February 08, 2015, 04:51:46 AM »

I managed to replace the Argon-series equipment with better ones, I'll be posting the modified Protonian mod as soon as when I... wanted to. ;D

And the ship, well... I actually worked around that. While I actually loaded up this crowded ship, the whole point of the unit is to make it unique along with its faction designation. I'll probably explain it to the mod itself once I released it. And yes, expect a lot of weapons to it.

And also, the partner... part. No, I actually work for some random girl who asked me to do ship designs with her, she is practically "safe". :D
Logged

The cookies are a weird one, okay.

EI

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
Re: [0.65.1a] Protonian Technologies (Closing)
« Reply #44 on: February 08, 2015, 07:46:15 PM »

Here is the new ship for the new faction, by the way.

Well, actually, an old design. But proof enough that I am working on two mods.



My ship! )o)
Logged
You know what happens when I raise the "alarm"~ <3
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4