Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 ... 19 20 [21] 22 23 ... 27

Author Topic: [0.7.2a] ShaderLib Beta 1.2.1b (Legacy)  (Read 238977 times)

Dark.Revenant

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2806
    • View Profile
    • Sc2Mafia
Re: [0.65.2a] ShaderLib Beta 1.07
« Reply #300 on: July 09, 2015, 08:33:51 PM »

This is due to a chipset incompatibility with the HD 3000, which I have absolutely no luck in fixing.  It probably comes down to some kind of hardware limitation of that device, preventing too many screen reads/writes in one frame or something, since I didn't change any ShaderLib features, only add an additional one that doesn't actually do anything most of the time.  This will never be resolved, since I have no other method of adding shaders to the game other than the one I am currently using.

Basically, set distortions and/or post processing to false in shaderSettings.json of the ShaderLib folder, and it will be fixed.  I'd start with post processing, since it's used a lot less than distortions.
Logged

bbarr97

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: [0.65.2a] ShaderLib Beta 1.07
« Reply #301 on: July 10, 2015, 10:30:03 AM »

This is due to a chipset incompatibility with the HD 3000, which I have absolutely no luck in fixing.  It probably comes down to some kind of hardware limitation of that device, preventing too many screen reads/writes in one frame or something, since I didn't change any ShaderLib features, only add an additional one that doesn't actually do anything most of the time.  This will never be resolved, since I have no other method of adding shaders to the game other than the one I am currently using.

Basically, set distortions and/or post processing to false in shaderSettings.json of the ShaderLib folder, and it will be fixed.  I'd start with post processing, since it's used a lot less than distortions.

Thanks for the response.   I have a GeForce 780m on my laptop and the game is set to use it instead of the integrated graphics.  Wondering if Starsector is having difficulties picking the right card?  

Also, it appeared 1.06 was working on the menu screen but in battles every time a shader effect was applied the screen would have ghosting and disappearances.  I will try some other troubleshooting and pass on if I find a fix.

FYI
Sager NP8265 Laptop
i7-4800MQ 2.7ghz
HD 4600
Geforce GTX 780M

thanks again


UPDATE

The game was having difficulty using the right video card.  It tooks several attempts after a reboot to force Starsector to use my dedicated graphics card (780M) vice the integrated. Once that happened, all worked fine.  Thanks for helping narrow the problem!
« Last Edit: July 10, 2015, 07:49:55 PM by bbarr97 »
Logged

Dark.Revenant

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2806
    • View Profile
    • Sc2Mafia
Re: [0.65.2a] ShaderLib Beta 1.07
« Reply #302 on: July 10, 2015, 06:11:54 PM »

The HD 4600 supports modern graphics APIs, so I have no idea what's going wrong here.  The post processing shader only uses OpenGL 2.0.  Maybe it's due to how integrated chips handle the screen buffer?

See if this helps: http://www.mediafire.com/download/dv4ctzcs8czrkva/Shaders.jar  Replace the Shaders.jar in the jars/ folder.
Logged

Black Crag

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
Re: [0.65.2a] ShaderLib Beta 1.07
« Reply #303 on: August 20, 2015, 02:10:31 PM »

Hmm, seems like i get a noticeble worse performance with the shader on, even in very small scale battles, i do not think that is is because of my graphics card since i got a gtx 970 and not because of processor because its a i5 4466. or have i too high thoughts about my pc parts?
Logged

Dark.Revenant

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2806
    • View Profile
    • Sc2Mafia
Re: [0.65.2a] ShaderLib Beta 1.07
« Reply #304 on: August 20, 2015, 09:19:12 PM »

Are you sure your graphics card is getting used?  ShaderLib is very hard on fillrate so if it's using an integrated chip, you will have performance problems.
« Last Edit: August 21, 2015, 08:29:10 AM by Dark.Revenant »
Logged

Black Crag

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
Re: [0.65.2a] ShaderLib Beta 1.07
« Reply #305 on: August 21, 2015, 06:35:25 AM »

Yea, my card is in use. but i guess that the idle percentage should be around 1-4 %? (by idle i mean the one you can see in game next to the fps counter.)
Logged

Dark.Revenant

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2806
    • View Profile
    • Sc2Mafia
Re: [0.65.2a] ShaderLib Beta 1.07
« Reply #306 on: August 21, 2015, 08:32:17 AM »

Theoretically, idle percentage (the way I'd code it) is the percentage of time the main loop is waiting between frames.  Most of this time is from the glSwapBuffers command, in theory (since it triggers vsync), but if your graphics card isn't also flushing at the same time, glSwapBuffers will be hardly any time at all, and vsync will come into effect at some other random draw command.  As a result, idle percentage is not guaranteed to be correct.  Try turning vsync off (and going fullscreen, since windowed games are always in vsync) and seeing if the "measured performance" remains low.
« Last Edit: August 21, 2015, 08:34:33 AM by Dark.Revenant »
Logged

Black Crag

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
Re: [0.65.2a] ShaderLib Beta 1.07
« Reply #307 on: August 21, 2015, 08:49:30 AM »

tried turning off v-sync on the nvidia contol panel, It didnt change my idle % at all :/
Logged

Dark.Revenant

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2806
    • View Profile
    • Sc2Mafia
Re: [0.65.2a] ShaderLib Beta 1.07
« Reply #308 on: August 21, 2015, 08:53:24 AM »

I don't know how Alex coded that part of the game, so it was just guesswork based on what I did for my own game.

Idle % is known to be inaccurate.  Did your framerate drop?
Logged

Black Crag

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
Re: [0.65.2a] ShaderLib Beta 1.07
« Reply #309 on: August 21, 2015, 10:41:19 AM »

it rarely drops with or without v-sync, it only drops is very large-scale battles.
Anyway, thanks for the help. This isnt really a big problem i was just curious if something was wrong.
Logged

agigabyte

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: [0.65.2a] ShaderLib Beta 1.07
« Reply #310 on: September 17, 2015, 02:52:58 PM »

With both Shader and Lazy I'm getting this crash whenever I start up the game with them enabled. I have reinstalled both.
Spoiler
[close]
Logged

Dark.Revenant

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2806
    • View Profile
    • Sc2Mafia
Re: [0.65.2a] ShaderLib Beta 1.07
« Reply #311 on: September 17, 2015, 03:19:43 PM »

Re download shaderlib, it seems you have a corrupted or incomplete download.
Logged

agigabyte

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: [0.65.2a] ShaderLib Beta 1.07
« Reply #312 on: September 17, 2015, 03:30:41 PM »

I did. Twice.
Logged

Dark.Revenant

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2806
    • View Profile
    • Sc2Mafia
Re: [0.65.2a] ShaderLib Beta 1.07
« Reply #313 on: September 17, 2015, 04:00:16 PM »

Then obviously something is causing it to unpack incorrectly.  Go into ShaderLib/data/shaders/post and screenshot the contents.
Logged

agigabyte

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: [0.65.2a] ShaderLib Beta 1.07
« Reply #314 on: September 18, 2015, 04:09:29 PM »

I don't have that.
Spoiler
[close]
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 19 20 [21] 22 23 ... 27