Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.97a is out! (02/02/24)

Author Topic: Hello and First Impressions  (Read 4485 times)

DarkMecha

• Ensign
    • View Profile
    • www.darkmecha.com
Hello and First Impressions
« on: August 01, 2011, 05:12:19 PM »

Hi everyone, got this last night. I've played about 2 hours so far, and I have to say - this is GREAT!

Even in the early state it is, there is so much potential. It's already quite fun just to fight these mission battles.

First Impressions:

+ Awesome art, I really like the look of the game. As an artist myself, I appreciate the time and effort that goes into designing great ships.
+ Detailed ships are detailed, I love the complexity on offer in terms of weapons arcs and such.
+ Flux is a neat concept, forcing you to choose between defense (shields) and offense (fire all guns!), at least if I'm understanding it right.
+ The map objectives (nav buoys ect) are rather cool, and I'm sure stations and other stationary objects / "space terrain" could be added later.

A few suggestions:  (and only that, I realize you have your own vision)

+ Turning ships feels good, but I really think this game would benefit greatly from a SFC style 'click to steer' control option. Especially with some of the
larger ships, it would not only add to the naval feel but also just be great to set a course with a mouse click, set speed, then focus on the weapons.
+ This one is likely just personal preference, but I thought I'd just mention it - the battle pace feels abit quick for such complex ships. I think if weapons did
abit less damage and you got to slug it out abit longer that would also add to the game's naval feel.
+ Any plans to add systems like ECM / ECCM, cloaking, probes (to find enemies on the map), mines, or repair ships? Just asking! :D

Once again great game! I like it alot, and am excited for it's future.

Alex

• Administrator