Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: in serious need of help  (Read 4438 times)

phyrex

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
    • View Profile
in serious need of help
« on: March 16, 2013, 08:03:39 PM »

ok i seriously need some help here with my weapon sprites.
after fiddling long enough, i finally got the body and the barrel to finally look like theyre attached to each other, and following a tutorial, i found the center and counted the offset for the barrels.
they dont match at all. shots appear much farther in front of them.
the barrels arent doing the recoil animation they should be doing either

im completly lost !
« Last Edit: March 16, 2013, 08:14:33 PM by phyrex »
Logged

FlashFrozen

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 988
    • View Profile
Re: in serious need of help
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2013, 08:15:23 PM »

Guess I'm feeling... helpful today, if you'd like, you can pm me the files and I'll see if I can cobble it together ;)

Edit: if not

remember to have this in your .wpn file

Code

"visualRecoil":3.0,


as for the shots coming out incorrectly,

Code

"turretOffsets":[10, -4.5, 10, 4.5],              # example values
"turretAngleOffsets":[0, 0],                        # example values
"hardpointOffsets":[20, -4.5, 20, 4.5],         # example values
"hardpointAngleOffsets":[0, 0],                   # example values


the off sets -4.5 and 4.5 are left and right of the weapon sprite if your gun sprite is pointing northward, 10 would be the height along the sprite's center

Hard points naturally shift the sprite ( don't forget if your hardpoint sprite is also bigger than your turret, add that in), so you'll need to account for it differently, you may need to go in and out increasing or lowering values until it looks right.
« Last Edit: March 16, 2013, 08:19:29 PM by FlashFrozen »
Logged

phyrex

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
    • View Profile
Re: in serious need of help
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2013, 08:27:13 PM »

omg...
i just add the minus on the wrong variable >_< (i putted it on the ride side instead of the left side)

well, thanks a damn lot. ive been frustratingly meddling with this for hours on end now.
Logged

FlashFrozen

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 988
    • View Profile
Re: in serious need of help
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2013, 08:32:37 PM »

Your welcome ;)
Logged

phyrex

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
    • View Profile
Re: in serious need of help
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2013, 08:41:32 PM »

Your welcome ;)

i messed up again, now the problem's there again, but they keep not having recoil. i checked my .wpn file again and they have the minus at the right place.
and now my machine gun shooting way too fast and having like 2573498573 flux per second O_o (hints, when in use, it dosent)

edit : ok, the stats and all that crap have gone completly fubar...
« Last Edit: March 16, 2013, 08:45:12 PM by phyrex »
Logged

FlashFrozen

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 988
    • View Profile
Re: in serious need of help
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2013, 08:43:16 PM »

Mmm, it might not have 'recoil' because of how fast the weapon shoots, the animation is already back in place for the next shot no idea about the flux issue though try lowering the fire rate first
« Last Edit: March 16, 2013, 08:44:49 PM by FlashFrozen »
Logged

phyrex

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
    • View Profile
Re: in serious need of help
« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2013, 08:47:18 PM »

Mmm, it might not have 'recoil' because of how fast the weapon shoots, the animation is already back in place for the next shot no idea about the flux issue though try lowering the fire rate first

i keep changing the values but for some reason, its as if it wont register :/ the stats of the gun are just like the mlg tbh but its acting all weird
Logged

FlashFrozen

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 988
    • View Profile
Re: in serious need of help
« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2013, 08:51:26 PM »

chargeup   chargedown   burst size   burst delay
0           0.4                   5           0.1


Example of the Light machinegun,

Chargeup - The amount of time required before the weapon is allowed to fire
chargedown- Time required after it has fired before it can be allowed to chargeup again
burst size - number of shots fired per click
burst delay - time inbetween each shot in a burst

it might be a bit easier if you post the stats your using, anecdotes don't make for easy fixing lol
Logged

phyrex

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
    • View Profile
Re: in serious need of help
« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2013, 08:56:32 PM »

chargeup   chargedown   burst size   burst delay
0           0.4                   5           0.1


Example of the Light machinegun,

Chargeup - The amount of time required before the weapon is allowed to fire
chargedown- Time required after it has fired before it can be allowed to chargeup again
burst size - number of shots fired per click
burst delay - time inbetween each shot in a burst

it might be a bit easier if you post the stats your using, anecdotes don't make for easy fixing lol

well my lagrest gun has about 15 of visual recoil. chargeup of 0, charge down of 3 and fire in burst of 3. when the delay is below 1, the recoil dosent show, but with a delay of 1, the recoild do show. (edit : its meant to have a delay of 0.2)
my smallest gun has 5 of visual recoil, chargeup of 0, chagredown of 0.5 burst size of 1 (its full auto) and no burst delay. but its stats in game are completly fubar, there's no recoil either and it shoots crazy fast
« Last Edit: March 16, 2013, 09:00:22 PM by phyrex »
Logged

FlashFrozen

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 988
    • View Profile
Re: in serious need of help
« Reply #9 on: March 16, 2013, 09:06:54 PM »

This might be a .csv issue because the small gun shouldn't shoot more than 2 times a second,  If recoil works with a slower delay on the big gun, then I don't know why it wouldn't work.
Logged

phyrex

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
    • View Profile
Re: in serious need of help
« Reply #10 on: March 16, 2013, 09:08:33 PM »

This might be a .csv issue because the small gun shouldn't shoot more than 2 times a second,  If recoil works with a slower delay on the big gun, then I don't know why it wouldn't work.

whats a csv issue ?
Logged

FlashFrozen

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 988
    • View Profile
Re: in serious need of help
« Reply #11 on: March 16, 2013, 09:10:40 PM »

Iurno, maybe your thing is one column off, or you were entering values into a different weapon and you didn't notice, lol
Logged

phyrex

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
    • View Profile
Re: in serious need of help
« Reply #12 on: March 16, 2013, 09:18:33 PM »

Iurno, maybe your thing is one column off, or you were entering values into a different weapon and you didn't notice, lol

well theres only 3 weapons on my csv right now :/
and theres a lot of anomaly, some of the guns go crazy stats too when certain values are changed to a certain degree.
my medium slot gun fire double-barrel linked, chargeup 0, charge down 1 burst 1 no delay. it works fine. when i putted the charge down to zero to make it a bit better, it just went crazy too and fired freakin fast

edit : i deleted the whole csv and rewrote it and some stats i enter dont even seem to register

problem partially solved. i was using , instead of .
omg, thats the third time im doing mistake like that and fiddling for hours to fix it -_-
« Last Edit: March 16, 2013, 09:24:36 PM by phyrex »
Logged

FlashFrozen

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 988
    • View Profile
Re: in serious need of help
« Reply #13 on: March 16, 2013, 09:36:31 PM »

Technically your supposed to use , to separate values, I highly suggest using a text editor program to do this, something like open office works fine,
Logged

phyrex

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 751
    • View Profile
Re: in serious need of help
« Reply #14 on: March 16, 2013, 09:48:38 PM »

Technically your supposed to use , to separate values, I highly suggest using a text editor program to do this, something like open office works fine,

thats what im using too. i know that in notepad, , is for separating value, but in openoffice grid thingy that i use to meddle with the csv, using it was causing the bugs.
go figure. in any case, you still helped a lot. thanks !
Logged
Pages: [1] 2