Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.97a is out! (02/02/24); New blog post: Simulator Enhancements (03/13/24)

Pages: 1 ... 145 146 [147] 148 149 ... 706

Author Topic: Misc modding questions that are too minor to warrant their own thread  (Read 1699668 times)

Xanderzoo

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 342
    • View Profile
Re: Misc modding questions that are too minor to warrant their own thread
« Reply #2190 on: March 15, 2015, 11:52:40 PM »

I'm actually starting to suspect that there's a problem with the setRadius function, as it works perfectly (Except for texturing the shields, of course) if I leave out the textures.

Edit:

If anyone has successfully given shields a texture, I would love to hear how you did it.
« Last Edit: March 16, 2015, 12:20:48 AM by Xanderzoo »
Logged

Debido

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1183
    • View Profile
Re: Misc modding questions that are too minor to warrant their own thread
« Reply #2191 on: March 16, 2015, 12:48:45 AM »

Okay, thanks for your help.  :) The reason I don't want to use an EveryFrameWeaponEffectPlugin is that I don't want the textured shields for my specific faction--I want them for all ships. I'll do some experimentation to see if I can get it to work.

For all ships?

Well that makes it a LOT easier, and requires 0 coding IIRC.

You only need to have your own copy of the following files in the following folder in your mod:
[mod]\graphics\fx\
shields64
shields64ring
shields128
shields128ringc
shields256
shields256ring
shields256ringb
shields256ringc
shields256ringd

You can then change the colour of shields via the hull_styles if the colour is static. For dynamic shield colouring that is another thing...
Logged

Xanderzoo

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 342
    • View Profile
Re: Misc modding questions that are too minor to warrant their own thread
« Reply #2192 on: March 16, 2015, 07:58:24 AM »

Oh. Wow. I wish I'd mentioned that before, it's a lot simpler. Thanks!  :)

« Last Edit: March 16, 2015, 08:10:11 AM by Xanderzoo »
Logged

Xanderzoo

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 342
    • View Profile
Re: Misc modding questions that are too minor to warrant their own thread
« Reply #2193 on: March 16, 2015, 08:10:56 AM »

Well, I did what you suggested and the shields still aren't textured. I'll do some experimentation to see if I can get it to work.
Logged

celestis

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
    • View Profile
Re: Misc modding questions that are too minor to warrant their own thread
« Reply #2194 on: March 18, 2015, 03:52:18 AM »

Is there somewhere a setting for default sight radius? I mean, the radius affected by MutableShipStatsAPI.getSightRadiusMod().
Logged

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 23986
    • View Profile
Re: Misc modding questions that are too minor to warrant their own thread
« Reply #2195 on: March 18, 2015, 11:59:32 AM »

Is there somewhere a setting for default sight radius? I mean, the radius affected by MutableShipStatsAPI.getSightRadiusMod().

No - it's hardcoded to 3000.
Logged

Serenitis

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1458
    • View Profile
Re: Misc modding questions that are too minor to warrant their own thread
« Reply #2196 on: March 18, 2015, 12:25:25 PM »

Hopefully a simple one.

For a given ship, where is the data for the turn rate and engine output stored?
I've been looking in the \hulls\*.ship files but I can't see anything that's marked for either, its all just postioning data for the various components and overlays so it probably isn't even in there.
But I can't see anywhere else where this data could be.

Anyone care to point me in the right direction here....
Logged

Xanderzoo

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 342
    • View Profile
Re: Misc modding questions that are too minor to warrant their own thread
« Reply #2197 on: March 18, 2015, 12:27:26 PM »

It's in starsector-core/data/hulls/ship_data.csv.
Logged

celestis

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
    • View Profile
Re: Misc modding questions that are too minor to warrant their own thread
« Reply #2198 on: March 19, 2015, 09:27:31 AM »

Is there somewhere a setting for default sight radius? I mean, the radius affected by MutableShipStatsAPI.getSightRadiusMod().

No - it's hardcoded to 3000.
Oh, I see... Can I suggest moving this value to settings.json?
Logged

Serenitis

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1458
    • View Profile
Re: Misc modding questions that are too minor to warrant their own thread
« Reply #2199 on: March 19, 2015, 11:44:43 AM »

It's in starsector-core/data/hulls/ship_data.csv.
Thank you  :)
Logged

Xanderzoo

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 342
    • View Profile
Re: Misc modding questions that are too minor to warrant their own thread
« Reply #2200 on: March 19, 2015, 11:48:39 AM »

No problem... I remember having to figure that out myself.  :P
Logged

Xanderzoo

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 342
    • View Profile
Re: Misc modding questions that are too minor to warrant their own thread
« Reply #2201 on: March 19, 2015, 02:53:34 PM »

Is there a way for the enemy to lose a mission when a certain ship of there's dies? I tried api.defeatOnShipLoss(), but it didn't seem to work.
Logged

orost

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 436
    • View Profile
Re: Misc modding questions that are too minor to warrant their own thread
« Reply #2202 on: March 19, 2015, 03:09:01 PM »

I create a FleetMember, put in the player's fleet, add crew (before that there is none) and then try to bring it to max CR by calling RepairTrackerAPI.setCR(RepairTrackerAPI.getMaxCR())... but it sets to 10%, while the real max CR is 70-something. I assume that something doesn't get updated and it still thinks it has 0 crew - how do I get around that?
Logged

gruberscomplete

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 253
    • View Profile
Re: Misc modding questions that are too minor to warrant their own thread
« Reply #2203 on: March 21, 2015, 12:21:01 PM »

I create a FleetMember, put in the player's fleet, add crew (before that there is none) and then try to bring it to max CR by calling RepairTrackerAPI.setCR(RepairTrackerAPI.getMaxCR())... but it sets to 10%, while the real max CR is 70-something. I assume that something doesn't get updated and it still thinks it has 0 crew - how do I get around that?
why not just set it to '100'%?

Could anyone help me with a problem of my own? When trying to edit ship_data.csv and make certain ships faster or slower or cheaper, it saves but doesn't update in-game. How do I make it update?
Logged
Click here for FREE ships!               Plentysector               Robots With Souls

orost

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 436
    • View Profile
Re: Misc modding questions that are too minor to warrant their own thread
« Reply #2204 on: March 21, 2015, 12:56:53 PM »

...because I need to set it to current max CR, and not 100%?
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 145 146 [147] 148 149 ... 706