Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.97a is out! (02/02/24)

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Colonizing questions  (Read 1147 times)

IDA Frigate Captain

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Universal Scav
    • View Profile
Re: Colonizing questions
« Reply #15 on: October 25, 2023, 06:16:16 PM »

If you successfully invade Chalcedon with Nexerelin options, do you become the ruler of the system or does the League now think they own it?

It sounds like you are saying that whoever owns the biggest colony in the system is the ruler?
I did exactly this in my current run. The Persean League lays claim to the system once Chalcedon changes hands, making colonisation impossible until Olinadu also changes to player hands (then I terraformed it into a lovely and productive water world, while my Chalcedon is a terraformed terran Eden). Currently Hainan is my money maker,  pumping out 14 units of volatiles with Industrial Evolution's Centralization Bureau and Plasma Dynamo + upgrades. Only size 3 too. Kumari Kandam is a neat all-in-one system, really.
Logged
My first thought in winning the flux war - which dumb ass engineer put shields and weapons inseparably linked to the same flux system?!

Wyvern

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 3719
    • View Profile
Re: Colonizing questions
« Reply #16 on: October 25, 2023, 07:00:35 PM »

Your starting build of heavy industry-->refining-->military base-->refining, at what point does it start to generate positive cash flow? Your strategy is to set up a stable production hub, but where does your income come from?
Positive cash flow starts at colony size three if I don't push on hazard pay, or if I have a pristine nanoforge; otherwise, the colony is roughly break-even until I get refining online. In general, my income comes from wandering around killing off bounty fleets and otherwise doing stuff.

In the case of Kumari Kandam, there's a bunch of empty planets so you could spread out the stuff and have overlapping patrols and bases too.
Point; it'd probably be more efficient to colonize multiple planets so I can get the military base online faster & build refining at Crocodile size 4 instead of size 5; maybe even use some other in-system world as a temporary colony that gets disbanded later? I don't personally feel a need to bother with that sort of thing, but I can see some sense to it.

Also, are all of the core systems semi-random or are some planets always fixed in all attributes? I read on the wiki that Aztlan sometimes has entirely random planets, like an uninhabited tundra world can rarely spawn there.
Unsure. I suspect that the inhabited planets have entirely fixed attributes, but it's not something I pay much attention to.
Logged
Wyvern is 100% correct about the math.

Worldtraveller

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
    • View Profile
Re: Colonizing questions
« Reply #17 on: October 28, 2023, 09:58:54 AM »

Another colony question: One of the systems has every type of planet I want to colonize, except no gate, and no stable points. There's a nearby system with a gate, so that's good enough, but no stable points kinda sucks.

I know with stars, one can interact with them to create stable points, but the catch here is that it's a black hole system. Can I create stable points in a black hole system?



Logged

Wyvern

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 3719
    • View Profile
Re: Colonizing questions
« Reply #18 on: October 28, 2023, 11:23:59 AM »

I know with stars, one can interact with them to create stable points, but the catch here is that it's a black hole system. Can I create stable points in a black hole system?
Try it and see!

(I believe the answer is 'yes'; at the very least, I remember some versions ago submitting a bug report that the interaction text was still referencing a 'star' even when it's a black hole you're interacting with.)
Logged
Wyvern is 100% correct about the math.

Aeson

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 496
    • View Profile
Re: Colonizing questions
« Reply #19 on: October 28, 2023, 12:23:56 PM »

Yes, you can create stable points at black holes. If you weren't already aware, be warned that black holes cause significant CR damage to unprotected ships.
Logged

Worldtraveller

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
    • View Profile
Re: Colonizing questions
« Reply #20 on: October 28, 2023, 05:28:20 PM »

I knew about the CR drain. Does Solar shielding still help? I was going to use my one solar shielded ship to try it and see.

Does there have to be a colony there already, or can one theoretically do it in any system? Not that I think it would be worth it. Just curious. :)
Logged

Wyvern

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 3719
    • View Profile
Re: Colonizing questions
« Reply #21 on: October 28, 2023, 05:35:16 PM »

Solar shielding does help; s-modded solar shielding removes the drain entirely. (It's a luxury, but s-modding solar shielding across the entire fleet makes hyperspace travel so much nicer, since you can use storms as speed boosts without losing hundreds of supplies.)

And no, you don't need a colony in-system to create/add a stable point.
Logged
Wyvern is 100% correct about the math.
Pages: 1 [2]