Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.97a is out! (02/02/24); New blog post: Simulator Enhancements (03/13/24)

Author Topic: Copyright licensing for mods  (Read 1333 times)

Lemuria

• Ensign
    • View Profile
Copyright licensing for mods
« on: March 01, 2022, 05:30:37 AM »

Hello, I'm Lemuria, I recently discovered Starsector, and I'm thinking of creating mods of the game. I'm an open source developer, most of my software is open source. I read the Starsector license agreement and it says that I'm not allowed to distribute my mods for a fee, as it says in the agreement:
Fractal Softworks authorizes you to create and distribute Mods of the Game, provided you don't charge for the Mod itself or its distribution in any way.  Selling or otherwise charging for the access or use of Mods shall be a violation of this License and shall constitute infringement of Fractal Softworks's copyright in the Game.

I'm curious about what kind of copyright licenses the other modders here use for their mods, and I'm hoping that the licenses I put my mods under won't conflict with the agreement. Some mods I've seen on GitHub don't have a license, is this intentional? And will I be able to license my Starsector mods under an open source license?

And no, none of your replies constitute legal advice, I'm just curious.

EDIT: And yes, I'm planning on making the source code of my mods public, free, as in both price and freedom.
« Last Edit: March 01, 2022, 06:00:04 AM by Lemuria »
Lemuria#0685 on the Unofficial Starsector Discord

Jaghaimo

• Admiral
    • View Profile
Re: Copyright licensing for mods
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2022, 06:59:36 AM »

Any licence is fine. Most projects are open source in some form (they distribute with their source code). All you are forbidden is charging for mods ("Selling or otherwise charging for the access or use of Mods").