Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Battle sizes / fleet sizes  (Read 1957 times)

peirceg

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Battle sizes / fleet sizes
« on: November 20, 2021, 05:53:11 PM »

I remember way back when I modded and edited a few things to allow for larger fleet sizes and battle sizes.

I remember having to fiddle around with the memory and a json file or something. How do you go about increasing fleet sizes and battle sizes? What size would you recommend for a top end system that won't crash a lot due to engine limitations?

Thanks guys.
Logged

Hatter

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
    • View Profile
Re: Battle sizes / fleet sizes
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2021, 08:50:22 PM »

Go to starsector-core/data/config/setting.json

Find "maxBattleSize", by default 400, and set it to whatever you want. Adjust as needed with the in-game settings slider. Note that with larger fleet sizes you may want to increase AI fleet sizes / maximum officer count / max ships in fleet and your max ships in fleet / max officers, which is also in the settings.

Also make sure to change vmparams (https://fractalsoftworks.com/forum/index.php?topic=8726.0) file to be larger.
Logged

peirceg

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Battle sizes / fleet sizes
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2021, 05:47:11 PM »

Where were the settings for command points for the actual battles or has that changed?
Logged

c plus one

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 174
  • 'Make Jumpgates Great Again!'
    • View Profile
Re: Battle sizes / fleet sizes
« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2021, 11:20:29 AM »

Firstly, make sure you are using a high-quality code-friendly text editor - I strongly suggest Notepad++ (yes, two pluses).

As above, open the file called settings.json.....

Approximately at or around line number 567, you should find these two:

Code
"startingCommandPoints":5,
"baseSecondsPerCommandPoint":120,
Change the values to ones that you prefer.
Save the file.
Restart the game.
Enjoy.   8)
Logged
Quote from: Lopunny Zen
you are playing them wrong then..

Don't tell me I'm playing anything wrong in a singleplayer sandbox game. Just don't.

peirceg

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Battle sizes / fleet sizes
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2021, 07:44:50 PM »

What does the "baseSecondsPerCommandPoint" do? I am assuming "startingCommandPoints" is the base battle size?
Logged

DuraiPapers

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Battle sizes / fleet sizes
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2021, 08:28:54 PM »

What does the "baseSecondsPerCommandPoint" do? I am assuming "startingCommandPoints" is the base battle size?

Command Points references the points you use to give your fleet orders, someone else asked about changing those. maxBattleSize is what you're looking for.
Logged