Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.97a is out! (02/02/24); New blog post: Simulator Enhancements (03/13/24)

Author Topic: Changing alternate defense system through hullmods  (Read 871 times)

Scauldy1

• Ensign
    • View Profile
Changing alternate defense system through hullmods
« on: July 02, 2022, 02:47:49 PM »

So, hi. um, this is my first time posting here, and guess what! It's 'cause I have problems trying to make a mod for the game.

Anyways, onto the topic at hand, as the titel states, I'm trying to change the alternate defense system, aka, the defense id using hullmods, and I haven't exactly found much on it, except for a 2014 post, on a mod that mentions it as possible, but well, I'm not the best when it comes to understanding code, so I couldn't exactly understand what in said mod made it work. The post mentioned the code that make it possible was from lazylib, but well, I looked there and didn't find anything that looked like it would fullfill that purpose, so I assume it was depricated and then removed since.

So that's why I'm asking here if it's possible or not. And I suppose in the same sweep I should ask if it's also possible to modify the phase upkeep and phase cost in a similar way?

Any help in this would be appreciated.

Princess_of_Evil

• Captain
    • View Profile
Re: Changing alternate defense system through hullmods
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2022, 10:42:24 PM »

What kind of "defense system"? If you're talking about adding new shield type or such, then you iirc need to make a ship system (look at phasecloak as basis - that's vanilla phase system) and then set your shield type to PHASE. Look at at the shield converter hull mods to see how to change shield type.