Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.97a is out! (02/02/24); New blog post: Simulator Enhancements (03/13/24)

Author Topic: Looking for Fleet Comp Tips  (Read 931 times)

thomas_pigskin

• Ensign
  • braindead moron and rat bastard extraordinaire
    • View Profile
Looking for Fleet Comp Tips
« on: July 28, 2021, 09:41:09 PM »

So, on the current save that I'm playing, (v0.9.1a-RC8 for context), I've got a pretty solid baseline going, afaik.

Three Tempests and two Omens, an Apogee, three Colossi for storage, and four Phaetons.

I'm currently still in the process of gaining more capitol through exploration bounties, but so far I've got about 1.5 mil credits saved up.

What I'm looking for right now is suggestions on what ships I add to the fleet, since I've been going off of a related forum post praising the stupidity that is the Tempest frigate. I'm also relatively new to the game, only started really playing it about a week or two ago. Any help would be appreciated.

FooF

• Admiral
    • View Profile
Re: Looking for Fleet Comp Tips
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2021, 12:39:29 PM »

Considering it’s not the current version, I’d still recommend adding some “meat” to your core attack group. You’ve got enough money to do anything at this point and you only have a single cruiser. If you want to continue to travel “light” a Destroyer or two wouldn’t slow you down and add a significant amount of firepower. The Hammerhead (over-tuned in .91) would give you the most bang for your buck but a pair of Sunders would also pay huge dividends while the Apogee shield tanks and Tempests distract. They are great support fire ships with beams (like HIL) or as an assault ship with Autopulse.

If you really want to stay small and fast, an Afflictor or two or a Harbinger would also add a lot of damage without slowing you down.

thomas_pigskin

• Ensign