Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.97a is out! (02/02/24); New blog post: Simulator Enhancements (03/13/24)

Pages: 1 2 [3]

Author Topic: The game became too hard  (Read 7625 times)

Asherogar

• Ensign
    • View Profile
Re: The game became too hard
« Reply #30 on: April 07, 2021, 07:22:17 AM »

I wouldn't call the game too hard at the moment, just not really that balanced for the player against the endgame threats. When I ask for fleet compositions to take on the hardest threats in the game all I ever get are "just use the
Spoiler
zig
[close]
", or just phase spam", or "just abuse Derelict Contingent or Safety Overrides with story points". It should be possible to take on these fleets without abusing obviously broken game mechanics, and with a wider variety of fleet compositions provided they're well built and heavily story-pointed.
This.
I'm not very good with formulating my thoughts especially on different language and obviously salty after all the games attempts to force me into playstyle I don't like but this greatly sums up how I feel about balance in this patch. 0.9.1a was way more forgiving in terms of playstyles, heck you was able to beat Ordos with frigates only even considering they were pretty weak. I think there was too much focus on frigates, they were buffed heavily, everything posing a treat to them was nerfed and we ended up in a situation where we have frigate meta and whole endgame balanced around you abusing said meta. I just want to have fun, not become a meta-slave in single-freaking-player game.

Dex

• Commander
    • View Profile
« Reply #31 on: April 07, 2021, 07:37:37 AM »