Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.97a is out! (02/02/24); New blog post: New music for Galatia Academy (06/12/24)

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: The AI skill...  (Read 5873 times)

Lord Heart Night

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
The AI skill...
« on: March 27, 2021, 04:32:19 PM »

Ok im enjoying the new update, some interesting items to find to help colonies and so forth

And a new skill so you can AQUIRE AI SHIPS, AW HELL YES...

So i get myself a radiant....

And thats it, cos if i get any other ships, they'll cripple all my AI ships in the fleet!

Whats the point of this if i can only aquire a few ships before i get screwed?

As a player whos sympathetic to the [REDACTED] this has killed my fun a bit, although i love the whole applying cores to ships thing

My question is this, does anyone know how to remove the cap?
Logged

IonDragonX

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 816
    • View Profile
Re: The AI skill...
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2021, 05:06:56 PM »

My question is this, does anyone know how to remove the cap?

something, something... maybe relevant to look at "com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.skills.BaseSkillEffectDescription.java"
Spoiler
   static {
      if (USE_RECOVERY_COST) {
         // working off 60% of the default battle size of 300 for these, which is 180
         OP_THRESHOLD = 180;
         OP_LOW_THRESHOLD = 90;
         OP_ALL_LOW_THRESHOLD = 60;
//         OP_THRESHOLD = 150;
//         OP_LOW_THRESHOLD = 75;
//         OP_ALL_LOW_THRESHOLD = 50;
         
         
         PHASE_OP_THRESHOLD = 30;
         MILITARIZED_OP_THRESHOLD = 5;
         AUTOMATED_POINTS_THRESHOLD = 30;
      }
   }
   
[close]
of course, this file is not the code executed in the game but a clever modder might find a way to make it work
Logged

Lord Heart Night

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Re: The AI skill...
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2021, 02:52:07 AM »

My question is this, does anyone know how to remove the cap?

something, something... maybe relevant to look at "com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.skills.BaseSkillEffectDescription.java"
Spoiler
   static {
      if (USE_RECOVERY_COST) {
         // working off 60% of the default battle size of 300 for these, which is 180
         OP_THRESHOLD = 180;
         OP_LOW_THRESHOLD = 90;
         OP_ALL_LOW_THRESHOLD = 60;
//         OP_THRESHOLD = 150;
//         OP_LOW_THRESHOLD = 75;
//         OP_ALL_LOW_THRESHOLD = 50;
         
         
         PHASE_OP_THRESHOLD = 30;
         MILITARIZED_OP_THRESHOLD = 5;
         AUTOMATED_POINTS_THRESHOLD = 30;
      }
   }
   
[close]
of course, this file is not the code executed in the game but a clever modder might find a way to make it work

where is this, ive been struggling to find anything like this
Logged

Midnight Kitsune

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2849
  • Your Friendly Forum Friend
    • View Profile
Re: The AI skill...
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2021, 06:55:15 PM »

My question is this, does anyone know how to remove the cap?

something, something... maybe relevant to look at "com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.skills.BaseSkillEffectDescription.java"
Spoiler
   static {
      if (USE_RECOVERY_COST) {
         // working off 60% of the default battle size of 300 for these, which is 180
         OP_THRESHOLD = 180;
         OP_LOW_THRESHOLD = 90;
         OP_ALL_LOW_THRESHOLD = 60;
//         OP_THRESHOLD = 150;
//         OP_LOW_THRESHOLD = 75;
//         OP_ALL_LOW_THRESHOLD = 50;
         
         
         PHASE_OP_THRESHOLD = 30;
         MILITARIZED_OP_THRESHOLD = 5;
         AUTOMATED_POINTS_THRESHOLD = 30;
      }
   }
   
[close]
of course, this file is not the code executed in the game but a clever modder might find a way to make it work

where is this, ive been struggling to find anything like this
This is in the compiled java code/ API. It isn't in the "Loose files" like much of the game sadly
Logged
Help out MesoTroniK, a modder in need

2021 is 2020 won
2022 is 2020 too

sector_terror

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
    • View Profile
Re: The AI skill...
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2021, 01:41:32 AM »

My question is this, does anyone know how to remove the cap?

something, something... maybe relevant to look at "com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.skills.BaseSkillEffectDescription.java"
Spoiler
   static {
      if (USE_RECOVERY_COST) {
         // working off 60% of the default battle size of 300 for these, which is 180
         OP_THRESHOLD = 180;
         OP_LOW_THRESHOLD = 90;
         OP_ALL_LOW_THRESHOLD = 60;
//         OP_THRESHOLD = 150;
//         OP_LOW_THRESHOLD = 75;
//         OP_ALL_LOW_THRESHOLD = 50;
         
         
         PHASE_OP_THRESHOLD = 30;
         MILITARIZED_OP_THRESHOLD = 5;
         AUTOMATED_POINTS_THRESHOLD = 30;
      }
   }
   
[close]
of course, this file is not the code executed in the game but a clever modder might find a way to make it work

where is this, ive been struggling to find anything like this
This is in the compiled java code/ API. It isn't in the "Loose files" like much of the game sadly

That's unfortunate. Because unless Alex entirely removes those limits or at least makes them significantly higher, there isn't much of a point. I'd rather the option to get a third built-in slot on every ship far before a tiny % of my fleet be [redacted] ships.
Logged

Histidine

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 4778
    • View Profile
    • GitHub profile
Re: The AI skill...
« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2021, 01:51:43 AM »

For any modders poking this: You don't need to change the base skill effect class, just have an external script change the AUTOMATED_POINTS_THRESHOLD value (it's public static)
Logged

sector_terror

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
    • View Profile
Re: The AI skill...
« Reply #6 on: March 29, 2021, 02:45:21 PM »

For any modders poking this: You don't need to change the base skill effect class, just have an external script change the AUTOMATED_POINTS_THRESHOLD value (it's public static)

that's actually good to know. It means that every issue I have with this and the other fleet limit skills(bar leadership teir 1, but that's a bigger issue) is dirt easy to fix. Increasing the number to 10k would make the limits vanish as well if thats a direction you wanted to go. I might look into that myself.
Logged

Lord Heart Night

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Re: The AI skill...
« Reply #7 on: March 29, 2021, 03:17:18 PM »

Hell, id have a go and change it but i have no idea what im doing

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: March 29, 2021, 03:19:46 PM by Lord Heart Night »
Logged

Wyvern

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 3808
    • View Profile
Re: The AI skill...
« Reply #8 on: March 29, 2021, 03:36:42 PM »

Mm. I mean, the Radiant is certainly the meme option here - but I'm planning on grabbing this skill and just seeing how well adding some explorarium ships with gamma cores works out.

The limit's probably still too low - at 30 it feels like this should be just something you can do rather than something that's in competition for the tier five technology skill slot - but I feel like this is a skill that's just made to synergize with Derelict Contingent...
Logged
Wyvern is 100% correct about the math.

Lord Heart Night

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Re: The AI skill...
« Reply #9 on: March 30, 2021, 12:50:40 AM »

Mm. I mean, the Radiant is certainly the meme option here - but I'm planning on grabbing this skill and just seeing how well adding some explorarium ships with gamma cores works out.

The limit's probably still too low - at 30 it feels like this should be just something you can do rather than something that's in competition for the tier five technology skill slot - but I feel like this is a skill that's just made to synergize with Derelict Contingent...

The derelict contingent specifies ships with officers. Now does that include ships with cores in, i dont know but it might be worth a poke at.

Still, i want to play with my damned [Redacted] and play as a remnant faction...
Also, anyone thought about making such a mod faction?

Edit: Ive tested and any core added to the AI ship benefits from the derelict contingent skill, shame you cant add d-mods...

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: March 30, 2021, 01:20:00 AM by Lord Heart Night »
Logged

Kentington

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: The AI skill...
« Reply #10 on: March 30, 2021, 06:20:00 AM »

I took a crack at rebalancing this. Check out Adjustable Automated Ships - the new limit is set to 50 by default, just enough to deploy a single Radiant battleship commanded by an alpha core, but can be freely adjusted in a json file.

Megas

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 12237
    • View Profile
Re: The AI skill...
« Reply #11 on: March 30, 2021, 07:35:55 AM »

I took a crack at rebalancing this. Check out Adjustable Automated Ships - the new limit is set to 50 by default, just enough to deploy a single Radiant battleship commanded by an alpha core, but can be freely adjusted in a json file.
Do not forget about human ships piloted by a core instead of crew...
Logged

TaLaR

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2809
    • View Profile
Re: The AI skill...
« Reply #12 on: March 30, 2021, 08:13:53 AM »

Do not forget about human ships piloted by a core instead of crew...

...Right, this may actually be the correct way of using the skill.
Beside Radiant, which would end up with very low CR, other Remnants ships aren't anything special anyway. While raw officer quantity/quality advantage matters quite a lot. And it's not a permanent skill too.
« Last Edit: March 30, 2021, 08:21:04 AM by TaLaR »
Logged

Megas

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 12237
    • View Profile
Re: The AI skill...
« Reply #13 on: March 30, 2021, 08:18:11 AM »

Do not forget about human ships piloted by a core instead of crew...

...Right, this may actually be the correct way of using the skill.
Actually, is this even possible?  I tried to install a core into a Falcon after getting Automated Ships, but could not figure out how to do it.  The blog may have be misleading about installing cores into a ship.  I understood that to mean any ship, but it may be limited to ships that were built automated to begin with.
Logged

TaLaR

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2809
    • View Profile
Re: The AI skill...
« Reply #14 on: March 30, 2021, 08:22:32 AM »

Actually, is this even possible?  I tried to install a core into a Falcon after getting Automated Ships, but could not figure out how to do it.  The blog may have be misleading about installing cores into a ship.  I understood that to mean any ship, but it may be limited to ships that were built automated to begin with.

Well, that's something to try at least... Can't at the moment.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2