Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.95a is out! (03/26/21); Blog post: Skill Changes, Part 2 (07/15/21)

Author Topic: Menu turns black at 3440x1440  (Read 366 times)

Gothars

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 4288
  • Eschewing obfuscatory verbosity.
    • View Profile
Menu turns black at 3440x1440
« on: November 08, 2020, 04:06:26 PM »

When I start the game, I see the loading bar for a few seconds, then the screen turns black. When I alt-tab out of the game and enter it again, one of two things happens: either it is still black, or the menu shows up  for a few seconds and then the screen turns black. When I try it in windowed mode, it also turns black, but when I put it in the background behind some other window it freezes without turning black.

I tried:

- Reinstalling
- Vsync on/off
- fps 60/100
- alwaysUndecoratedAtFullscreen":true/false

My System:

- Win 10 clean install
- Ryzen 3600
- GTX 1660 Super (current drivers)
- 3440x1440 100Hz Monitor (DP)


I also tried running it at a lower resolution in a window, that fixed the issue. On my old computer in ran in 3440x1440 no problem, though (at 60Hz, HDMI).

Ideas?


Logged
The game was completed 8 years ago and we get a free expansion every year.

Arranging holidays in an embrace with the Starsector is priceless.

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 18894
    • View Profile
Re: Menu turns black at 3440x1440
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2020, 04:21:09 PM »

Hmm, argh! I'd say try the usual suspects - running in admin mode, compatibility mode for windows 95.

Have you tried it both with fullscreen checked and not checked? And, assuming, you've tried rebooting?

Also, messing with 3D settings in the nvidia control panel may be worth a try, though it's hard to say what specifically.

This thread may also be worth a look:
http://fractalsoftworks.com/forum/index.php?topic=19034.msg296949#msg296949

Someone also mentioned recently that reinstalling the graphics drivers via the GeForce experience app fixed a problem for them, though it was a different one, so that might be worth a shot, too.
http://fractalsoftworks.com/forum/index.php?topic=19369.0
Logged

Gothars

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 4288
  • Eschewing obfuscatory verbosity.
    • View Profile
Re: Menu turns black at 3440x1440
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2020, 09:21:53 AM »

Hu - running it in admin mode fixed it. I don't quite trust the peace yet, will report back if it starts misbehaving again.
Logged
The game was completed 8 years ago and we get a free expansion every year.

Arranging holidays in an embrace with the Starsector is priceless.

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 18894
    • View Profile
Re: Menu turns black at 3440x1440
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2020, 09:47:55 AM »

Huh - well, there's a reason the usual suspects are the usual suspects! I'd love to know why running as admin helps in a case quite like this, though.
Logged

Gothars

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 4288
  • Eschewing obfuscatory verbosity.
    • View Profile
Re: Menu turns black at 3440x1440
« Reply #4 on: November 10, 2020, 06:27:45 AM »

By now im pretty sure it has nothing to do with Admin mode, it just sometimes works and most of the times not, even in one session if I tab out. But I turned off G-sync yesterday, I think that did it. Some synchonization mishap, that might explain why it takes a few seconds to freeze. I don't have the time to properly test it atm, though.
Logged
The game was completed 8 years ago and we get a free expansion every year.

Arranging holidays in an embrace with the Starsector is priceless.

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 18894
    • View Profile
Re: Menu turns black at 3440x1440
« Reply #5 on: November 10, 2020, 09:01:07 AM »

Yeah, that sounds more plausible than admin mode for this sort of thing, for sure.
Logged