Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.95a is out! (03/26/21); Blog post: Skill Changes, Part 2 (07/15/21)

Author Topic: Constant pirate raids  (Read 1654 times)

ReadMyNameOut

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Constant pirate raids
« on: September 04, 2020, 11:56:41 PM »

First thread lets go!

I rushed a colony, and now pirates come knocking at the door every single minute. I know I should probably scrap the colony, however, it's such a good planet and I don't want to waste all my time. Is there any way, with or without mods/commands, to disable pirate raids?
I'm not looking for the "get good" advice. I just want to have fun with my save file. It's my first file, and I would like to learn the game at my own pace. Thanks in advance!
Logged

Serenitis

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1146
    • View Profile
Re: Constant pirate raids
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2020, 02:52:21 AM »

Firstly, build a station. As your #1 priority. That will help you to defend the colony.
Then build a patrol HQ, which will create tiny fleets that go out and capture/create infrastructure at stable points.

Your next big priority should be growing your colony to unlock another industry slot, and use that to upgrade your patrol HQ into a military base.
This will create actually useful fleets which will help to defend the colony.
Together with the station this will be able to handle most of the colony's defence needs. For now.

If you keep getting raided, you'll need to find where the raiders are coming from.
Maybe there's some unsavoury types hanging around in dispreputable places on your colony that you can extract information from.
Once you know where they are, go and destroy thier base. That will give you some peace.
For a while anyway...
Logged

Havoc

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Re: Constant pirate raids
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2020, 03:54:11 AM »

you could also increase faction relations to pirates with "console commands" mod

something like this
https://fractalsoftworks.com/forum/index.php?topic=16930.0


you could also save your world seed and start an new game (same planets would be there)
try to be friendly with pirates
it is really hard, you have to avoid fights with pirates
Logged

Megas

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 9528
    • View Profile
Re: Constant pirate raids
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2020, 05:46:13 AM »

If the only raider fleets attacking your colony are pirates from -1/-10% bases, then orbital station and some ground defenses will be enough to stop them.  Patrol HQ is useful for securing relays and little else.  HQ should be upgraded to Military Base at size 4, when player gets second industry.
Logged

SCC

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 3075
    • View Profile
Re: Constant pirate raids
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2020, 09:55:40 AM »

I wonder if increasing the "noPirateRaidDays" value to something like 9999 would work well enough for your purposes. You change the value by going to Starsector\starsector-core\data\config directory, opening the "settings.json" file and changing that value there (it's easiest to search for it).

Mondaymonkey

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 777
    • View Profile
Re: Constant pirate raids
« Reply #5 on: September 05, 2020, 10:41:56 AM »

I wonder if increasing the "noPirateRaidDays" value to something like 9999 would work well enough for your purposes. You change the value by going to Starsector\starsector-core\data\config directory, opening the "settings.json" file and changing that value there (it's easiest to search for it).

IIRC "noPirateRaidDays" can not change player-related pirate base raids. So, no, it won't help much.

Someone please made a "no raids" mod. Separate from Vayra, I mean.
Logged
I dislike human beings... or I just do not know how to cook them well.

Histidine

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 3352
    • View Profile
    • Bitbucket profile
    • Email
Re: Constant pirate raids
« Reply #6 on: September 05, 2020, 06:57:25 PM »

Note that there's currently a bug where if a pirate raid is successful, the originating base can launch another raid immediately, instead of after a few months like it's supposed to.
Logged

Megas

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 9528
    • View Profile
Re: Constant pirate raids
« Reply #7 on: September 06, 2020, 07:03:04 AM »

Note that there's currently a bug where if a pirate raid is successful, the originating base can launch another raid immediately, instead of after a few months like it's supposed to.
Even a few months does not feel like enough time, when there are multiple (respawning) pirate bases to deal with.  Hence, whack-a-mole pirates.  Pathers on top of that would be even worse without the Pather bug, despite the one year reprieve after Pather bases get smashed.
Logged

Mondaymonkey

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 777
    • View Profile
Re: Constant pirate raids
« Reply #8 on: September 06, 2020, 07:35:53 AM »

Pathers on top of that would be even worse without the Pather bug, despite the one year reprieve after Pather bases get smashed.

Code: You can always turn them off
	"minInterestForPatherCells":9999,

Logged
I dislike human beings... or I just do not know how to cook them well.

Megas

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 9528
    • View Profile
Re: Constant pirate raids
« Reply #9 on: September 06, 2020, 08:31:10 AM »

I am not interested in cheating the game like that.
Logged

Mondaymonkey

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 777
    • View Profile
Re: Constant pirate raids
« Reply #10 on: September 06, 2020, 09:50:19 AM »

I am not interested in cheating the game like that.

Some words, I shouldn't say.
I will try to be extremely polite, even if it is not easy.

Computer games are made for millions of users, not for a single person. Naturally, everyone has different tastes and someone may not like something. For example, I believe that you sir, do not like spending most of the time for hunting pirates/pathers and probably find the current system annoying. Otherwise, you would not leave the same plaintive comments in every suitable (and not so) thread. And it's great, it means you know exactly what you want from the game.

In this case, each player has a choice: or silently accept or tweak your version of the game for the greatest satisfaction. If you choose the former, please stop whining about "whack-a-moling". If you choose the latter, no one will judge you, it is not for nothing that they say that "there is no such thing as cheating in a single-player game."

But if you don't want to choose... This could mean that you want the game to be changed by the developer exactly for you, which means that your opinion is more significant than that of many of those who are satisfied with the current situation. And this is just graceless.

This does not mean that your opinion is not important, on the contrary, it is very important, especially given the fact that many other players share it. The point is, it doesn't matter how loudly you express your position, because you have only one voice, and I believe it has already been taken into account.
[close]

P.S. If you does not interesting in "cheating" that way, I can propose to "cheat" in other way:

   "minLPBases":1,
   "maxLPBases":1,
   "patherCellDisruptionDuration":1095,
Logged
I dislike human beings... or I just do not know how to cook them well.

Megas

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 9528
    • View Profile
Re: Constant pirate raids
« Reply #11 on: September 06, 2020, 10:12:06 AM »

What I meant was I do not want to mod the game by changing the settings.json*.  If I am willing to mod the game with settings.json alterations and chicanery, then I would change much more than a few minor tweaks in the file to turn my character into an overpowered god because that is what I like to play.  But cheating to get that defeats the point of the game.

* I make an exception for combat speed - 1f to 2f because 1f speed is unbearably slo-mo (even when framerate is not slowed), even 2f is a bit on the slow side, but 2f is the highest speed I can play at without sacrificing fidelity.  (If I did not care about fidelity, I would raise combat speed to 3f.)  I wish doubling the combat speed (to 2f) was in the in-game settings like battlemap size.
Logged