Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.95a is out! (03/26/21); Blog post: Of Slipstreams and Sensor Ghosts (09/24/21)

Author Topic: (Solved?) Persistent Freezing in Modded Starsector  (Read 640 times)

Peritum

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Email
(Solved?) Persistent Freezing in Modded Starsector
« on: September 02, 2020, 12:13:50 PM »

Starting within the last week (no updates made to game files or mod files since last time playing without freezes) the game unexpectedly freezes and reports as non responsive needing to be closed and restarted. I've modified my game to allocate (at least what I think is 12gb of ram?) 12gb of ram (I've modified the line to be -Xms12288m -Xmx12288m in case thats whats screwing with my game)

My computer has 32gb's of ram installed, 2019 model, and I can't think of any other potentially useful information except maybe the event viewer log? Here's the recorded error that caused the crash in case this helps:
-----
Log Name:      Application
Source:        Application Hang
Date:          9/2/2020 2:55:46 PM
Event ID:      1002
Task Category: (101)
Level:         Error
Keywords:      Classic
User:          N/A
Computer:      DESKTOP-HVR2KLP
Description:
The program java.exe version 7.0.790.15 stopped interacting with Windows and was closed. To see if more information about the problem is available, check the problem history in the Security and Maintenance control panel.
 Process ID: 2bb0
 Start Time: 01d6814a1d53851f
 Termination Time: 136
 Application Path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Fractal Softworks\Starsector\jre\bin\java.exe
 Report Id: 3a392bae-68f6-4c98-9bb0-5d1aa589d8fa
 Faulting package full name:
 Faulting package-relative application ID:
 Hang type: Unknown

Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
  <System>
    <Provider Name="Application Hang" />
    <EventID Qualifiers="0">1002</EventID>
    <Level>2</Level>
    <Task>101</Task>
    <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2020-09-02T18:55:46.583650200Z" />
    <EventRecordID>12749</EventRecordID>
    <Channel>Application</Channel>
    <Computer>DESKTOP-HVR2KLP</Computer>
    <Security />
  </System>
  <EventData>
    <Data>java.exe</Data>
    <Data>7.0.790.15</Data>
    <Data>2bb0</Data>
    <Data>01d6814a1d53851f</Data>
    <Data>136</Data>
    <Data>C:\Program Files (x86)\Fractal Softworks\Starsector\jre\bin\java.exe</Data>
    <Data>3a392bae-68f6-4c98-9bb0-5d1aa589d8fa</Data>
    <Data>
    </Data>
    <Data>
    </Data>
    <Data>Unknown</Data>
    <Binary>55006E006B006E006F0077006E0000000000</Binary>
  </EventData>
</Event>
-----
Oh as far as mods are concerned, the answer to what mods I have installed the answer is 'yes'
I have pretty much every single up to date faction mod installed all mashed together with Nexerillin.

Any help would be helpful, I need my space piracy fix
« Last Edit: September 03, 2020, 02:00:27 PM by Peritum »
Logged

Nick XR

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 523
    • View Profile
Re: Persistent Freezing in Modded Starsector
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2020, 02:40:08 PM »

Can you try running the game from the command-line .bat file?  When the game freezes, hit "CTRL+BREAK" and it should dump a bunch of information to the screen.  Copy that information and post it here.

Peritum

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Persistent Freezing in Modded Starsector
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2020, 04:07:15 PM »

Can you try running the game from the command-line .bat file?  When the game freezes, hit "CTRL+BREAK" and it should dump a bunch of information to the screen.  Copy that information and post it here.

can you give me a brief walkthrough on that? By command line you mean WIN+R and then...? And another dumb question, what do you mean by BREAK? Is that pausebreak because unfortunately the laptop I have at college with me isn't fitted with a pausebreak key thingy. Sorry for dumb questions, thanks so much for helping!
Logged

Nick XR

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 523
    • View Profile
Re: Persistent Freezing in Modded Starsector
« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2020, 04:23:03 PM »

You're on the right track
WIN+R
'cmd' in the box, hit enter
navigate to Starsector and find the .bat file that starts it (can't check the exact one now)
Once the game locks up, if you set focus to the black & white command widow and hit CTRL+BREAK it'll dump the state of all threads and we can see what it's stuck doing.

Sorry this is a bit technical.  Since you don't have a BREAK key on your keyboard there might be an on-screen one you could try, but it seems the windows 10 one doesn't have one :(

Peritum

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Persistent Freezing in Modded Starsector
« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2020, 05:26:09 PM »

You're on the right track
WIN+R
'cmd' in the box, hit enter
navigate to Starsector and find the .bat file that starts it (can't check the exact one now)
Once the game locks up, if you set focus to the black & white command widow and hit CTRL+BREAK it'll dump the state of all threads and we can see what it's stuck doing.

Sorry this is a bit technical.  Since you don't have a BREAK key on your keyboard there might be an on-screen one you could try, but it seems the windows 10 one doesn't have one :(

Okay, so like always, I got the freeze after launching from the command line. So I tried finding alternatives to CTRL+BREAK I could use, and one of them might have worked? But I have no idea where it would have created a dump file...? Anyways I figured I may as well take screencaps of the last few lines in the command line if it helps. It's mostly Nexerillin Diplomacy stuff as far as I can see. So...

If it helps?
https://gyazo.com/cd5a932651333592ab2c5a7779298c3e
https://gyazo.com/3ce3bc0e44d4a9172ca724b92b08fc4d

This is a mystery, hoping I wont have to reinstall because I have a lottttttt of mods installed and not nearly enough time. Thanks again
Logged

Histidine

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 3382
    • View Profile
    • Bitbucket profile
    • Email
Re: Persistent Freezing in Modded Starsector
« Reply #5 on: September 02, 2020, 05:47:55 PM »

I've been told that allocating more than 8 GB of RAM is wholly unsupported; go above 6 GB only if you need to.
Logged

Peritum

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Persistent Freezing in Modded Starsector
« Reply #6 on: September 03, 2020, 05:42:21 AM »

I've been told that allocating more than 8 GB of RAM is wholly unsupported; go above 6 GB only if you need to.

I'll give allocating less RAM a shot, I'll try and get back to you later in the day whether or not that does anything, thanks for the suggestion, much appreciated!
Logged

Peritum

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Persistent Freezing in Modded Starsector
« Reply #7 on: September 03, 2020, 02:00:12 PM »

I've been told that allocating more than 8 GB of RAM is wholly unsupported; go above 6 GB only if you need to.

It seems that your suggestion solved my issue(?), I've been playing without issue for about an hour now.
Thank you man, now I can commit acts of space piracy hassle free

unless of course this is just a false alarm and a crash is lurking just around the corner,
but fingers crossed right?
Thank you again guys.
Logged