Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.97a is out! (02/02/24); New blog post: Codex Overhaul (05/11/24)

Pages: 1 ... 36 37 [38] 39 40 ... 112

Author Topic: [0.97a] Arma Armatura v3.0.6 BETA [4/3/24]  (Read 697112 times)

OperaWolf

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Arma Armatura 1.5.2e (9/16/2021)
« Reply #555 on: January 11, 2022, 10:33:58 PM »

Quote
78167 [Thread-3] ERROR com.fs.starfarer.combat.CombatMain  - java.lang.NullPointerException
java.lang.NullPointerException
   at data.hullmods.cataphract.addPostDescriptionSection(cataphract.java:140)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.impl.StandardTooltipV2$12.createImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.impl.StandardTooltipV2Expandable.create(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.impl.StandardTooltipV2Expandable.beforeShown(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.Q.showTooltip(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.ooOo.super.new(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.ooOo.processInput(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.Q.processInput(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.dispatchEventsToChildren(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.Q.processInput(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.e$Oo.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.Q.processInput(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.dispatchEventsToChildren(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.e.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.Q.processInput(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.dispatchEventsToChildren(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.Q.processInput(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.dispatchEventsToChildren(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.coreui.refit.ModWidget.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.Q.processInput(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.dispatchEventsToChildren(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.Q.processInput(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.dispatchEventsToChildren(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.Q.processInput(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.dispatchEventsToChildren(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.coreui.refit.F.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.Q.processInput(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.dispatchEventsToChildren(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.newui.o0OO.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.Q.processInput(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.dispatchEventsToChildren(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.N.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.newui.OO0O.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.Q.processInput(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.dispatchEventsToChildren(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.Q.processInput(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.campaign.CampaignState.processInput(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.BaseGameState.traverse(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.state.AppDriver.begin(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.combat.CombatMain.main(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.StarfarerLauncher.o00000(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.StarfarerLauncher$1.run(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

Game crashes to desktop when mousing over the "Cataphract LSM" hull mod icon in the refit menu on the Aleste (S) Class Cataphract. Looks like it's trying to pull the tooltip but can't and just dumps. Pretty funny one, honestly. Not often you get a reproducible CTD just from moving your mouse cursor somewhere. I laughed when I checked the error log.
Logged

Pep

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Arma Armatura 1.5.2e (9/16/2021)
« Reply #556 on: January 12, 2022, 01:29:16 AM »

How feasible is it to make a fully customizable mech? I skimmed thru the discussion earlier and it sounds like a lot of work tbh. I guess in the long term it would be a cool feature, as rn armaa has probably my fave amount of customization in terms of mech stuff (not like there’s many options lol) but having some kind of added unit that is like…a stock frame that you can swap out the looks and weaponry of? Even if it is possible feels like it’s be a headache because you’d need to have like a dozen hullmods for each permutation
Logged

shoi

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 660
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Arma Armatura 1.5.2e (9/16/2021)
« Reply #557 on: January 12, 2022, 08:57:25 AM »

Quote
78167 [Thread-3] ERROR com.fs.starfarer.combat.CombatMain  - java.lang.NullPointerException
java.lang.NullPointerException
   at data.hullmods.cataphract.addPostDescriptionSection(cataphract.java:140)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.impl.StandardTooltipV2$12.createImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.impl.StandardTooltipV2Expandable.create(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.impl.StandardTooltipV2Expandable.beforeShown(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.Q.showTooltip(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.ooOo.super.new(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.ooOo.processInput(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.Q.processInput(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.dispatchEventsToChildren(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.Q.processInput(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.e$Oo.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.Q.processInput(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.dispatchEventsToChildren(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.e.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.Q.processInput(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.dispatchEventsToChildren(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.Q.processInput(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.dispatchEventsToChildren(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.coreui.refit.ModWidget.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.Q.processInput(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.dispatchEventsToChildren(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.Q.processInput(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.dispatchEventsToChildren(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.Q.processInput(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.dispatchEventsToChildren(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.coreui.refit.F.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.Q.processInput(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.dispatchEventsToChildren(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.newui.o0OO.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.Q.processInput(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.dispatchEventsToChildren(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.N.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.newui.OO0O.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.Q.processInput(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.dispatchEventsToChildren(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.v.processInputImpl(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.ui.Q.processInput(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.campaign.CampaignState.processInput(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.BaseGameState.traverse(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.state.AppDriver.begin(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.combat.CombatMain.main(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.StarfarerLauncher.o00000(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.StarfarerLauncher$1.run(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

Game crashes to desktop when mousing over the "Cataphract LSM" hull mod icon in the refit menu on the Aleste (S) Class Cataphract. Looks like it's trying to pull the tooltip but can't and just dumps. Pretty funny one, honestly. Not often you get a reproducible CTD just from moving your mouse cursor somewhere. I laughed when I checked the error log.

Ya, sorry 'bout that. Fixed long ago in dev. This jar might fix it among a few other bugs, but I would back up your current one in case you want to try it out.

Thanks for the feedback, btw. I'll probably do something like increase the cooldown on the Garrega's system


Looks good!

Don't worry/stress about adding in any of the stuff we've been brainstorming about. We're just "talking shop".

That being said, I recall you discussing making a guide on using your framework for adding in mechs. Maybe some folks can make some add-ons for the Arma mod, and take some work load off your shoulders.

It'd be pretty easy to dump every single weapon that can be swapped onto a single mech and let people go wild wth that, but changing visual components might be a bit harder (while they're just weapons too after all, so the only real thing you need to be concerned about is telling the game how to make them available via the swapping hullmod, some of them aren't just simply the weapon - as part of the shoulder recoil effect, they also have the mechs arm as a part of the script, which obviously would cause problems if that arm doesn't match with the rest of things) That'll probably be something I really look into for the update after this one. I know I was looking at the weapon swapping code and how I could add other stuff to it dynamically without breaking the way it works (right now it uses key/value pairs of map to determine what to swap to) there's probably a trivial solution

so any idea when the next patch might be coming ?

cuz I can't help but feel like someone's gonna bring up the "Soon™" memes

Soon™er

It's undergoing playtesting atm to hopefully catch any egregious outliers on the new mech and the revised LPCs (Kouto, Aleste, and Valken-X all received changes to give them clear roles/niches)

Besides that, i'm playing around with some other things in regards to the strikecraft hullmod like changing how they deploy (from carriers if applicable, otherwise using the default travel burn) and possibly expanding wingcom to be modular..and there's some campaign layer stuff I need to make a decision on.
« Last Edit: January 12, 2022, 08:59:17 AM by shoi »
Logged

Grizzlyadamz

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Arma Armatura 1.5.2e (9/16/2021)
« Reply #558 on: January 12, 2022, 12:50:37 PM »

This mod is extremely cool, thanks for sharing!
Logged

OperaWolf

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Arma Armatura 1.5.2e (9/16/2021)
« Reply #559 on: January 12, 2022, 01:53:55 PM »

Ya, sorry 'bout that. Fixed long ago in dev. This jar might fix it among a few other bugs, but I would back up your current one in case you want to try it out.

Hey, no problem. Coding is its own magical beast. Like playing Telephone with a very stubborn robot, where the end goal is to paint a nice picture. And sometimes gravity inverts if you don't put a lightbulb in the corner. The light doesn't have to be on, or even visible or plugged into anything. But if you don't have the lightbulb, gravity inverts. You hate it, I hate it, but if life is kind someone before you left documentation about why a random lightbulb is there and what it does.

With regards to modular weapons/shoulders, is it possible to have the body be the "ship" and both the arms/shoulders and the guns be combined, modular "turrets" that are then swapped around? I ask because if matching recoil patterns is a problem, a solution might be to simply build the arms and weapons as one piece that gets plugged into the body (though the end user would likely never notice that the arms are being swapped; visually only the guns would change), so you'd only have to match the recoil animation to the arm the gun model belongs to, instead of trying to set the arms to work with every recoil pattern.
Logged

Space_Lettuce_OG

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Arma Armatura 1.5.2e (9/16/2021)
« Reply #560 on: January 12, 2022, 04:24:29 PM »

It's weirdly fun to have your officers in them. For some reason it feels more...interesting? Personal? than just having them command a starship.

I do the same thing with my officers, and I call them pilots when they're in a mech.
Have to increase the officer limit to properly do this though.
Logged

AppleMarineXX

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Arma Armatura 1.5.2e (9/16/2021)
« Reply #561 on: January 12, 2022, 04:58:21 PM »

The 69 OP cost on the Altagrave's Grenade Launcher has interesting synergy with Ordinance Expertise. Very interesting.

Killsode

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 434
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Arma Armatura 1.5.2e (9/16/2021)
« Reply #562 on: January 13, 2022, 04:07:15 AM »

The 69 OP cost on the Altagrave's Grenade Launcher has interesting synergy with Ordinance Expertise. Very interesting.

Oh, thats why my Altragrave [G] has such godly shields
NEVERMIND ACTUALLY, i just went and checked and it appears built in weapons dont count! i wonder if it actually checks based on how much OP cost it specifically cost to mount in that instance, rather than how much the weapon normally costs
PS. eagerly awaiting the update
« Last Edit: January 13, 2022, 04:11:29 AM by Killsode »
Logged

shoi

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 660
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Arma Armatura 1.5.2e (9/16/2021)
« Reply #563 on: January 14, 2022, 06:30:25 PM »

Ya, sorry 'bout that. Fixed long ago in dev. This jar might fix it among a few other bugs, but I would back up your current one in case you want to try it out.

Hey, no problem. Coding is its own magical beast. Like playing Telephone with a very stubborn robot, where the end goal is to paint a nice picture. And sometimes gravity inverts if you don't put a lightbulb in the corner. The light doesn't have to be on, or even visible or plugged into anything. But if you don't have the lightbulb, gravity inverts. You hate it, I hate it, but if life is kind someone before you left documentation about why a random lightbulb is there and what it does.

With regards to modular weapons/shoulders, is it possible to have the body be the "ship" and both the arms/shoulders and the guns be combined, modular "turrets" that are then swapped around? I ask because if matching recoil patterns is a problem, a solution might be to simply build the arms and weapons as one piece that gets plugged into the body (though the end user would likely never notice that the arms are being swapped; visually only the guns would change), so you'd only have to match the recoil animation to the arm the gun model belongs to, instead of trying to set the arms to work with every recoil pattern.

I might be misunderstanding, but that's how it works now. Shoulders are seperated but they mirror the recoil of the arm weapon, which graphically is arm + gun. the actual ship isn't visible, as the "torso" you see is in game terms a decorative turret (sometimes an actual weapon)

In other news, you can now rename your squadrons and pilots (to a degree)! WOW!
Logged

OperaWolf

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Arma Armatura 1.5.2e (9/16/2021)
« Reply #564 on: January 15, 2022, 06:59:04 PM »

I might be misunderstanding, but that's how it works now. Shoulders are seperated but they mirror the recoil of the arm weapon, which graphically is arm + gun. the actual ship isn't visible, as the "torso" you see is in game terms a decorative turret (sometimes an actual weapon)

Sounds like I misunderstood, not you! I was referencing this:

Quote
It'd be pretty easy to dump every single weapon that can be swapped onto a single mech and let people go wild wth that, but changing visual components might be a bit harder (while they're just weapons too after all, so the only real thing you need to be concerned about is telling the game how to make them available via the swapping hullmod, some of them aren't just simply the weapon - as part of the shoulder recoil effect, they also have the mechs arm as a part of the script, which obviously would cause problems if that arm doesn't match with the rest of things)

Reading it a second time I see what you're saying now.
Logged

OperaWolf

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Arma Armatura 1.5.2e (9/16/2021)
« Reply #565 on: January 16, 2022, 02:48:26 PM »

Tried out the .jar you linked, wanted to give a short update on it. All of this is done on an in-progress save.

1) It did fix the issue with the Aleste (S) tooltip.

2) Not sure if this was something left over from before I installed the .jar or not since I never used one, but trying to put the Altgrave and its variants into combat/simulator causes a CTD. Error log below:

Quote
313859 [Thread-3] ERROR com.fs.starfarer.combat.CombatMain  - java.lang.NullPointerException
java.lang.NullPointerException
   at data.scripts.weapons.armaa_altagraveEffect.advance(armaa_altagraveEffect.java:252)
   at com.fs.starfarer.combat.entities.ship.A.void.advance(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.combat.entities.Ship.advance(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.combat.CombatEngine.advanceInner(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.combat.CombatEngine.advance(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.combat.CombatState.traverse(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.state.AppDriver.begin(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.combat.CombatMain.main(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.StarfarerLauncher.o00000(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.StarfarerLauncher$1.run(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
Logged

AppleMarineXX

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Arma Armatura 1.5.2e (9/16/2021)
« Reply #566 on: January 16, 2022, 05:19:30 PM »

Ya, sorry 'bout that. Fixed long ago in dev. This jar might fix it among a few other bugs, but I would back up your current one in case you want to try it out.

Hey, no problem. Coding is its own magical beast. Like playing Telephone with a very stubborn robot, where the end goal is to paint a nice picture. And sometimes gravity inverts if you don't put a lightbulb in the corner. The light doesn't have to be on, or even visible or plugged into anything. But if you don't have the lightbulb, gravity inverts. You hate it, I hate it, but if life is kind someone before you left documentation about why a random lightbulb is there and what it does.

With regards to modular weapons/shoulders, is it possible to have the body be the "ship" and both the arms/shoulders and the guns be combined, modular "turrets" that are then swapped around? I ask because if matching recoil patterns is a problem, a solution might be to simply build the arms and weapons as one piece that gets plugged into the body (though the end user would likely never notice that the arms are being swapped; visually only the guns would change), so you'd only have to match the recoil animation to the arm the gun model belongs to, instead of trying to set the arms to work with every recoil pattern.

I might be misunderstanding, but that's how it works now. Shoulders are seperated but they mirror the recoil of the arm weapon, which graphically is arm + gun. the actual ship isn't visible, as the "torso" you see is in game terms a decorative turret (sometimes an actual weapon)

In other news, you can now rename your squadrons and pilots (to a degree)! WOW!


Whoa, how'd you get that squadron thing to show up?

Chronia

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Arma Armatura 1.5.2e (9/16/2021)
« Reply #567 on: January 17, 2022, 12:59:18 PM »

Whoa, how'd you get that squadron thing to show up?

You're replying to the mod developer - that seems to be a screenshot of work in progress that hasn't been released yet.
Logged

hydremajor

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 461
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Arma Armatura 1.5.2e (9/16/2021)
« Reply #568 on: January 18, 2022, 01:53:32 AM »

Whoa, how'd you get that squadron thing to show up?

You're replying to the mod developer - that seems to be a screenshot of work in progress that hasn't been released yet.

Maybe he's asking about what kinda code he used ?
Logged

shoi

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 660
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Arma Armatura 1.5.2e (9/16/2021)
« Reply #569 on: January 18, 2022, 07:44:14 AM »

Code-wise, it's more or less a chopped up version of Nexerelin's Insurance Intel GUI (tremendously helpful in getting this going)with methods borrowed from the king of UIs, StelNet


Text input fields are a relatively new addition to the API which was the missing link needed to to tie everything together(Which I think Jag also asked for), and after that a portrait selector was pretty straightforward. This is good enough for its intended purpose(for now), I think.
« Last Edit: January 18, 2022, 08:05:16 AM by shoi »
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 36 37 [38] 39 40 ... 112