Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.95a is out! (03/26/21)

Poll

Do you prefer to use level cap increase mods in 0.95a?

Yes
- 13 (72.2%)
No
- 5 (27.8%)

Total Members Voted: 18


Author Topic: Do you use level cap increase mods?  (Read 159 times)

ofasia

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Do you use level cap increase mods?
« on: April 15, 2021, 06:44:03 AM »

Obviously there's probably a lot of "in between" and "it depends", me included, but asking a general rule of thumb if you prefer to play with or without them. Specifically in 0.95a. And if you want to elaborate even better.
Logged

Wyvern

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2753
    • View Profile
Re: Do you use level cap increase mods?
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2021, 12:25:07 PM »

I put in a vote for 'yes' because in practical terms, yes. ...In technical terms what I actually use is 'addskillpoints' from console commands.

Generally sparingly - for example, my initial run through the game, I ended up giving myself exactly one extra skill point so I could take both shield & phase ship skills. Technically cheating? Yes. But in practical terms, those skills will never both apply to the same ship, so all I'm really doing is giving myself the freedom to pick what my flagship is without having to spend two story points every time I want to try out a phase ship when I'd been using regular ships or vice versa.
Logged
Wyvern is 100% correct about the math.

Ramiel

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Do you use level cap increase mods?
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2021, 09:57:12 PM »

Yes. It would have been different perhaps if we had more flexibility in choosing a play style. But, at the moment, if we spec into a certain style, others become very unfeasible....
Logged

Radicaljack

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: Do you use level cap increase mods?
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2021, 11:22:22 PM »

Yeah I took the 25 one, toned it to 20 and then increased battle size. Miserable DP mechanics and officer spam are just not fun gameplay so I went for this as a workaround until things get balanced out.
Logged

Gotcha!

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1114
    • View Profile
    • Welcome to New Hiigara
Re: Do you use level cap increase mods?
« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2021, 11:56:46 PM »

Yes; I increased the cap to 20, doubled the skill points, and I've used someone's mod that allows you to pick all skills so I have all skills unlocked at max level. I don't like having to choose and miss out on things.

I've done a lot of tinkering in settings.json, because this game would be quite brutal and non-entertaining for me if I didn't.
Logged
  

SonnaBanana

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 436
    • View Profile
Re: Do you use level cap increase mods?
« Reply #5 on: Today at 12:01:18 AM »

Playing at 20 since RC8.
Logged

Techpriest

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
  • Personal Text
    • View Profile
Re: Do you use level cap increase mods?
« Reply #6 on: Today at 03:23:54 AM »

why yes i have a god-complex when playing the game where i need to max everything out and all my officers are like supa elite officers how could you tell?

MrFluffster

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 56
    • View Profile
Re: Do you use level cap increase mods?
« Reply #7 on: Today at 05:19:54 AM »

Technically yes, but I only edited the setting.json to raise the level cap to 20, since without further modifiations I can't get more skills anyway so it feels fair that I get to make every skill picking choice. Stopping with 5 of those choices not made feels overly limiting, like I already lock myself out of some skills and then I get locked out even harder out of some.
Logged
Author of the somewhat-mediocre Fluff's Ship Pack. Check it out!
Feel free to send me feedback on discord @PMMeCuteBugPhotos#0420