Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.95.1a is out! (12/10/21); Blog post: Uniquifying the Factions, Part 2 (04/30/22)

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 27

Author Topic: [0.95a] Adjusted Sector  (Read 224993 times)

Tiberiumkyle

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Adjusted Sector
« Reply #30 on: December 02, 2019, 10:05:56 PM »

Whenever you change "AdjustedSectorConstellationCount" you should change other "themed" constellation counters as well - otherwise game will react weird.
In your case, you should change the following:
Code
"sectorConstellationRemnantMin":40,
"sectorConstellationRemnantMax":70,
"sectorConstellationRuinsMin":25,
"sectorConstellationRuinsMax":40,
"sectorDerelictMotherships":16,
"sectorDerelictCryosleepers":36,
Should work.
To test it out - generate new game, use console to enter devmode (devmode on), press ctrl+z after leaving console window, and fly into hyperspace. This will reveal all remnant systems - and if the number of beacons is appropriate and isn't 0, you good to go.
Working wonderfully, thanks!
Logged

mipen

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Adjusted Sector
« Reply #31 on: December 07, 2019, 07:43:17 AM »

What values will result in the generation of more ruins? Do you need a wider range, or higher numbers. The vanilla numbers are 15-25 and you've changed it to 50-75; are these the number of ruins that the game will generate, or a range that the game must roll between to generate a ruin?
Logged

Nerzhull_AI

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
  • In self-sustaining chaos.
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Adjusted Sector
« Reply #32 on: December 07, 2019, 12:19:03 PM »

What values will result in the generation of more ruins? Do you need a wider range, or higher numbers. The vanilla numbers are 15-25 and you've changed it to 50-75; are these the number of ruins that the game will generate, or a range that the game must roll between to generate a ruin?
It's the number of constellations that will receive ruin theme - ship graveyards, research/mining station, that kind of stuff. Probability of ruins as a planetary condition is defined by condition_gen_data - vanilla file that contains details and probability of conditions appearing on the planets (with different types may be lower or greater probability, or so it seems).
Logged

bopeepatehersheep

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Adjusted Sector
« Reply #33 on: December 15, 2019, 04:29:05 AM »

so i changed some values for my game and discovered rather quickly that it really messed up the map with respects to hyperstorms.

"sectorWidth":252308,
"sectorHeight":160000,

anyways - i don't really know why this works (it was just a guess) - but i adjusted the pixels of the hyperspace map you include to be 1240 width and 786 height which is almost exactly the same ratio as the sector values i used.

so for those of you who desire to use different sector width and height values you can rather easily make sure your hyperspace storms map isn't too big or too small by solving a simple equation.

input your values into the following
(sector width)/(sector height)= (pixel width of hyperspace map - say 1500)/x
x = (1500)/(ratio of sector width to height)

then just change the hyperspace map.  resize it to the width and the x value you solved for
Logged

theville

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: [0.9.1a] Adjusted Sector
« Reply #34 on: December 26, 2019, 09:31:46 PM »

so i changed some values for my game and discovered rather quickly that it really messed up the map with respects to hyperstorms.

"sectorWidth":252308,
"sectorHeight":160000,

anyways - i don't really know why this works (it was just a guess) - but i adjusted the pixels of the hyperspace map you include to be 1240 width and 786 height which is almost exactly the same ratio as the sector values i used.

so for those of you who desire to use different sector width and height values you can rather easily make sure your hyperspace storms map isn't too big or too small by solving a simple equation.

input your values into the following
(sector width)/(sector height)= (pixel width of hyperspace map - say 1500)/x
x = (1500)/(ratio of sector width to height)

then just change the hyperspace map.  resize it to the width and the x value you solved for

i think it needs a custom hyperspace map?
Logged

Nerzhull_AI

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
  • In self-sustaining chaos.
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Adjusted Sector
« Reply #35 on: December 28, 2019, 05:39:29 AM »

so i changed some values for my game and discovered rather quickly that it really messed up the map with respects to hyperstorms.

"sectorWidth":252308,
"sectorHeight":160000,

anyways - i don't really know why this works (it was just a guess) - but i adjusted the pixels of the hyperspace map you include to be 1240 width and 786 height which is almost exactly the same ratio as the sector values i used.

so for those of you who desire to use different sector width and height values you can rather easily make sure your hyperspace storms map isn't too big or too small by solving a simple equation.

input your values into the following
(sector width)/(sector height)= (pixel width of hyperspace map - say 1500)/x
x = (1500)/(ratio of sector width to height)

then just change the hyperspace map.  resize it to the width and the x value you solved for

i think it needs a custom hyperspace map?
Changing the size of hyperspace map pic might result in game just crashing straight-up. The current hyperspace map is the closest that i can do to "ideal sized hyperspace map".
Although i'm working on alternative method of hyperstorm generation, that will scale with any sector size.
Logged

theville

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: [0.9.1a] Adjusted Sector
« Reply #36 on: January 04, 2020, 09:36:58 PM »

So i adjusted my constellationcount to 1020 how do I set the others to make it work? The remnants min and max size and the other values
Logged

Nerzhull_AI

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
  • In self-sustaining chaos.
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Adjusted Sector
« Reply #37 on: January 09, 2020, 12:49:05 PM »

So i adjusted my constellationcount to 1020 how do I set the others to make it work? The remnants min and max size and the other values
Just multiply other values by 2.8
Try something like this:
Code
	"AdjustedSectorConstellationCount":360,
"AdjustedSectorConstellationSize":100,
"AdjustedSectorConstellationCellSize":5,

"sectorConstellationRemnantMin":210,
"sectorConstellationRemnantMax":350,
"sectorConstellationRemnantSkipProb":0,

"sectorConstellationRuinsMin":140,
"sectorConstellationRuinsMax":210,

"sectorDerelictMotherships":72,
"sectorDerelictCryosleepers":144,

"SanguinaryAnarchisticDefectors_sectorConstellationMin_AS":42,
"SanguinaryAnarchisticDefectors_sectorConstellationMax_AS":84,

"BladeBreakerThemed_ConstellationMin_AS":42,
"BladeBreakerThemed_ConstellationMax_AS":84,
"BladeBreakerThemed_ConstellationSkipProb_AS":0.25,

The end result should look similar to this:
https://puu.sh/ELI2c/17911ff0e3.png
Logged

Starareo

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Adjusted Sector
« Reply #38 on: January 14, 2020, 07:12:07 PM »

I'm not 100%, but it appears that all stations/bases/etc. have been replaced by Domain probes. I doubt that's caused by your mod, seeing as it hasn't updated/changed in some times and I only changed sector size settings and such. I wanted ask if you had any idea what could be happening or am I just super unlucky?

Edit: After going through the thread and such, looks like I messed up some settings
« Last Edit: January 16, 2020, 04:14:38 PM by Starareo »
Logged

Cyber Von Cyberus

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
  • Warcrimes are very profitable...
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Adjusted Sector
« Reply #39 on: January 16, 2020, 01:49:19 PM »

Hello, so I wanted to ask for recommendations on what settings I would like to use, here are my current settings :

Spoiler
"sectorWidth":184000,
   "sectorHeight":124000,
   "AdjustedSectorConstellationCount":150,
   "AdjustedSectorConstellationSize":1000,
   "AdjustedSectorConstellationCellSize":5,

   "sectorConstellationRemnantMin":30,
   "sectorConstellationRemnantMax":30,
   "sectorConstellationRemnantSkipProb":0,

   "sectorConstellationRuinsMin":30,
   "sectorConstellationRuinsMax":30,
   
   "sectorDerelictMotherships":20,
   "sectorDerelictCryosleepers":30,
      
   #Random number of arcs apply to map
   #Vanilla value 20
   "AdjustedSectorRndArcs":20,

   #Generate hyperstorms options.
   #"true" for generating hyperstorms, "false" to not generate hyperstorms.
   "AdjustedSectorHS":true,

   #Accessibility will be base - 1 at that many light-years from center of mass
   #"accessibilityDistFromCOM":50,
   #"accessibilitySameFactionBonus":0.50,
   "accessibilityDistFromCOM":100,
   "accessibilitySameFactionBonus":0.75,

   #If DME is enabled, as well as random generated blade breaker systems, you can change the amount of said BB-themed constellations.
   #"BladeBreakerThemed_ConstellationMin_AS":3,
   #"BladeBreakerThemed_ConstellationMax_AS":5,
   #"BladeBreakerThemed_ConstellationSkipProb_AS":0.75,
   "BladeBreakerThemed_ConstellationMin_AS":10,
   "BladeBreakerThemed_ConstellationMax_AS":20,
   "BladeBreakerThemed_ConstellationSkipProb_AS":0.25,
}
[close]

I personally keep the number of stars at 150 since it's the most my computer can handle, what do you recommend for the other remnant, blade breakers and ruins settings ? (I don't play with SAD, so no need to include it)
Logged
Diktat Admiral:"What do we have here ? A dissident ? A pirate ? Or maybe a degenerate ?"

Me:"Yes, I'm all of those."

Nerzhull_AI

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
  • In self-sustaining chaos.
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Adjusted Sector
« Reply #40 on: January 16, 2020, 11:51:47 PM »

Hello, so I wanted to ask for recommendations on what settings I would like to use, here are my current settings :

Spoiler
"sectorWidth":184000,
   "sectorHeight":124000,
   "AdjustedSectorConstellationCount":150,
   "AdjustedSectorConstellationSize":1000,
   "AdjustedSectorConstellationCellSize":5,

   "sectorConstellationRemnantMin":30,
   "sectorConstellationRemnantMax":30,
   "sectorConstellationRemnantSkipProb":0,

   "sectorConstellationRuinsMin":30,
   "sectorConstellationRuinsMax":30,
   
   "sectorDerelictMotherships":20,
   "sectorDerelictCryosleepers":30,
      
   #Random number of arcs apply to map
   #Vanilla value 20
   "AdjustedSectorRndArcs":20,

   #Generate hyperstorms options.
   #"true" for generating hyperstorms, "false" to not generate hyperstorms.
   "AdjustedSectorHS":true,

   #Accessibility will be base - 1 at that many light-years from center of mass
   #"accessibilityDistFromCOM":50,
   #"accessibilitySameFactionBonus":0.50,
   "accessibilityDistFromCOM":100,
   "accessibilitySameFactionBonus":0.75,

   #If DME is enabled, as well as random generated blade breaker systems, you can change the amount of said BB-themed constellations.
   #"BladeBreakerThemed_ConstellationMin_AS":3,
   #"BladeBreakerThemed_ConstellationMax_AS":5,
   #"BladeBreakerThemed_ConstellationSkipProb_AS":0.75,
   "BladeBreakerThemed_ConstellationMin_AS":10,
   "BladeBreakerThemed_ConstellationMax_AS":20,
   "BladeBreakerThemed_ConstellationSkipProb_AS":0.25,
}
[close]

I personally keep the number of stars at 150 since it's the most my computer can handle, what do you recommend for the other remnant, blade breakers and ruins settings ? (I don't play with SAD, so no need to include it)
Try something like this:
Code
	"sectorConstellationRemnantMin":30,
"sectorConstellationRemnantMax":50,
"sectorConstellationRemnantSkipProb":0,

"sectorConstellationRuinsMin":20,
"sectorConstellationRuinsMax":30,

"sectorDerelictMotherships":9,
"sectorDerelictCryosleepers":20,
        "BladeBreakerThemed_ConstellationMin_AS":6,
"BladeBreakerThemed_ConstellationMax_AS":12,
"BladeBreakerThemed_ConstellationSkipProb_AS":0.25,
Other settings shouldn't be changed (according to your example).
Logged

Cyber Von Cyberus

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
  • Warcrimes are very profitable...
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Adjusted Sector
« Reply #41 on: January 17, 2020, 02:53:48 AM »

Thank you very much I shall try it and report back.
Logged
Diktat Admiral:"What do we have here ? A dissident ? A pirate ? Or maybe a degenerate ?"

Me:"Yes, I'm all of those."

Cyber Von Cyberus

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
  • Warcrimes are very profitable...
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Adjusted Sector
« Reply #42 on: January 18, 2020, 06:18:34 PM »

I've tried it and it is perfect, thank you very much
Logged
Diktat Admiral:"What do we have here ? A dissident ? A pirate ? Or maybe a degenerate ?"

Me:"Yes, I'm all of those."

Greishbirb

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Adjusted Sector
« Reply #43 on: January 28, 2020, 12:58:19 PM »

Idk..what is wrong with my settings ( or maybe the problem is within the mod ). But I (and several other people in Discord ) didn't find any research stations \ mining ones \ habitats ( that are not scripted ). We've checked all the black wholes and nebulas, and a huge amount of Supergigants and Neutron Stars too.




Settings:
"plugins":{      
      "newGameSectorProcGen":"data.scripts.SectorProcGenMod",
      "newGameCreationEntryPoint":"data.scripts.world.SectorGenMod",
   },
   #Change the number below to increase or decrease the size of the Sector
   #"sectorWidth":164000,
   #"sectorHeight":104000,
   #"sectorConstellationSize":100,
   #"sectorConstellationCellSize":10,
   "sectorWidth":194000,
   "sectorHeight":134000,
   "AdjustedSectorConstellationCount":120,
   "AdjustedSectorConstellationSize":490,
   "AdjustedSectorConstellationCellSize":6,

   "sectorConstellationRemnantMin":25,
   "sectorConstellationRemnantMax":67,
   "sectorConstellationRemnantSkipProb":0,

   "sectorConstellationRuinsMin":46,
   "sectorConstellationRuinsMax":120,
   
   "sectorDerelictMotherships":25,
   "sectorDerelictCryosleepers":18,
      
   #Random number of arcs apply to map
   #Vanilla value 20
   "AdjustedSectorRndArcs":20,

   #Generate hyperstorms options.
   #"true" for generating hyperstorms, "false" to not generate hyperstorms.
   "AdjustedSectorHS":true,

   #Accessibility will be base - 1 at that many light-years from center of mass
   #"accessibilityDistFromCOM":50,
   #"accessibilitySameFactionBonus":0.50,
   "accessibilityDistFromCOM":100,
   "accessibilitySameFactionBonus":0.75,

   #If SAD is enabled, you can change the amount of SAD-themed constellations
   #"SanguinaryAnarchisticDefectors_sectorConstellationMin_AS":4,
   #"SanguinaryAnarchisticDefectors_sectorConstellationMax_AS":6,
   "SanguinaryAnarchisticDefectors_sectorConstellationMin_AS":8,
   "SanguinaryAnarchisticDefectors_sectorConstellationMax_AS":15,

   #If DME is enabled, as well as random generated blade breaker systems, you can change the amount of said BB-themed constellations.
   #"BladeBreakerThemed_ConstellationMin_AS":4,
   #"BladeBreakerThemed_ConstellationMax_AS":7,
   #"BladeBreakerThemed_ConstellationSkipProb_AS":0.75,
   "BladeBreakerThemed_ConstellationMin_AS":4,
   "BladeBreakerThemed_ConstellationMax_AS":9,
   "BladeBreakerThemed_ConstellationSkipProb_AS":0.25,
Logged

Fantastic Chimni

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • Chimni
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Adjusted Sector
« Reply #44 on: January 28, 2020, 01:01:37 PM »


Same thing with me as well and different settings. Checked every black hole and only found a single PACK Research Base and the Neutrino facility.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 27