Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.95a is out! (03/26/21); Blog post: A Tale of Two Tech Levels (05/28/21)

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 17

Author Topic: [0.95a] Adjusted Sector  (Read 121715 times)

Nerzhull_AI

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
  • In self-sustaining chaos.
    • View Profile
[0.95a] Adjusted Sector
« on: November 25, 2019, 12:01:33 PM »



Do you like exploration? Do you ever wanted your current playthrough last forever? Do you unsatisfied with the amount of stuff you can find and/or kill in Sector? Suffer no more!

Download Adjusted Sector 0.3.3

This mod overrides procgen system, allowing you to change size of the sector, number of generated constellations, and more importantly - adjust number of themed constellations.
Look for settings.json file that you can find in Adjusted Sector\data\config.
Following fields define the number of stuff you will generate in sector.

"sectorWidth":164000,
"sectorHeight":104000,

These are simple numbers. You change the width and height of your map - more space for more stars. Depending on the size of the sector and constellation numbers, sector may be stuffed with stars.
Vanilla values:
#sectorWidth:164000
#sectorHeight:104000


"AdjustedSectorConstellationCount":110,
In short, the greater this number - the greater amount of stars will be generated.
Vanilla Sector value: 100

"AdjustedSectorConstellationSize": 1000,
This field is responsible for size of each constellation cell. You better not touch it, otherwise weird things might happen.
Vanilla Sector value: 2000.

"AdjustedSectorConstellationCellSize":8,
Increase or decrease this number to change the number of stars per constellation.
Increasing this number will result into less stars, decreasing - more stars.
Vanilla Sector value: 10

"sectorConstellationRemnantMin":15,
"sectorConstellationRemnantMax":30,
"sectorConstellationRemnantSkipProb":0,

Game will roll the dice from sectorConstellationRemnantMin to sectorConstellationRemnantMax (in this case - from 75 to 125) with skipping probability of zero, to generated less random amount of remnant-infested systems. Low/Medium/High danger level spread is equal to the vanilla one.
Vanilla value: from 10 to 25(with skip prob 0.25).

"sectorConstellationRuinsMin":20,
"sectorConstellationRuinsMax":40,

Research stations? Mining stations? Just random debris? Ship graveyards? Gates?!
All these things are part of "Ruins" theme. Game will roll from sectorConstellationRuinsMin to sectorConstellationRuinsMax (in this case - from 50 to 75) and generate variety of stuff in this much constellations.
Vanilla value: from 15 to 25.

"sectorDerelictMotherships":5,
Motherships usually hoard bigger number of resources and rare items, then survey ships. You just need to kill the damn thing.
Strangely enough, the number of motherships are directly responsible for the amount of survey ships and probes that you can find through the sector. You probably should adjust this field to be at least equal to 1/15 (or 6%) of your constellation number.
1 Mothership takes about 5 points from constellation count, so beware.
Vanilla value: 1

"sectorDerelictCryosleepers":5,
Change the amount of the most useful, but annoyingly rare things you can find drifting in space, usually in the system with absolutely worst planets in the middle of nowhere.
Higher number of Cryosleepers is almost nessecary - since on the brink of the sector your colonies will have very low accesability.
Vanilla value: 2.

"accessibilityDistFromCOM":50,
"accessibilitySameFactionBonus":0.5,

"accessibilityDistFromCOM" value dictates how harsh accessability penalties will be (bigger distance between core worlds and your colony = less accesability). Increase this value if you making your sector bigger.
"accessibilitySameFactionBonus" value responsible for accessability bonus for in-faction import - this is necessary for new colonies created by AI (Vayras Sector, Nexerelin).
Vanilla values:
"accessibilityDistFromCOM":50,
"accessibilitySameFactionBonus":0.5,


New settings added:
"sectorRemnantPresenceLow":0,
This one responsible for either spawning Low Danger [REDACTED] systems (if NOT 0) or replacing them with HIGH damger ones (if 0).
"sectorRemnantPresenceMed":1,
This one responsible for either spawning Medium Danger [REDACTED] systems (if NOT 0) or replacing them with HIGH damger ones (if 0).
"sectorCoronalTaps":12
Controls the amount of Coronal Taps in your Sector. I should mention that number may differ from what you put here, because Coronal Taps have some special conditions to be met before spawning - star type, there's shouldn't be several stars in the star system, etc.
#Default is 2.

"SanguinaryAnarchisticDefectors_sectorConstellationMin_AS":15,
"SanguinaryAnarchisticDefectors_sectorConstellationMax_AS":30,

If SAD mod is enabled, you can adjust the number of SAD-themed constellations.
Vanilla values:
"SanguinaryAnarchisticDefectors_sectorConstellationMin_AS":4,
"SanguinaryAnarchisticDefectors_sectorConstellationMax_AS":6,


"BladeBreakerThemed_ConstellationMin_AS":13,
"BladeBreakerThemed_ConstellationMax_AS":25,
"BladeBreakerThemed_ConstellationSkipProb_AS":0.25,

If DME is enabled, as well as random generated blade breaker systems, you can change the amount of said BB-themed constellations.
This setting will work only if you have the most recent version of DME (which at the time of this writing isn't present yet).
Vanilla values:
"BladeBreakerThemed_ConstellationMin_AS":3,
"BladeBreakerThemed_ConstellationMax_AS":5,
"BladeBreakerThemed_ConstellationSkipProb_AS":0.75,


This mod incompatible with Grand Sector, since it does the same thing and more.
This mod will inevitably ruin the hyperstorm spawn - it won't scale with new sector size, but eventually i will find a way to fix it.
Whenever you change the values for themed constellations be wary - if the number is too high for one theme, the other won't generate anything. Normaly, the number for theme shouldn't be greater than 40% of your constellations number, and total sum of all your "themed" numbers should be close or equal to constellations number. If sum is greater than constellation number, one "theme" will supress all others in such way:
Derelict > Ruins > Remnant.


With Adjusted Sector you can adjust almost everything.
Download this mod, open settings, and forever change your life.

Special thanks to creator of the Grand Sector, Alec, for inspiring this project, as well as people on discord. If not for you, guys, this thing would've never became mod.
Thanks to Histidine for adding compatibility changes to Nexerelin, and to Snrasha for incorporating adjusting settings into his mod.

Spoiler
Patchnote:
2019.11.25 - 0.1.0 release.
2019.11.26 - 0.1.1: Fixed misplaced code, now constellations should generate as in vanilla, without suddenly appearing beyond the reaches of sector map.
2019.11.27 - 0.1.2: Fixed problem with zoom (unable to see entire map due to inability to zoom out). Additional changes to remove random stars being generates very close to/beyond reaches of sector map.
2019.12.01 - 0.2.0: Added proper (bigger) hyperstorm generation. Now you can adjust number of SAD-themed constellations. Added accessibility settings.
2019.12.01 - 0.2.1: Found and fixed bug with DME (Blade Breakers) and SAD not generating random systems when AS enabled.
2019.12.03 - 0.2.2: Now you can adjust number of "Blade Breaker"-themed constellations.
2021.03.30 - 0.3.0: Updated to 0.95 version of Starsector. New setting file by default is 'almost the same as default sector' to prevent players going into 10 fps mod straightly after getting this mod.
Also, send help.
2021.03.30 - 0.3.1: Added new settings, "sectorRemnantPresenceLow" and "sectorRemnantPresenceMed" - these are responsible for low and medium danger remnant systems.
2021.04.07 - 0.3.2:
- Mod no longer breaks latest version of HeavyArmor hullmod. Save compatible.
- In addition to smolsector setting, there's now also large sector preset - you can enable it manually, by deleting settings.json and renaming settings_large_sector.json in 'settings.json'.
2021.04.09 - 0.3.3:
- added new field, "sectorCoronalTaps" - which, you guessed it - controls the amount of Coronal Taps in your Sector. I should mention that number may differ from what you put here, because Coronal Taps have some special conditions to be met before spawning - star type, there's shouldn't be several stars in the star system, etc.
- presets are still DIY file shite, because i have very little spare time. Sorry.
[close]
« Last Edit: April 09, 2021, 05:30:31 AM by Nerzhull_AI »
Logged

morriganj

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Adjusted Sector
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2019, 12:27:43 PM »

Is there any performance impact?
Logged

Nerzhull_AI

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
  • In self-sustaining chaos.
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Adjusted Sector
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2019, 12:33:14 PM »

Is there any performance impact?
Depending on how many constellations you have, there might be framedrops while on map or intel screen. Past 300 constellations you will feel it. Otherwise - depends on your pc.
Logged

morriganj

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Adjusted Sector
« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2019, 12:45:10 PM »

Is there any performance impact?
Depending on how many constellations you have, there might be framedrops while on map or intel screen. Past 300 constellations you will feel it. Otherwise - depends on your pc.

So take this with a grain of salt.

I started with a tonne of mods, and have no idea whether or not any of them were slowing my game down at any point (Probably)...BUT I found 180 per constellation was the sweet spot for stability and 60fps. I might experiment going higher but am not knowledgeable enough about what resources the game is using. I'm not brave enough to go past 300 yet re stability.

BTW thanks for explaining what the values are with references to tweak them as needed, it makes it a lot easier.

I've allocated extra ram, and these are my specs:

I7 6700k
32GB
GTX 1060 6GB

Logged

Valikdu

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • Ruin... has come to our family.
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Adjusted Sector
« Reply #4 on: November 25, 2019, 07:01:07 PM »

Just when I needed to start a new game~!
Logged
My Dwarf Fortress Mod: DESOLATION 1.5
My Channel: V. S. Cosplay

Valikdu

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • Ruin... has come to our family.
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Adjusted Sector
« Reply #5 on: November 26, 2019, 06:59:20 AM »

Okay, I've encountered a problem...

I've generated a ~2x larger sector (multiplying each value by 1.4, with 229600 x 145600), and now the sector map can't actually zoom out enough to see the constellations at the edges.
Logged
My Dwarf Fortress Mod: DESOLATION 1.5
My Channel: V. S. Cosplay

Nerzhull_AI

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
  • In self-sustaining chaos.
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Adjusted Sector
« Reply #6 on: November 26, 2019, 07:34:29 AM »

Okay, I've encountered a problem...

I've generated a ~2x larger sector (multiplying each value by 1.4, with 229600 x 145600), and now the sector map can't actually zoom out enough to see the constellations at the edges.
Can you post a screenshot with the map zoomed out as much as you can?
Also, in that case, zoom out as much as you can and move map with right click - should allow you to spot constellations at the edges.
Logged

Valikdu

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • Ruin... has come to our family.
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Adjusted Sector
« Reply #7 on: November 26, 2019, 07:45:52 AM »

Okay, I've encountered a problem...

I've generated a ~2x larger sector (multiplying each value by 1.4, with 229600 x 145600), and now the sector map can't actually zoom out enough to see the constellations at the edges.
Can you post a screenshot with the map zoomed out as much as you can?
Also, in that case, zoom out as much as you can and move map with right click - should allow you to spot constellations at the edges.

For some reason, the game won't let me actually move the map with holding down the RMB, when zoomed out. It only moves by a sliver, not enough to reveal all the hidden stuff.

Here's the maximum zoomed out map: https://i.imgur.com/3HUs6a3.png
And the maximum zoomed out intel screen: https://i.imgur.com/FQC7zv2.png

So, um... neither allows to see the entire map, though the intel screen allows to see a higher degree of it on the Y axis, and the map screen on the X axis.
« Last Edit: November 26, 2019, 07:48:49 AM by Valikdu »
Logged
My Dwarf Fortress Mod: DESOLATION 1.5
My Channel: V. S. Cosplay

Nick XR

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 482
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Adjusted Sector
« Reply #8 on: November 26, 2019, 09:33:12 AM »

I'm playing through with Grand Sector now, the only real problem I have with it, that I think you might encounter too, is that bounty fleets are way too far away now to be reasonable.  If you like doing bounty missions, the larger sector almost ruins that IMO :(

Nerzhull_AI

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
  • In self-sustaining chaos.
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Adjusted Sector
« Reply #9 on: November 26, 2019, 09:35:58 AM »

Okay, I've encountered a problem...

I've generated a ~2x larger sector (multiplying each value by 1.4, with 229600 x 145600), and now the sector map can't actually zoom out enough to see the constellations at the edges.
Can you post a screenshot with the map zoomed out as much as you can?
Also, in that case, zoom out as much as you can and move map with right click - should allow you to spot constellations at the edges.

For some reason, the game won't let me actually move the map with holding down the RMB, when zoomed out. It only moves by a sliver, not enough to reveal all the hidden stuff.

Here's the maximum zoomed out map: https://i.imgur.com/3HUs6a3.png
And the maximum zoomed out intel screen: https://i.imgur.com/FQC7zv2.png

So, um... neither allows to see the entire map, though the intel screen allows to see a higher degree of it on the Y axis, and the map screen on the X axis.
Archive me your save file, i'll try it and see what can be done with it.
Logged

Valikdu

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • Ruin... has come to our family.
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Adjusted Sector
« Reply #10 on: November 26, 2019, 10:03:06 AM »

Archive me your save file, i'll try it and see what can be done with it.
Here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/zg1hc1o3ycp1hee/save_TEST_884913219661667836.rar?dl=0

I've tried Grand Sector for comparison, and this problem doesn't occur. The game somehow draws a larger grid on the map/intel screen (I've compared them, it has proportionally more cells), which encompasses the entire sector with all its systems (here, systems stick outside of the grid), and the entire map is visible.

Of course, Grand Sector doesn't do anything with the actual exploration-worthy content... :/
Logged
My Dwarf Fortress Mod: DESOLATION 1.5
My Channel: V. S. Cosplay

Nerzhull_AI

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
  • In self-sustaining chaos.
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Adjusted Sector
« Reply #11 on: November 26, 2019, 11:29:07 AM »

Archive me your save file, i'll try it and see what can be done with it.
Here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/zg1hc1o3ycp1hee/save_TEST_884913219661667836.rar?dl=0

I've tried Grand Sector for comparison, and this problem doesn't occur. The game somehow draws a larger grid on the map/intel screen (I've compared them, it has proportionally more cells), which encompasses the entire sector with all its systems (here, systems stick outside of the grid), and the entire map is visible.

Of course, Grand Sector doesn't do anything with the actual exploration-worthy content... :/
You've tried it with the same params, regarding everything, not just height/width?
Logged

Valikdu

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • Ruin... has come to our family.
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Adjusted Sector
« Reply #12 on: November 26, 2019, 11:49:05 AM »

Archive me your save file, i'll try it and see what can be done with it.
Here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/zg1hc1o3ycp1hee/save_TEST_884913219661667836.rar?dl=0

I've tried Grand Sector for comparison, and this problem doesn't occur. The game somehow draws a larger grid on the map/intel screen (I've compared them, it has proportionally more cells), which encompasses the entire sector with all its systems (here, systems stick outside of the grid), and the entire map is visible.

Of course, Grand Sector doesn't do anything with the actual exploration-worthy content... :/
You've tried it with the same params, regarding everything, not just height/width?

Yeah, although GS has one parameter in its config file that Adjusted does not use: SectorCellSize (not ConstellationCellSize).
But that one just seems to use the stated vanilla value.
Logged
My Dwarf Fortress Mod: DESOLATION 1.5
My Channel: V. S. Cosplay

Nerzhull_AI

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
  • In self-sustaining chaos.
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Adjusted Sector
« Reply #13 on: November 26, 2019, 12:30:08 PM »

Archive me your save file, i'll try it and see what can be done with it.
Here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/zg1hc1o3ycp1hee/save_TEST_884913219661667836.rar?dl=0

I've tried Grand Sector for comparison, and this problem doesn't occur. The game somehow draws a larger grid on the map/intel screen (I've compared them, it has proportionally more cells), which encompasses the entire sector with all its systems (here, systems stick outside of the grid), and the entire map is visible.

Of course, Grand Sector doesn't do anything with the actual exploration-worthy content... :/
You've tried it with the same params, regarding everything, not just height/width?

Yeah, although GS has one parameter in its config file that Adjusted does not use: SectorCellSize (not ConstellationCellSize).
But that one just seems to use the stated vanilla value.
Ok, i slightly messed up while compiling sectorprocgen file.
I've updated main post, now it should be okay.

Also, i've managed to generate hyperstorms for adjusted sector size.

Bad news is, it's janky and can cover star system jump points and other gravity wells. Vanilla code doesn't do anything to it for some reasons.
So, untill i found how to do it +- correctly, hyperstorm changes won't be included in mod.
« Last Edit: November 26, 2019, 12:34:28 PM by Nerzhull_AI »
Logged

scarface

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Adjusted Sector
« Reply #14 on: November 26, 2019, 01:11:54 PM »

yo, i have same issue as the other dude. just normal sized map, with stars beyond the window. on 0.11. tried with no mods. didnt change config
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 17