Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.95.1a is out! (12/10/21); Blog post: Uniquifying the Factions, Part 2 (04/30/22)

Pages: 1 ... 113 114 [115] 116 117 ... 126

Author Topic: [0.95.1a] Terraforming and Station Construction (v8.1.3)  (Read 533405 times)

Carkidd

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Terraforming and Station Construction (v8.0.2)
« Reply #1710 on: February 14, 2022, 03:39:08 PM »

Another solution that fits into lore (and bypasses the issue with no in-construction gate sprites) would be some way to construct a 'gate-hauler' to move a nearby gate into a system.

We don't have anything that indicated a gate is tied to a specific location in spacetime and it's pretty obvious (but waived for game play's sake) that sector tech isn't anywhere near constructing a new one. Putting a assload of rockets/a big jump drive on an existing one to move it? Still a huge undertaking, but theoretically doable.

https://fractalsoftworks.com/2017/08/16/a-true-and-accurate-history-of-the-persean-sector/

> Third wave of autonomous exploration motherships, sporeships, etc. dispatched. Includes the Gate Haulers of legend, which spread nodes of the Gate network.
Logged

boggled

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 728
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Terraforming and Station Construction (v8.0.2)
« Reply #1711 on: February 14, 2022, 04:30:40 PM »

Another solution that fits into lore (and bypasses the issue with no in-construction gate sprites) would be some way to construct a 'gate-hauler' to move a nearby gate into a system.

We don't have anything that indicated a gate is tied to a specific location in spacetime and it's pretty obvious (but waived for game play's sake) that sector tech isn't anywhere near constructing a new one. Putting a assload of rockets/a big jump drive on an existing one to move it? Still a huge undertaking, but theoretically doable.

https://fractalsoftworks.com/2017/08/16/a-true-and-accurate-history-of-the-persean-sector/

> Third wave of autonomous exploration motherships, sporeships, etc. dispatched. Includes the Gate Haulers of legend, which spread nodes of the Gate network.

This is an interesting idea, but I don't have a sprite for a gate hauler either! Also, adding a custom ship purely for gate construction would introduce issues where it's constantly appearing for sale in markets, or the blueprints are dropping as loot, even though the player only needs a couple of them per playthrough.
Logged

Carkidd

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Terraforming and Station Construction (v8.0.2)
« Reply #1712 on: February 14, 2022, 05:11:55 PM »

Is it possible to actively 'move' space objects like Gates? You could have an AI fleet (or your own fleet) appear to 'haul'/ drag the gate out of the system, with suspension of disbelief doing the rest. If you have them right on top of the gate while it's moved it should look pretty good!

If that's not possible, maybe a fake ship with the sprite of a Gate that gives the appearance of one being moved by the fleet, that's added when you interact with the gate to move it, and restricts your speed/increases your fuel consumption.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2022, 05:21:25 PM by Carkidd »
Logged

SpartanXZero

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Terraforming and Station Construction (v8.0.2)
« Reply #1713 on: February 14, 2022, 10:29:48 PM »

Thank you Boggled for the replies. An thank you for relaying the issues that would make the task difficult an problematic to put forward.

The idea of a specific construction ship for gate building is a neat idea as well and also understand issues with it becoming a regular guest appearance in used ship lots an salvage BP finds. I think that trade off isn't worth the effort, unless those two components can be eliminated or regulated into sheer microscopic fractional chances of it showing up as BP/ship sales, like 1 in 1 trillion.

I think based on what you've put forward in detail around the subject the player held colony in system requirement would probably be the best fix. At least a temporary one until perhaps further down the road it could be tackled an put forward in some manner with the idea I proposed.
Logged

bragonfly1

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Terraforming and Station Construction (v8.0.2)
« Reply #1714 on: February 15, 2022, 03:25:18 AM »

Hey boggled, just wanted to say thank you for the great mod and all the work you've put into it!
Logged

boggled

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 728
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Terraforming and Station Construction (v8.0.2)
« Reply #1715 on: February 15, 2022, 02:52:49 PM »

Is it possible to actively 'move' space objects like Gates? You could have an AI fleet (or your own fleet) appear to 'haul'/ drag the gate out of the system, with suspension of disbelief doing the rest. If you have them right on top of the gate while it's moved it should look pretty good!

If that's not possible, maybe a fake ship with the sprite of a Gate that gives the appearance of one being moved by the fleet, that's added when you interact with the gate to move it, and restricts your speed/increases your fuel consumption.

This might be possible, although it would be pretty convoluted to make it work and look good. It also introduces lore and player expectation problems regarding why other stable location structures, stations or cryosleepers couldn't be moved.

Hey boggled, just wanted to say thank you for the great mod and all the work you've put into it!

You're welcome! I'm glad you're enjoying the mod!
Logged

SpartanXZero

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Terraforming and Station Construction (v8.0.2)
« Reply #1716 on: February 16, 2022, 08:07:58 PM »

More questions Boggled.  :D

 How does this mod differ from DIY Terraforming? Are they compatible?
 Do they both handle stations as well, or does DIY only focus on terraforming?
Logged

Farya

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 186
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Terraforming and Station Construction (v8.0.2)
« Reply #1717 on: February 17, 2022, 01:04:30 AM »

Cryosleepers could not be moved... because they are too badly damaged to be safely tugged? These are loaded with frozen people and any damage during transportation would quickly doom them. There is a good reason to require a whole special structure to properly revive these ancient colonists.
« Last Edit: February 17, 2022, 10:04:08 PM by Farya »
Logged

boggled

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 728
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Terraforming and Station Construction (v8.0.2)
« Reply #1718 on: February 17, 2022, 02:29:21 PM »

More questions Boggled.  :D

 How does this mod differ from DIY Terraforming? Are they compatible?
 Do they both handle stations as well, or does DIY only focus on terraforming?


TASC and DIY Terraforming are compatible only if you disable terraforming in TASC using the settings file.
Logged

BrotherBiscuit

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Terraforming and Station Construction (v8.0.2)
« Reply #1719 on: February 18, 2022, 02:05:55 AM »

Ismara Sling isn't buildable on an Ice Giant. Is this intended behavior given that Ice giants are... well... giant balls of ice?
Logged

dgchessman2

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 91
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: [0.95a] Terraforming and Station Construction (v8.0.2)
« Reply #1720 on: February 18, 2022, 02:24:56 AM »

More questions Boggled.  :D

 How does this mod differ from DIY Terraforming? Are they compatible?
 Do they both handle stations as well, or does DIY only focus on terraforming?


TASC and DIY Terraforming are compatible only if you disable terraforming in TASC using the settings file.

....didn't actually know this.  Any way to get them to look for each other, and apply appropriate settings if they're both enabled?
I mean... because going in and manually changing it.  'Cause I bet a lot of other folks didn't know that either.
Not to suggest that it isn't in the Compatibility section, but rather that it's an easy setting to miss when setting everything up.
Logged

Uhlang

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Terraforming and Station Construction (v8.0.2)
« Reply #1721 on: February 18, 2022, 01:30:18 PM »

Ismara Sling isn't buildable on an Ice Giant. Is this intended behavior given that Ice giants are... well... giant balls of ice?
The "ice" in "ice giant" refers to "ices" in the planetary science sense.
They don't actually have that much of the generic water-ice.
Logged

boggled

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 728
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Terraforming and Station Construction (v8.0.2)
« Reply #1722 on: February 18, 2022, 02:32:18 PM »

More questions Boggled.  :D

 How does this mod differ from DIY Terraforming? Are they compatible?
 Do they both handle stations as well, or does DIY only focus on terraforming?


TASC and DIY Terraforming are compatible only if you disable terraforming in TASC using the settings file.

....didn't actually know this.  Any way to get them to look for each other, and apply appropriate settings if they're both enabled?
I mean... because going in and manually changing it.  'Cause I bet a lot of other folks didn't know that either.
Not to suggest that it isn't in the Compatibility section, but rather that it's an easy setting to miss when setting everything up.

I think trying to explain how the "auto configuration" works would be more complex and confusing than the current system. Besides, I doubt many players will decide to install two mods with overlapping major features without bothering to read the compatibility section.
Logged

rhinolt

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Terraforming and Station Construction (v8.0.2)
« Reply #1723 on: February 22, 2022, 04:39:29 AM »

well,how to build those stations?i just cant find a menu\button responding.
Logged

boggled

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 728
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Terraforming and Station Construction (v8.0.2)
« Reply #1724 on: February 22, 2022, 02:33:00 PM »

well,how to build those stations?i just cant find a menu\button responding.

Add the ability to your ability bar.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 113 114 [115] 116 117 ... 126