Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.97a is out! (02/02/24); New blog post: Simulator Enhancements (03/13/24)

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5

Author Topic: [0.9.1a] Grand Sector  (Read 191726 times)

Dwarden

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Grand Sector
« Reply #30 on: September 08, 2019, 06:45:55 PM »

you asked about the version checker files, here they are

.\StarSector\mods\Grand Sector\data\config\version\version_files.csv
Spoiler
version file
grandsector.version
[close]


.\StarSector\mods\Grand Sector\grandsector.version
Spoiler
{
    "masterVersionFile":"localhost",
    "modName":"Grand Sector",
    "modThreadId":16127,
    "modVersion":
    {
        "major":0,
        "minor":1,
        "patch":1,
    },
   "starsectorVersion":"0.9.1a"
}
[close]

ofcourse the 'localhost' part needs to be replaced by path to online version file when possible
« Last Edit: September 08, 2019, 07:05:53 PM by Dwarden »
Logged

Dwarden

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Grand Sector
« Reply #31 on: September 10, 2019, 08:31:03 PM »

small request for customization
could you include those two values ?

float CELL_SIZE
int CONSTELLATION_CELLS


for SectorProcGenMod.java
Code
//default 2000
public static final float CELL_SIZE = Global.getSettings().getFloat("cellSizeGS");
//default 10
public static final int CONSTELLATION_CELLS = Global.getSettings().getInt("constellationCellsGS");


for settings.json
Code
	"cellSizeGS":2000,
"constellationCellsGS":10,
« Last Edit: September 11, 2019, 02:30:15 AM by Dwarden »
Logged

Dwarden

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Grand Sector
« Reply #32 on: September 11, 2019, 02:51:25 AM »

and one more value for adjust
int numArcs

the numArcs generates those random arcs at hyperspace cloud map

let's just change that first float value from Default code:
Code
        int numArcs = (int) (20f + 8f * random.nextFloat());

so

for SectorProcGenMod.java
Code
// random value from settings, default 20
        float numArcsRndGS = Global.getSettings().getFloat("rndArcsGS");

        int numArcs = (int) (rndArcsGS + 8f * random.nextFloat());

for settings.json
Code
 "rndArcsGS" = 20;
« Last Edit: September 11, 2019, 03:10:23 AM by Dwarden »
Logged

Alec

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Grand Sector
« Reply #33 on: September 11, 2019, 07:04:53 AM »

and one more value for adjust
int numArcs

the numArcs generates those random arcs at hyperspace cloud map

let's just change that first float value from Default code:
Code
        int numArcs = (int) (20f + 8f * random.nextFloat());

so

for SectorProcGenMod.java
Code
// random value from settings, default 20
        float numArcsRndGS = Global.getSettings().getFloat("rndArcsGS");

        int numArcs = (int) (rndArcsGS + 8f * random.nextFloat());

for settings.json
Code
 "rndArcsGS" = 20;

Added to it.
Didn't thought so much people would be interested in this. I mean, this was made because some Anons in /ssg/ wanted it. So I have no license, changelog or anything to make things more tidy.
Probably will make a github repo and use it for Version Checker if and whenever I finish the research mod.
Logged

Agile

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Grand Sector
« Reply #34 on: September 11, 2019, 08:23:52 AM »

and one more value for adjust
int numArcs

the numArcs generates those random arcs at hyperspace cloud map

let's just change that first float value from Default code:
Code
        int numArcs = (int) (20f + 8f * random.nextFloat());

so

for SectorProcGenMod.java
Code
// random value from settings, default 20
        float numArcsRndGS = Global.getSettings().getFloat("rndArcsGS");

        int numArcs = (int) (rndArcsGS + 8f * random.nextFloat());

for settings.json
Code
 "rndArcsGS" = 20;

Added to it.
Didn't thought so much people would be interested in this. I mean, this was made because some Anons in /ssg/ wanted it. So I have no license, changelog or anything to make things more tidy.
Probably will make a github repo and use it for Version Checker if and whenever I finish the research mod.

Better random generation methods and opening up the sector map like this mod does is definitely needed.

Maybe if you play pure vanilla, its not that bad, but you start to run out of space real fast when you have 5 + faction mods alongside original mods, and nexerelin, which lets them expand through colonization.

Thanks for the mod by the way, its great.
Logged

lwki

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Grand Sector
« Reply #35 on: September 21, 2019, 10:07:28 AM »

Don't wanna be that guy but you made sector 1.69 times bigger by default, not x1.3
Logged

grinningsphinx

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 328
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Grand Sector
« Reply #36 on: September 21, 2019, 11:03:36 AM »

I dunno...wouldnt this absolutely tank system access rating? 
Logged

Novantis

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Grand Sector
« Reply #37 on: September 24, 2019, 09:48:01 PM »

Very cool mod. Exactly what I was looking for. I haven't dug into the game files sufficiently to answer this question for myself, but is there a reason why the hyperspace map can't be extended with the size of the underlying sector map? I'd like to ideally have more distance to cover in my sector, but I find the lack of hyperspace on the edges a little jarring.

Edit: If anyone is looking for good settings for the default map dimensions, change stars to 125~130.
« Last Edit: September 29, 2019, 07:10:41 PM by Novantis »
Logged

Alec

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Grand Sector
« Reply #38 on: October 01, 2019, 01:41:25 PM »

Don't wanna be that guy but you made sector 1.69 times bigger by default, not x1.3
Be that guy. I don't double check things and someone has to do it.
I dunno...wouldnt this absolutely tank system access rating? 
With Nex and bumped up colonization it creates kind of submarket areas. Otherwise unless you double the vanilla Sector size, it isn't that much of a problem.
is there a reason why the hyperspace map can't be extended with the size of the underlying sector map?
It needs some code pre-image-loading to resize the hyperspace PNG map. And I haven't check if it is possible.
Logged

Lolpingu

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Grand Sector
« Reply #39 on: October 03, 2019, 03:07:26 PM »

I didn't think this sort of thing was possible, sounds amazing and makes the sector in my current game feel cramped, definitely wanna try this  :o
However... uhhhh... how bad does it stand to tank performance with regards to things like loading times and slow-downs? With nex, vayra's sector and loads of faction mods, I'm already running into painful start-up times aswell as random perma-slowdowns outside of combat that require restarts, and I have a pretty decent system (also cranked up memory to 8gb)
I have no knowledge of how things work in this game on a technical level so I just chalk it up to increasingly large numbers of markets and roaming fleets
I would so love to play this, can anyone confirm that it's working fine and that it doesn't add any significant performance issues?
« Last Edit: October 03, 2019, 03:15:54 PM by Lolpingu »
Logged

Pokpaul

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Grand Sector
« Reply #40 on: October 03, 2019, 06:54:31 PM »

Lolpingu, the thing that helped me the most was allocating more memory to java, I raised it from the default to 4GB (I have 8 total it is recommended to raise it to no more than half your total system RAM).

To do this open vmparams in the starsector folder and change the values here to:  windows -Xms4096m -Xmx4096m, or to whatever multiple of 1024 you want to use.

Apologies if this is what you already did when you say cranked up memory to 8gb, but I'm running a ***-ton of mods fine on this old rig.


« Last Edit: October 03, 2019, 06:57:57 PM by Pokpaul »
Logged

Lolpingu

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Grand Sector
« Reply #41 on: October 04, 2019, 08:53:51 AM »

Lolpingu, the thing that helped me the most was allocating more memory to java, I raised it from the default to 4GB (I have 8 total it is recommended to raise it to no more than half your total system RAM).

To do this open vmparams in the starsector folder and change the values here to:  windows -Xms4096m -Xmx4096m, or to whatever multiple of 1024 you want to use.

Apologies if this is what you already did when you say cranked up memory to 8gb, but I'm running a ***-ton of mods fine on this old rig.

Yup yup, that's what I did! But uhhhh.... actually, I gave it 4, not 8, so thanks for prompting me to check vmparams :)
Not sure why I thought I gave Starsector 8gb, I guess I was being conservative. I have 16gb in my system so it can probably part with half of that, though does Starsector ever actually reach the point where it can make use of that much memory?  ???
By the way, I guess it's obvious by the fact that you're posting on this thread, but are you running grand sector? How hard did you crank it up, size and constellation count-wise? 
Logged

Dwarden

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Grand Sector
« Reply #42 on: October 04, 2019, 11:36:05 AM »

Code
"sectorWidth":312000,
"sectorHeight":180000,
"GrandSectorCellSize":3000,
"GrandSectorConstellationCellSize":7,
"GrandSectorCount":1024,
"GrandSectorRndArcs":64,

for me atm. this is above the playable treshold, with 7GB starting and 14GB ending ranges

i'm also using custom generated noise texture for hyperspace storms map
as that needs to scale with width/height values (dozens values i tested, for each i got new texture)

Logged

Pokpaul

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Grand Sector
« Reply #43 on: October 04, 2019, 11:58:31 AM »

Yes, I am running Grand Sector on default settings, which is twice the stars and 1.3x map size iirc.
Logged

Rawne233

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] Grand Sector
« Reply #44 on: October 19, 2019, 01:00:11 PM »

Do you think it's feasible to include options for adjusting Planet Generation and Derelict/[Redacted] spawns?
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5