Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.95a is out! (03/26/21); Blog post: Skill Changes, Part 2 (07/15/21)

Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7]

Author Topic: [0.95a] Quality Captains: A Skill Rework v1.0.8  (Read 44416 times)

Raio_Verusia

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Quality Captains: A Skill Rework v1.0.8
« Reply #90 on: August 30, 2021, 05:45:50 AM »

I couldn't get it to do anything, no matter what I did it just refused to initialize anything. Changing optionals, nothing. It's as if it wasn't installed at all, despite being enabled (disabled, enabled again, turned off, saved, uninstalled, installed again, enabled etcetcetc). I don't know, 1.0.4 worked fine drag and drop but 1.0.8 refused to work until I did that so I figured it was an accidental thing left in :o

Edit: It's quite possible maybe Archean Order requires that line un-commented? I didn't think it changed much with skills but maybe I'm wrong there?
« Last Edit: August 30, 2021, 05:48:33 AM by Raio_Verusia »
Logged

Dal

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 56
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Quality Captains: A Skill Rework v1.0.8
« Reply #91 on: August 30, 2021, 01:13:05 PM »

Archean Order is a Total Conversion mod, heh, it's not compatible with almost anything. Glad to hear QC is working fine, then!
Logged

6chad.noirlee9

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 253
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Quality Captains: A Skill Rework v1.0.8
« Reply #92 on: August 30, 2021, 03:33:58 PM »

Archean Order is a Total Conversion mod, heh, it's not compatible with almost anything. Glad to hear QC is working fine, then!

tell that to my enabled mod list
Spoiler
{"enabledMods": [
  "pantera_ANewLevel40",
  "adjustable_skill_thresholds",
  "Adjusted Sector",
  "anotherportraitpack",
  "archeus_beta",
  "automatedcommands",
  "beyondthesector",
  "combat_docking_module",
  "timid_commissioned_hull_mods",
  "lw_console",
  "domain_mship_controllable",
  "diyplanets",
  "DetailedCombatResults",
  "dronelib",
  "extra_system_reloaded",
  "sun_flux_reticle",
  "gladiatorsociety",
  "GrandColonies",
  "hm_barratry",
  "hullmod_specialization",
  "sun_hyperdrive",
  "IndEvo",
  "lw_lazylib",
  "leadingPip",
  "logisticsNotifications",
  "MagicLib",
  "su_CarrierHullmod",
  "su_CarrierHullmod_Rebalance",
  "mir",
  "more_ship_names",
  "nexerelin",
  "console_overlord_additionalcommands",
  "wisp_perseanchronicles",
  "QualityCaptains",
  "m561_ramscoop",
  "remnant_command_transfer",
  "repdec",
  "sun_ruthless_sector",
  "secretsofthefrontieralt",
  "SEEKER",
  "PT_ShipDirectionMarker",
  "simpleplayerflags",
  "solsystem",
  "speedUp",
  "starpocalypse",
  "sun_starship_legends",
  "stelnet",
  "superweapons",
  "timid_supply_forging",
  "Terraforming and Station Construction",
  "trulyautomatedships",
  "US",
  "ungp",
  "unpackblueprints",
  "UGH",
  "wasabounties",
  "audio_plus",
  "shaderLib"
]}
[close]

using quality captains 1.0.4 with the latest version of AO
Logged
edit: edit: maybe were just falling with style LOL.  make a bubble, make the space in front of it smaller and just fall forward

6chad.noirlee9

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 253
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Quality Captains: A Skill Rework v1.0.8
« Reply #93 on: August 30, 2021, 03:36:14 PM »

Archean Order is a Total Conversion mod, heh, it's not compatible with almost anything. Glad to hear QC is working fine, then!

tell that to my enabled mod list
Spoiler
{"enabledMods": [
  "pantera_ANewLevel40",
  "adjustable_skill_thresholds",
  "Adjusted Sector",
  "anotherportraitpack",
  "archeus_beta",
  "automatedcommands",
  "beyondthesector",
  "combat_docking_module",
  "timid_commissioned_hull_mods",
  "lw_console",
  "domain_mship_controllable",
  "diyplanets",
  "DetailedCombatResults",
  "dronelib",
  "extra_system_reloaded",
  "sun_flux_reticle",
  "gladiatorsociety",
  "GrandColonies",
  "hm_barratry",
  "hullmod_specialization",
  "sun_hyperdrive",
  "IndEvo",
  "lw_lazylib",
  "leadingPip",
  "logisticsNotifications",
  "MagicLib",
  "su_CarrierHullmod",
  "su_CarrierHullmod_Rebalance",
  "mir",
  "more_ship_names",
  "nexerelin",
  "console_overlord_additionalcommands",
  "wisp_perseanchronicles",
  "QualityCaptains",
  "m561_ramscoop",
  "remnant_command_transfer",
  "repdec",
  "sun_ruthless_sector",
  "secretsofthefrontieralt",
  "SEEKER",
  "PT_ShipDirectionMarker",
  "simpleplayerflags",
  "solsystem",
  "speedUp",
  "starpocalypse",
  "sun_starship_legends",
  "stelnet",
  "superweapons",
  "timid_supply_forging",
  "Terraforming and Station Construction",
  "trulyautomatedships",
  "US",
  "ungp",
  "unpackblueprints",
  "UGH",
  "wasabounties",
  "audio_plus",
  "shaderLib"
]}
[close]

using quality captains 1.0.4 with the latest version of AO


edit: ive also done runs with various factions and cant remember any making the game crash, although im sure one or two would

edit: edit: im an AO nerd at this point lol.  well.....i guess im a nerd for starsector mods in general.  didnt know you updated, gonna have to throw the update on my non AO install!
« Last Edit: August 30, 2021, 03:37:45 PM by 6chad.noirlee9 »
Logged
edit: edit: maybe were just falling with style LOL.  make a bubble, make the space in front of it smaller and just fall forward

Raio_Verusia

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Quality Captains: A Skill Rework v1.0.8
« Reply #94 on: August 31, 2021, 07:28:00 AM »

Archean Order is a Total Conversion mod, heh, it's not compatible with almost anything. Glad to hear QC is working fine, then!

Haha, yeah, like a charm! It probably needed that line uncommented to override something, I take it? I have no idea what I'm doing but whatever I did works lol
Logged

Morrokain

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1950
  • Megalith Dreadnought - Archean Order
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Quality Captains: A Skill Rework v1.0.8
« Reply #95 on: September 02, 2021, 09:17:57 PM »

Edit: It's quite possible maybe Archean Order requires that line un-commented? I didn't think it changed much with skills but maybe I'm wrong there?
Haha, yeah, like a charm! It probably needed that line uncommented to override something, I take it? I have no idea what I'm doing but whatever I did works lol
Hi just saw this! As a quick explanation, AO didn't replace many skills in past versions and so you likely wouldn't have noticed the couple that were overridden at that time, but it was necessary to replace most if not all skills for the 0.95a version of starsector because skills changed drastically from 1.91 to 1.95 and the TC's features require different skill thresholds among other things. So, Quality Captain's skills/config wouldn't be used unless it also replaces the csv - which at that point there is some kind of load order logic that determines which one is used. I *think* it loads backwards alphabetically as priority? I can't remember.

But anyway, the rule of thumb when running the AO mod is to disable that mod first if something appears to not be working correctly or crashes and see if that resolves it or at least changes anything. If it does, let me know about it on the AO thread first before posting a bug report on another mod's thread and I'll 1) try and reproduce it, and 2) attempt a workaround in a future version, walk you through a workaround or at least offer an explanation as to why the override causing the bug/behavior is necessary.

Really just generally speaking I prefer any questions/concerns that come up when AO is installed come to that thread first and then I can let other modders know if I discover that the bug came from their mod. That way, the chance of false bug reports from TC features is reduced.
Logged

Raio_Verusia

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Quality Captains: A Skill Rework v1.0.8
« Reply #96 on: September 02, 2021, 10:37:56 PM »

Really just generally speaking I prefer any questions/concerns that come up when AO is installed come to that thread first and then I can let other modders know if I discover that the bug came from their mod. That way, the chance of false bug reports from TC features is reduced.

Ah yes, that makes sense. I underestimated JUST how much AO changes. 1.0.4 of QC worked seemingly perfectly so I just assumed it was an issue with 1.0.8 which is my bad. I didn't think of going to AO's thread first as 1.0.4 working tricked me lol
Logged

Morrokain

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1950
  • Megalith Dreadnought - Archean Order
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Quality Captains: A Skill Rework v1.0.8
« Reply #97 on: September 03, 2021, 12:44:16 AM »

Ah yes, that makes sense. I underestimated JUST how much AO changes. 1.0.4 of QC worked seemingly perfectly so I just assumed it was an issue with 1.0.8 which is my bad. I didn't think of going to AO's thread first as 1.0.4 working tricked me lol
That's very understandable and to be honest I probably needed to put "this mod overrides skills" on the main page under the compatibility portion when I released that update. I actually thought I already did that but when I double-checked it doesn't mention it. I might have only included it in the original update post or thought it at one point and then didn't implement it at all and thought I did - which is completely my bad.

I just now updated the main page and I also made an attempt to make this information more accessible before the download button is clicked in any case. I do try to make as many mods compatible as possible, but as a total conversion mod that can be difficult and in this case both mods are doing the same thing - replacing the skill system. Not much I can do about that other than allow the skill-mod to have priority if they use the replace array and if they don't then adding in the disclaimer and otherwise helping users wanting to use the skill mod alongside the TC.
Logged

Raio_Verusia

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Quality Captains: A Skill Rework v1.0.8
« Reply #98 on: September 03, 2021, 03:07:54 AM »

Not much I can do about that other than allow the skill-mod to have priority if they use the replace array and if they don't then adding in the disclaimer and otherwise helping users wanting to use the skill mod alongside the TC.

Honestly, I think, after playing with QC without AO for a test, it isn't doing much of anything short of the rearranging of skill tiers (getting rid of it) as the skills are radically different without AO with QC. But I don't want to hijack this thread haha!
Logged

Dal

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 56
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Quality Captains: A Skill Rework v1.0.8
« Reply #99 on: September 03, 2021, 02:39:27 PM »

No worries about chatter from me. If you end up wanting to play just AO's skills without restriction, you can modify its skill_data.csv yourself so all the skills are set to "1" tier and they'll all be available from the start.
Logged

geminitiger

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 86
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: [0.95a] Quality Captains: A Skill Rework v1.0.8
« Reply #100 on: September 05, 2021, 04:10:56 AM »

Is there a version that allows you to use the vanilla skills without any tier on them? I really hate a bunch of skills in the middle of the trees.
And I really like the new "D mod be gone" in the vanilla skill system.

edit: I think I was able to do it myself based on what I read above, just set the all the skills to tier1, looks gtg.
« Last Edit: September 05, 2021, 04:25:40 AM by geminitiger »
Logged

CorsairZero

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Quality Captains: A Skill Rework v1.0.8
« Reply #101 on: September 07, 2021, 12:12:24 AM »

Dal, for how much crap I give you, I find QC to be one of the best S-mods for SS. Aka "I'm jaded".
Regardless, thanks for a high quality mod and fixes/updates/balancing alongside it.
No puns intended.
Logged

PreConceptor

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95a] Quality Captains: A Skill Rework v1.0.8
« Reply #102 on: September 11, 2021, 01:42:35 PM »

For a future update, would it be possible to add the functionality to Coordinated Maneuvers to allow CP regen bonuses for cruiser and capital flagships as well?
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7]