Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.96a is out! (05/05/23); Blog post: Colony Crises (11/24/23)

Author Topic: A little help adding my ship please?  (Read 3816 times)

Festivejelly

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
A little help adding my ship please?
« on: February 27, 2012, 07:46:53 PM »

Problem using my ship in the game.

So I finally made my new ship and i'm trying to play it in a mission but the game isnt playing ball can anyone help?

Its unable to display the mission briefing in the list, and when I try to play the mission I get a msgbox in windows stating "Fata;: null Check starfarer.log for more info."

So ofcourse I check the log and find this at the bottom:

26270 [Thread-6] WARN  com.fs.starfarer.loading.SpecStore  - Description with id st1_Enterprise_SHIP not found

To me im guessing it cant find my ship! Though Ive tried to follow the guides im at a loss at what to do here.

Can anyone help please?
Logged

Apophis

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 466
    • View Profile
Re: A little help adding my ship please?
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2012, 11:01:59 PM »

Have you added both .ship and .variant file?
Logged

Festivejelly

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: A little help adding my ship please?
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2012, 07:48:38 AM »

Yep ive added them both. I have a feeling ive done somthing wrong though but ive been over the files countless times but I just cant figure it out :-/
Logged

Etfaks

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: A little help adding my ship please?
« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2012, 07:56:38 AM »

This is usually my checklist for importing a ship

  • add graphic
  • add hull
  • make sure hull file points to the graphic
  • add variant
  • update the ship_data.csv file with a string for the ship
  • add ship to mission (make sure the mission works before adding the ship)
Logged
Dev of the mod "The Hoplites of Corinth" and  artist for "Portraits Galore".

Paul

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
    • View Profile
Re: A little help adding my ship please?
« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2012, 08:12:43 AM »

That error is simply warning you that you have no description for the ship. The description won't crash the game though, so you picked up on the wrong part of the error log.
Logged

Festivejelly

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: A little help adding my ship please?
« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2012, 08:21:07 AM »

I shall try again! :)

Thanks for the tips guys.
Logged

Festivejelly

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: A little help adding my ship please?
« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2012, 10:50:39 AM »

Also ive added some missle weapons to my ship, how do i specify how much ammo they have?

Really enjoying making this ship even if its taking a lot of trial and error!
Logged

Paul

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
    • View Profile
Re: A little help adding my ship please?
« Reply #7 on: February 28, 2012, 10:53:47 AM »

They'll have whatever ammo the missile rack is set to have - just like if you added missiles to a ship ingame. You can edit the missile in the weapons file to specify that if you're adding a custom missile.

Could also add the expanded missile racks hull mod to make them have more if you wanted.
Logged