Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8

Author Topic: [0.95a] STARSECTOR Ship&Weapon Editor (3.0.0-alpha-10)  (Read 66273 times)

Deathfly

  • Modders' Vanguard
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 244
  • Murdered by T. H. Morgan
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] STARSECTOR Ship&Weapon Editor (3.0.0-alpha-7)
« Reply #90 on: March 18, 2021, 07:27:42 AM »

3.0.0-alpha-8

    Fixed an issue that cause press Tab or Enter key while in text editing mode insert unintended \t or \r.


https://github.com/Deathfly/sf-ship-ed/releases/download/3.0.0/sf-ship-ed.3.0.0-alpha-8.exe
Logged
A not-so-noob functional geneticist
And a free bug hunter
Code and decode almost everythings with a genomics approach.
Served in Neutrino corporation as a long-term services and supports staff.

Caymon Joestar

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 56
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] STARSECTOR Ship&Weapon Editor (3.0.0-alpha-8)
« Reply #91 on: March 27, 2021, 10:39:36 AM »

Hopefully this will get updated quickly to 0.9.5a.

Current version interacts with 0.9.5... rather weirdly
Logged

Deathfly

  • Modders' Vanguard
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 244
  • Murdered by T. H. Morgan
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] STARSECTOR Ship&Weapon Editor (3.0.0-alpha-8)
« Reply #92 on: March 29, 2021, 09:07:08 PM »

3.0.0 alpha-9

- Compatible to StarSector 0.95a.
- Fixed a CSV file decoding issue, which cause single quotation mark and line-breaker-in-comment result unintended phrasing.

https://github.com/Deathfly/sf-ship-ed/releases/download/3.0.0/sf-ship-ed.3.0.0-alpha-9.exe
Logged
A not-so-noob functional geneticist
And a free bug hunter
Code and decode almost everythings with a genomics approach.
Served in Neutrino corporation as a long-term services and supports staff.

Üstad

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] STARSECTOR Ship&Weapon Editor (3.0.0-alpha-9)
« Reply #93 on: April 13, 2021, 07:46:46 AM »

I tried to change the vigilance's missile hard point to a high arc turret. But it didn't work, can anyone help me about this?

Spoiler
   "shieldRadius": 80,
    "spriteName": "graphics/ships/vigilance.png",
    "style": "MIDLINE",
    "viewOffset": 0,
    "weaponSlots": [
        {
            "angle": 60,
            "arc": 270,
            "id": "WS 001",
            "locations": [
                13,
                14
            ],
            "mount": "TURRET",
            "size": "MEDIUM",
            "type": "ENERGY"
        },
        {
            "angle": 0,
            "arc": 105,
            "id": "WS 002",
            "locations": [
                41,
                -13
            ],
            "mount": "TURRET",
            "size": "MEDIUM",
            "type": "MISSILE"
        }
    ],
    "width": 63
}
[close]

Logged

Wolfynator

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] STARSECTOR Ship&Weapon Editor (3.0.0-alpha-9)
« Reply #94 on: April 19, 2021, 06:22:51 AM »

Unless I'm missing something, editing built-in wings does not seem to work.
Logged

IonDragonX

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 603
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] STARSECTOR Ship&Weapon Editor (3.0.0-alpha-9)
« Reply #95 on: April 19, 2021, 02:41:06 PM »

Unless I'm missing something, editing built-in wings does not seem to work.
Did you remember to give the ship_data.csv entry any bays?
Logged

Wolfynator

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] STARSECTOR Ship&Weapon Editor (3.0.0-alpha-9)
« Reply #96 on: April 19, 2021, 06:48:05 PM »

Unless I'm missing something, editing built-in wings does not seem to work.
Did you remember to give the ship_data.csv entry any bays?

Ok I solved it, I thought it was 'left arrow key' to remove a built-in wing and not 'backspace' lol. On an unrelated note, do you happen to know if .ship files get merged/replaced entirely? For some context, I have replaced the built-in wing of the shepherd with my own fighter, but the shepherd still retains the old borer wing and the new one is simply added.
Logged

IonDragonX

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 603
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] STARSECTOR Ship&Weapon Editor (3.0.0-alpha-9)
« Reply #97 on: April 19, 2021, 07:41:00 PM »

Ok I solved it, I thought it was 'left arrow key' to remove a built-in wing and not 'backspace' lol. On an unrelated note, do you happen to know if .ship files get merged/replaced entirely? For some context, I have replaced the built-in wing of the shepherd with my own fighter, but the shepherd still retains the old borer wing and the new one is simply added.
Yes, vanilla content is loaded by default. Your mod has created a new shepherd.ship file that is being added to the vanilla one. Since the vanilla has Borers, the sum says it still has Borers, you see?

If your shepherd.ship file correctly defines a whole ship, you can use the 'replace' command in your mod_info.json file.
  "replace":["data\\hulls\\shepherd.ship"],
The replace command stops the vanilla game from loading the target file. It TRUSTS that you are supplying a correct replacement because there are dependencies upon that file. (ie if it aint right, you crash)
« Last Edit: April 19, 2021, 07:43:15 PM by IonDragonX »
Logged

Wolfynator

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] STARSECTOR Ship&Weapon Editor (3.0.0-alpha-9)
« Reply #98 on: April 21, 2021, 03:20:04 AM »

Ok I solved it, I thought it was 'left arrow key' to remove a built-in wing and not 'backspace' lol. On an unrelated note, do you happen to know if .ship files get merged/replaced entirely? For some context, I have replaced the built-in wing of the shepherd with my own fighter, but the shepherd still retains the old borer wing and the new one is simply added.
Yes, vanilla content is loaded by default. Your mod has created a new shepherd.ship file that is being added to the vanilla one. Since the vanilla has Borers, the sum says it still has Borers, you see?

If your shepherd.ship file correctly defines a whole ship, you can use the 'replace' command in your mod_info.json file.
  "replace":["data\\hulls\\shepherd.ship"],
The replace command stops the vanilla game from loading the target file. It TRUSTS that you are supplying a correct replacement because there are dependencies upon that file. (ie if it aint right, you crash)

Thanks, that was really helpful. Looks like I'm better off not replacing the vanilla shepherd and instead whip up a new one to avoid compatibility issues in the future.
Logged

Üstad

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] STARSECTOR Ship&Weapon Editor (3.0.0-alpha-9)
« Reply #99 on: April 21, 2021, 06:45:15 AM »

Ok I solved it, I thought it was 'left arrow key' to remove a built-in wing and not 'backspace' lol. On an unrelated note, do you happen to know if .ship files get merged/replaced entirely? For some context, I have replaced the built-in wing of the shepherd with my own fighter, but the shepherd still retains the old borer wing and the new one is simply added.
Yes, vanilla content is loaded by default. Your mod has created a new shepherd.ship file that is being added to the vanilla one. Since the vanilla has Borers, the sum says it still has Borers, you see?

If your shepherd.ship file correctly defines a whole ship, you can use the 'replace' command in your mod_info.json file.
  "replace":["data\\hulls\\shepherd.ship"],
The replace command stops the vanilla game from loading the target file. It TRUSTS that you are supplying a correct replacement because there are dependencies upon that file. (ie if it aint right, you crash)
It works for me as well but we didn't use to need to do this, not sure if the 0.95 update caused this. Is there any way around to implement our changes without the replace command in mod_info.json file?
Logged

IonDragonX

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 603
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] STARSECTOR Ship&Weapon Editor (3.0.0-alpha-9)
« Reply #100 on: April 21, 2021, 03:20:50 PM »

Ok I solved it, I thought it was 'left arrow key' to remove a built-in wing and not 'backspace' lol. On an unrelated note, do you happen to know if .ship files get merged/replaced entirely? For some context, I have replaced the built-in wing of the shepherd with my own fighter, but the shepherd still retains the old borer wing and the new one is simply added.
Yes, vanilla content is loaded by default. Your mod has created a new shepherd.ship file that is being added to the vanilla one. Since the vanilla has Borers, the sum says it still has Borers, you see?

If your shepherd.ship file correctly defines a whole ship, you can use the 'replace' command in your mod_info.json file.
  "replace":["data\\hulls\\shepherd.ship"],
The replace command stops the vanilla game from loading the target file. It TRUSTS that you are supplying a correct replacement because there are dependencies upon that file. (ie if it aint right, you crash)
It works for me as well but we didn't use to need to do this, not sure if the 0.95 update caused this. Is there any way around to implement our changes without the replace command in mod_info.json file?
Well, most mods just leave the Vanilla files alone and create new ships. If you make your mod use a different internal ID for your ship (EX: instead of "shepherd" you make "shepherd_ustad") then both versions of the ship would be in the game and not conflict.
Logged

Üstad

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] STARSECTOR Ship&Weapon Editor (3.0.0-alpha-9)
« Reply #101 on: April 21, 2021, 03:23:02 PM »

Is this only for ships? Because when I edit weapons the changes I made take place in the game.
Logged

IonDragonX

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 603
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] STARSECTOR Ship&Weapon Editor (3.0.0-alpha-9)
« Reply #102 on: April 21, 2021, 03:46:16 PM »

Is this only for ships? Because when I edit weapons the changes I made take place in the game.
Well, ships are actually *.variant in the campaign. When a new ship "pops" in campaign, the *.ship file has to be loaded first, the optional *.skin file is loaded second, and the *.variant is loaded last.
So, making a ship, skin, or variant file needs to be clean. Vanilla has already loaded its own information, so your changes are additive.
You are probably only changing values in the weapons_info.csv, maybe? Those changes will overwrite the vanilla csv file in every line with an identical ID name. Only new ID names are additive in a csv file.
Logged

Üstad

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] STARSECTOR Ship&Weapon Editor (3.0.0-alpha-9)
« Reply #103 on: April 22, 2021, 05:23:17 AM »

Is this only for ships? Because when I edit weapons the changes I made take place in the game.
Well, ships are actually *.variant in the campaign. When a new ship "pops" in campaign, the *.ship file has to be loaded first, the optional *.skin file is loaded second, and the *.variant is loaded last.
So, making a ship, skin, or variant file needs to be clean. Vanilla has already loaded its own information, so your changes are additive.
You are probably only changing values in the weapons_info.csv, maybe? Those changes will overwrite the vanilla csv file in every line with an identical ID name. Only new ID names are additive in a csv file.
I change some things about .wpn files as well such as "mountTypeOverride":"HYBRID", thing. When I change it without replace command the changes take part in the game.
Logged

IonDragonX

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 603
    • View Profile
Re: [0.9.1a] STARSECTOR Ship&Weapon Editor (3.0.0-alpha-8)
« Reply #104 on: April 23, 2021, 08:52:07 PM »

3.0.0 alpha-9

- Compatible to StarSector 0.95a.
- Fixed a CSV file decoding issue, which cause single quotation mark and line-breaker-in-comment result unintended phrasing.

https://github.com/Deathfly/sf-ship-ed/releases/download/3.0.0/sf-ship-ed.3.0.0-alpha-9.exe
In the variant mode, could you increase the weapon groups to 7? Would be nice.
« Last Edit: April 24, 2021, 07:22:32 AM by IonDragonX »
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8