Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 ... 15 16 [17] 18 19 ... 21

Author Topic: [0.97a] GraphicsLib 1.9.0  (Read 760772 times)

Umhilmao87

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: [0.7.2a] GraphicsLib 1.0.2
« Reply #240 on: August 26, 2022, 11:16:09 AM »

is there a way of installing this or using this on a mac?
all the other mods that work are folders but when i download this it just comes up with a page.
i cant find a way to make it work, constant crashes
eg. Blackrockdrive is a blue folder with data and stuff inside it while graphicslib is a page and when opened with console it comes up with an alien language
(i2Àn¦\tÄÖ?]?W[Øvåÿ¨?4ÏÑ@IßÓÜ»>JÓ?e?Æ¿Z×E&mj5ÃIƬûì?P(gc³bì9Õ5÷àô_^Æ)
?PLZ HELP
 ??? ??? ???

Hey there, I have a sort of similar problem, But on windows. Instead of it just showing up in the standard format of
a file with all the binaries/jars/meshes/Misc stuff cut up into individual files and placed inside a folder, Which appears to be the normal format,
It just comes out as a .z file, And starsector can't recognize it, How do i fix this?

install 7zip, the download links are here https://www.7-zip.org/download.html
Dude it worked! thx so frickin much man.
Logged

SirStargateur

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95.1a] GraphicsLib 1.6.1
« Reply #241 on: September 20, 2022, 08:23:49 PM »

Well I was writing a long post to explain my problem with the mod intil I was forced to hard restart my PC cause the mod make starsector going crazy, so here the short:

- RTX 3070 Ti
- vsync disable
- main menu of game is lagy as ***, didn't try to start a game it's was just too lagy
- mod lazylib + graphiclib only are activated
- the log https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/312923740616917012/1021983528994476083/starsector.log
- "enableShaders":false make problem go away

FIX:

 - do not use nvdia fps limiter settings look it's also make starsector bug (really disable vsync and this just for starsector make no sense all my other game run perfectly)
« Last Edit: September 20, 2022, 09:01:55 PM by SirStargateur »
Logged

Xaiier

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 56
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95.1a] GraphicsLib 1.6.1
« Reply #242 on: September 24, 2022, 05:08:16 PM »

Hi DR,

The implementation of fastSin in ShaderLib appears to be incorrect. This results in functions dependent on it, like attaching a light to a ship with an offset, to not work correctly.

My test code:
Code
float[] test = new float[7];
test[0] = 0;
test[1] = 45;
test[2] = 90;
test[3] = 270;
test[4] = 20;
test[5] = 37;
test[6] = 186;

for (int x = 0; x < test.length; x++){
float rad = (float) Math.toRadians(test[x]);

Global.getLogger(this.getClass()).info("GraphicsLib sin of " + test[x] + " is " + ShaderLib.fastSin(rad));
Global.getLogger(this.getClass()).info("LazyLib sin of " + test[x] + " is " + FastTrig.sin(rad));
}

The output:
Quote
GraphicsLib sin of 0.0 is 0.0
LazyLib sin of 0.0 is 0.0
GraphicsLib sin of 45.0 is 0.999999999999999
LazyLib sin of 45.0 is 0.7071067966408575
GraphicsLib sin of 90.0 is -8.742278030988645E-8
LazyLib sin of 90.0 is 0.999999999999999
GraphicsLib sin of 270.0 is -2.3849761460703128E-8
LazyLib sin of 270.0 is -0.9999999999999999
GraphicsLib sin of 20.0 is 0.6427875941288312
LazyLib sin of 20.0 is 0.34202013378349166
GraphicsLib sin of 37.0 is 0.9612616839391669
LazyLib sin of 37.0 is 0.6018150057687945
GraphicsLib sin of 186.0 is 0.20791163433478863
LazyLib sin of 186.0 is -0.10452843455340298

The issue stems from reduceSinAngle, specifically this line:
Code
double radiansPredicate = radians % 3.141592653589793D * 2.0D;
Operator precedence results in the modulus happening before the multiplication, which is incorrect. Fixing the order of operations results in valid output and should resolve the issues I'm seeing.
Logged

Xaiier

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 56
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95.1a] GraphicsLib 1.6.1
« Reply #243 on: September 25, 2022, 03:59:41 PM »

Hi, me again,

There's an issue with the rendering of lights within an arc in certain cases. This video shows the behavior. In this example I am expanding the arc start and end increasingly relative to the facing of the turret, however it looks the same when using a fixed arc that passes through the 0 direction. The math for clamping the values within the 0-360 range checks out, and the effect otherwise looks correct.



I believe this is an issue at the shader level. It only occurs when both the end < start (implying the arc is passing through 0) AND (360 - start) > end (implying the larger part of the arc is on the 360 side of 0).
Logged

Kobold

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95.1a] GraphicsLib 1.6.1
« Reply #244 on: September 29, 2022, 11:57:25 AM »

so, i have starsector at 6GB of ram allocation currently and when im in fights, i get a black screen, does anyone know why? (i increased ram after it happened once)
Logged

Rauschkind

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 175
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95.1a] GraphicsLib 1.6.1
« Reply #245 on: October 02, 2022, 12:21:16 PM »

enabling this mod will get my game stuck at 100% loading bar progress with 0% processor load and ~3gb or ram allocated in taskmanager.
i did tweak my games configuration files to use more memory.
i did not attempt anything to resolve this issue (aside of disabling the mod)
Logged

CMP01

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95.1a] GraphicsLib 1.6.1
« Reply #246 on: October 18, 2022, 12:15:59 AM »

Hi all,

Kind of a dummy question here maybe. I might be wrong here but unlike other mods (Nexerelin, Lazylib, MagicLib etc) is this one supposed to be unzipped and chucked into the mods file? Cos that's what I did and it's not showing up in mods on the launcher. Or at least, another mod there (Dassault-Mikoyan Engineering) says this one isn't installed...

Pardon if I missed something obvious but aside from messing around, gaming and building 'em, my formal PC education was about non existent, and has only improved slightly since through trial and error (at the time I left school several BBC Micro's and one Archimedes nobody was allowed to touch was the best we had) and I occasionally get stuck... so if anybody could give me a boot in the right direction it'd be very appreciated.
Logged

Ruddygreat

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 524
  • Seals :^)
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95.1a] GraphicsLib 1.6.1
« Reply #247 on: October 18, 2022, 02:03:46 AM »

Hi all,

Kind of a dummy question here maybe. I might be wrong here but unlike other mods (Nexerelin, Lazylib, MagicLib etc) is this one supposed to be unzipped and chucked into the mods file? Cos that's what I did and it's not showing up in mods on the launcher. Or at least, another mod there (Dassault-Mikoyan Engineering) says this one isn't installed...

Pardon if I missed something obvious but aside from messing around, gaming and building 'em, my formal PC education was about non existent, and has only improved slightly since through trial and error (at the time I left school several BBC Micro's and one Archimedes nobody was allowed to touch was the best we had) and I occasionally get stuck... so if anybody could give me a boot in the right direction it'd be very appreciated.

this mod needs to be activated the same as any others, however it comes as a .7z file that windows can't open by default.
You need to download 7zip (and I think that winrar can do it as well? not entirely sure because I don't use it) to extract them, you can get it here https://www.7-zip.org/ from the first download link

CMP01

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95.1a] GraphicsLib 1.6.1
« Reply #248 on: October 18, 2022, 02:33:05 AM »

Hi all,

Kind of a dummy question here maybe. I might be wrong here but unlike other mods (Nexerelin, Lazylib, MagicLib etc) is this one supposed to be unzipped and chucked into the mods file? Cos that's what I did and it's not showing up in mods on the launcher. Or at least, another mod there (Dassault-Mikoyan Engineering) says this one isn't installed...

Pardon if I missed something obvious but aside from messing around, gaming and building 'em, my formal PC education was about non existent, and has only improved slightly since through trial and error (at the time I left school several BBC Micro's and one Archimedes nobody was allowed to touch was the best we had) and I occasionally get stuck... so if anybody could give me a boot in the right direction it'd be very appreciated.

this mod needs to be activated the same as any others, however it comes as a .7z file that windows can't open by default.
You need to download 7zip (and I think that winrar can do it as well? not entirely sure because I don't use it) to extract them, you can get it here https://www.7-zip.org/ from the first download link

Well, like I said... dummy here...

So yeah, I figured after a couple of tries that maybe the zippy biz was at fault. Only by then for some reason when I DL'd it again instead of being that .7z file it was a Notepad one that I couldn't do anything with...
Ok... I may have misclicked somewhere (tbf my browser is full of forum tabs and I have a couple extra windows open) but yeah...
Didn't know how to stop it doing that (after all, I'm still unclear on the basic kb shortcuts yet) so I just DL'd it on our laptop and chucked it across.
It's now appearing in the mod list and I guess all fine. Good call on 7zip though... I had no idea it wasn't actually on my PC, must've forgotten to install it post build aso. Maybe dangerous for me to mod this game then, having software dyslexia or whatever... but I do love it.

Cheers for the help, much appreciated.
Logged

Dark.Revenant

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2806
    • View Profile
    • Sc2Mafia
Re: [0.95.1a] GraphicsLib 1.6.1
« Reply #249 on: November 06, 2022, 01:47:24 PM »

Hi, me again,

There's an issue with the rendering of lights within an arc in certain cases. This video shows the behavior. In this example I am expanding the arc start and end increasingly relative to the facing of the turret, however it looks the same when using a fixed arc that passes through the 0 direction. The math for clamping the values within the 0-360 range checks out, and the effect otherwise looks correct.



I believe this is an issue at the shader level. It only occurs when both the end < start (implying the arc is passing through 0) AND (360 - start) > end (implying the larger part of the arc is on the 360 side of 0).

Sorry for the delay.  I've attached a patch that should resolve the issue.

[attachment deleted by admin]
Logged

Xaiier

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 56
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95.1a] GraphicsLib 1.6.1
« Reply #250 on: November 08, 2022, 09:41:54 PM »

Sorry for the delay.  I've attached a patch that should resolve the issue.

Thanks, I applied the patch but now I'm not getting any light effects at all.

Code
16794 [Thread-3] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.loading.LoadingUtils  - Loading JSON from [GRAPHICS_OPTIONS.ini]
16828 [Thread-3] ERROR org.dark.shaders.util.ShaderLib  - Error creating shader: 0(88) : error C1503: undefined variable "endArc"
0(88) : error C1503: undefined variable "startArc"

16828 [Thread-3] ERROR org.dark.shaders.light.LightShader  - Lighting shader compile error!  Lighting disabled!

I took a closer look at the new frag shaders, and you are still using the startArc and endArc variables in part of coneCutoff. Replacing them with the new vec2 arc reference resolves the issue, and looks and works correctly. I can also confirm the fastSin fix appears to be working correctly.

EDIT: That's weird, my test light is supposed to have infinite duration (lifetime of -1) but it disappears after 60s. I see there is now a superLifetime defaulting to 60 that needs to be explicitly set with the setPermanent func.
« Last Edit: November 08, 2022, 10:09:28 PM by Xaiier »
Logged

Dark.Revenant

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2806
    • View Profile
    • Sc2Mafia
Re: [0.95.1a] GraphicsLib 1.6.1
« Reply #251 on: November 10, 2022, 11:47:34 AM »

Sorry for the delay.  I've attached a patch that should resolve the issue.

Thanks, I applied the patch but now I'm not getting any light effects at all.

Code
16794 [Thread-3] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.loading.LoadingUtils  - Loading JSON from [GRAPHICS_OPTIONS.ini]
16828 [Thread-3] ERROR org.dark.shaders.util.ShaderLib  - Error creating shader: 0(88) : error C1503: undefined variable "endArc"
0(88) : error C1503: undefined variable "startArc"

16828 [Thread-3] ERROR org.dark.shaders.light.LightShader  - Lighting shader compile error!  Lighting disabled!

I took a closer look at the new frag shaders, and you are still using the startArc and endArc variables in part of coneCutoff. Replacing them with the new vec2 arc reference resolves the issue, and looks and works correctly. I can also confirm the fastSin fix appears to be working correctly.

EDIT: That's weird, my test light is supposed to have infinite duration (lifetime of -1) but it disappears after 60s. I see there is now a superLifetime defaulting to 60 that needs to be explicitly set with the setPermanent func.

Thanks!  Made the fix in my dev branch.

Lights have an explicit function to set them to permanency, since if I don't do that, there's a possibility that carelessly-created old lights will just clog up the scene.  That's not a new feature, though; it's been around for years.
Logged

Sorbo

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95.1a] GraphicsLib 1.6.1
« Reply #252 on: December 03, 2022, 07:45:42 AM »

How do I enable vanilla ship explosion flashes?
Logged

shenkuri

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95.1a] GraphicsLib 1.6.1
« Reply #253 on: December 17, 2022, 11:00:08 AM »

I will try to keep this post simple. for some really odd reason my computer thinks this is a word-pad document when i download it  thus making it incompatible to slide into the mods folder of the game. so i'm curious is there a way to stop the computer from downloading it as a WordPad file please?
Logged

Ruddygreat

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 524
  • Seals :^)
    • View Profile
Re: [0.95.1a] GraphicsLib 1.6.1
« Reply #254 on: December 17, 2022, 01:34:37 PM »

I will try to keep this post simple. for some really odd reason my computer thinks this is a word-pad document when i download it  thus making it incompatible to slide into the mods folder of the game. so i'm curious is there a way to stop the computer from downloading it as a WordPad file please?

You need to download 7zip (and I think that winrar can do it as well? not entirely sure because I don't use it) to extract the mod, you can get it here https://www.7-zip.org/ from the first download link
Pages: 1 ... 15 16 [17] 18 19 ... 21