Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.95a is out! (03/26/21)

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 28

Author Topic: [Important!] Modded System Requirements  (Read 314352 times)

MooBoogie

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Can't Load Saves? Use 64-bit Java! (Instructions Inside)
« Reply #45 on: December 30, 2014, 03:36:24 AM »

I never had the previous one installed, like I said, I got the game maybe three days ago.

:/
Logged

Agalyon

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Can't Load Saves? Use 64-bit Java! (Instructions Inside)
« Reply #46 on: January 26, 2015, 04:12:17 AM »

I am having problems loading my save files, after trying every different way of modifying the launch that you posted. I think it has to do with quicksaving, as that's the only time its happened. It crashes when I quicksave, and the associated save file can no longer be loaded. Its rather large, so I posted it on mediafire as well as what I think is important, as im not sure what part of it I need to post.

http://www.mediafire.com/download/gfgraqnj9ac3w4n/starsector.log

Code
361509 [Thread-14] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.campaign.save.CampaignGameManager  - Loading progress: 0.9985934
361523 [Thread-5] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.campaign.save.CampaignGameManager  - Error loading
361523 [Thread-5] ERROR com.fs.starfarer.campaign.save.CampaignGameManager  -  : ParseError at [row,col]:[773774,17]
Message: Premature end of file. :  : ParseError at [row,col]:[773774,17]
Message: Premature end of file.
---- Debugging information ----
message             :  : ParseError at [row,col]:[773774,17]
Message: Premature end of file.
cause-exception     : com.thoughtworks.xstream.io.StreamException
cause-message       :  : ParseError at [row,col]:[773774,17]
Message: Premature end of file.
class               : java.util.ArrayList
required-type       : java.util.ArrayList
converter-type      : com.thoughtworks.xstream.converters.collections.CollectionConverter
path                : /CampaignEngine/hyperspace/objects/saved/JumpPoint/orbit/starSystem/objects/saved/CampaignPlanet[2]/market/economy/markets/Market/primaryEntity/orbit/f/orbit/f/containingLocation/objects/saved/CampaignPlanet[2]/scripts/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.PatrolFleetManager/activePatrols/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.PatrolFleetManager$PatrolFleetData/fleet/ai/tempDestToken/scripts/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.MercAndPirateFleetManager/activeFleets/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.MercAndPirateFleetManager$ActiveFleetData/fleet/containingLocation/objects/saved/CampaignPlanet[2]/scripts/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.PatrolFleetManager/activePatrols/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.PatrolFleetManager$PatrolFleetData/fleet/ai/tempDestToken/scripts/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.MercAndPirateFleetManager/activeFleets/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.MercAndPirateFleetManager$ActiveFleetData/fleet/scripts/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.PirateAssignmentAI/basePicked/primaryEntity/orbit/f/orbit/f/containingLocation/objects/saved/CampaignPlanet[2]/scripts/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.MercAndPirateFleetManager/activeFleets/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.MercAndPirateFleetManager$ActiveFleetData/fleet/scripts/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.PirateAssignmentAI/basePicked/primaryEntity/orbit/focus/orbit/f/containingLocation/objects/saved/CampaignPlanet[5]/scripts/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.PatrolFleetManager/activePatrols/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.PatrolFleetManager$PatrolFleetData[3]/fleet/ai/pursuitAndEvasionModule/target/scripts/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.PirateAssignmentAI/data/sourceMarket/primaryEntity/orbit/f/containingLocation/objects/saved/CampaignPlanet[4]/scripts/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.MercAndPirateFleetManager/activeFleets/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.MercAndPirateFleetManager$ActiveFleetData[2]/fleet/scripts/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.PirateAssignmentAI/basePicked/primaryEntity/orbit/f/containingLocation/objects/saved/CampaignPlanet[2]/scripts/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.PatrolFleetManager/activePatrols/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.PatrolFleetManager$PatrolFleetData[3]/fleet/ai/pursuitAndEvasionModule/target/scripts/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.PirateAssignmentAI/data/sourceMarket/primaryEntity/orbit/f/orbit/f/containingLocation/objects/saved/CampaignPlanet[4]/scripts/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.MercAndPirateFleetManager/activeFleets/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.MercAndPirateFleetManager$ActiveFleetData[2]/fleet/ai/assignments/FleetAssignmentData/target/orbit/starSystem/objects/saved/CampaignFleet[15]/fleetData/members/FleetMember[14]/repairTracker/recentEvents
line number         : 773774
class[1]            : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.fleet.RepairTracker
converter-type[1]   : com.thoughtworks.xstream.converters.reflection.ReflectionConverter
class[2]            : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.fleet.FleetMember
class[3]            : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.fleet.FleetData
class[4]            : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.fleet.CampaignFleet
class[5]            : com.fs.util.container.repo.ObjectRepository
class[6]            : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.StarSystem
class[7]            : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.StarSystem$UpdateFromHyperspaceLocation
class[8]            : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.JumpPoint
class[9]            : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.ai.CampaignFleetAI$FleetAssignmentData
class[10]           : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.ai.CampaignFleetAI
class[11]           : com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.MercAndPirateFleetManager$ActiveFleetData
class[12]           : com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.MercAndPirateFleetManager
class[13]           : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.CampaignPlanet
class[14]           : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.CircularOrbit
class[15]           : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.econ.Market
class[16]           : com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.PirateAssignmentAI
class[17]           : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.ai.PursuitAndEvasionModule
class[18]           : com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.PatrolFleetManager$PatrolFleetData
class[19]           : com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.PatrolFleetManager
class[20]           : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.CircularOrbitPointDown
class[21]           : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.CustomCampaignEntity
class[22]           : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.econ.Economy
class[23]           : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.Hyperspace
class[24]           : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.CampaignEngine
converter-type[2]   : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.save.int
version             : null
-------------------------------
com.thoughtworks.xstream.converters.ConversionException:  : ParseError at [row,col]:[773774,17]
Message: Premature end of file. :  : ParseError at [row,col]:[773774,17]
Message: Premature end of file.
---- Debugging information ----
message             :  : ParseError at [row,col]:[773774,17]
Message: Premature end of file.
cause-exception     : com.thoughtworks.xstream.io.StreamException
cause-message       :  : ParseError at [row,col]:[773774,17]
Message: Premature end of file.
class               : java.util.ArrayList
required-type       : java.util.ArrayList
converter-type      : com.thoughtworks.xstream.converters.collections.CollectionConverter
path                : /CampaignEngine/hyperspace/objects/saved/JumpPoint/orbit/starSystem/objects/saved/CampaignPlanet[2]/market/economy/markets/Market/primaryEntity/orbit/f/orbit/f/containingLocation/objects/saved/CampaignPlanet[2]/scripts/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.PatrolFleetManager/activePatrols/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.PatrolFleetManager$PatrolFleetData/fleet/ai/tempDestToken/scripts/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.MercAndPirateFleetManager/activeFleets/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.MercAndPirateFleetManager$ActiveFleetData/fleet/containingLocation/objects/saved/CampaignPlanet[2]/scripts/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.PatrolFleetManager/activePatrols/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.PatrolFleetManager$PatrolFleetData/fleet/ai/tempDestToken/scripts/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.MercAndPirateFleetManager/activeFleets/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.MercAndPirateFleetManager$ActiveFleetData/fleet/scripts/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.PirateAssignmentAI/basePicked/primaryEntity/orbit/f/orbit/f/containingLocation/objects/saved/CampaignPlanet[2]/scripts/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.MercAndPirateFleetManager/activeFleets/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.MercAndPirateFleetManager$ActiveFleetData/fleet/scripts/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.PirateAssignmentAI/basePicked/primaryEntity/orbit/focus/orbit/f/containingLocation/objects/saved/CampaignPlanet[5]/scripts/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.PatrolFleetManager/activePatrols/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.PatrolFleetManager$PatrolFleetData[3]/fleet/ai/pursuitAndEvasionModule/target/scripts/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.PirateAssignmentAI/data/sourceMarket/primaryEntity/orbit/f/containingLocation/objects/saved/CampaignPlanet[4]/scripts/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.MercAndPirateFleetManager/activeFleets/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.MercAndPirateFleetManager$ActiveFleetData[2]/fleet/scripts/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.PirateAssignmentAI/basePicked/primaryEntity/orbit/f/containingLocation/objects/saved/CampaignPlanet[2]/scripts/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.PatrolFleetManager/activePatrols/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.PatrolFleetManager$PatrolFleetData[3]/fleet/ai/pursuitAndEvasionModule/target/scripts/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.PirateAssignmentAI/data/sourceMarket/primaryEntity/orbit/f/orbit/f/containingLocation/objects/saved/CampaignPlanet[4]/scripts/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.MercAndPirateFleetManager/activeFleets/com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.MercAndPirateFleetManager$ActiveFleetData[2]/fleet/ai/assignments/FleetAssignmentData/target/orbit/starSystem/objects/saved/CampaignFleet[15]/fleetData/members/FleetMember[14]/repairTracker/recentEvents
line number         : 773774
class[1]            : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.fleet.RepairTracker
converter-type[1]   : com.thoughtworks.xstream.converters.reflection.ReflectionConverter
class[2]            : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.fleet.FleetMember
class[3]            : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.fleet.FleetData
class[4]            : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.fleet.CampaignFleet
class[5]            : com.fs.util.container.repo.ObjectRepository
class[6]            : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.StarSystem
class[7]            : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.StarSystem$UpdateFromHyperspaceLocation
class[8]            : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.JumpPoint
class[9]            : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.ai.CampaignFleetAI$FleetAssignmentData
class[10]           : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.ai.CampaignFleetAI
class[11]           : com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.MercAndPirateFleetManager$ActiveFleetData
class[12]           : com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.MercAndPirateFleetManager
class[13]           : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.CampaignPlanet
class[14]           : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.CircularOrbit
class[15]           : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.econ.Market
class[16]           : com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.PirateAssignmentAI
class[17]           : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.ai.PursuitAndEvasionModule
class[18]           : com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.PatrolFleetManager$PatrolFleetData
class[19]           : com.fs.starfarer.api.impl.campaign.fleets.PatrolFleetManager
class[20]           : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.CircularOrbitPointDown
class[21]           : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.CustomCampaignEntity
class[22]           : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.econ.Economy
class[23]           : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.Hyperspace
class[24]           : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.CampaignEngine
converter-type[2]   : com.fs.starfarer.campaign.save.int
version             : null
-------------------------------
at com.thoughtworks.xstream.core.TreeUnmarshaller.convert(TreeUnmarshaller.java:79)
at com.thoughtworks.xstream.core.AbstractReferenceUnmarshaller.convert(AbstractReferenceUnmarshaller.java:65)
at com.thoughtworks.xstream.core.TreeUnmarshaller.convertAnother(TreeUnmarshaller.java:66)
at com.thoughtworks.xstream.converters.reflection.AbstractReflectionConverter.unmarshallField(AbstractReflectionConverter.java:355)
at com.thoughtworks.xstream.converters.reflection.AbstractReflectionConverter.doUnmarshal(AbstractReflectionConverter.java:306)
at com.thoughtworks.xstream.converters.reflection.AbstractReflectionConverter.unmarshal(AbstractReflectionConverter.java:234)
at com.thoughtworks.xstream.core.TreeUnmarshaller.convert(TreeUnmarshaller.java:72)
« Last Edit: January 26, 2015, 04:18:46 AM by HeartofDiscord »
Logged

Dark.Revenant

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2657
    • View Profile
    • Sc2Mafia
    • Email
Re: Can't Load Saves? Use 64-bit Java! (Instructions Inside)
« Reply #47 on: January 26, 2015, 07:05:50 AM »

The save is corrupted.  You have to restore from the automatic backup (should be in a .zip file).
Logged

Agalyon

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Can't Load Saves? Use 64-bit Java! (Instructions Inside)
« Reply #48 on: January 26, 2015, 02:51:47 PM »

But what is actually causing it? Can I just not quicksave? Not gonna lie, that really sucks. Definitely not the end of the world, but quicksaving is really nice, and I love to use it whenever I can. Don't mean to be rude, ill look into recovering it. It just seems odd, I've never had a problem until I tried quicksaving a few times, like 10, 20+
« Last Edit: January 26, 2015, 02:55:33 PM by HeartofDiscord »
Logged

Dark.Revenant

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2657
    • View Profile
    • Sc2Mafia
    • Email
Re: Can't Load Saves? Use 64-bit Java! (Instructions Inside)
« Reply #49 on: January 26, 2015, 03:22:23 PM »

It might be because you did not allocate enough memory to begin with.  I doubt quick save is any different than a manual save.
Logged

Agalyon

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Can't Load Saves? Use 64-bit Java! (Instructions Inside)
« Reply #50 on: January 27, 2015, 03:18:06 AM »

It might be because you did not allocate enough memory to begin with.  I doubt quick save is any different than a manual save.

I currently have 3-6 gigs allocated, and I've checked to make sure its actually using them. If that's not enough, that's staggering.
Logged

orost

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 430
    • View Profile
Re: Can't Load Saves? Use 64-bit Java! (Instructions Inside)
« Reply #51 on: January 27, 2015, 03:51:54 AM »

I think what DR means is that you didn't have enough memory allocated at the time when you saved the game, which caused the saving to fail and corrupt the file. If you start a new game now with more memory, it shouldn't happen again.
Logged

Agalyon

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Can't Load Saves? Use 64-bit Java! (Instructions Inside)
« Reply #52 on: January 27, 2015, 04:31:15 AM »

No, I had 3-6 the entire time, over 3 or 4 separate instances, and I just tested it again with a staggering 6-8. If its memory, its not on my end. It absolutely 100% has something to do with quicksaveing.
« Last Edit: January 27, 2015, 04:35:57 AM by HeartofDiscord »
Logged

Julzjuice

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: Can't Load Saves? Use 64-bit Java! (Instructions Inside)
« Reply #53 on: January 29, 2015, 08:17:57 AM »

No, I had 3-6 the entire time, over 3 or 4 separate instances, and I just tested it again with a staggering 6-8. If its memory, its not on my end. It absolutely 100% has something to do with quicksaveing.

Hello sir,

I was about to report the exact same problem. I will say only this, I AM SO GOD DAMN TIRED OF HAVING TO RESTART A NEW GAME BECAUSE MY SAVE FILES GET CORRUPTED!

Like I said, I have the exact same problem. I have 5 gig of allocated memory to my 64 bit java. Each time I quick save before a tough fight, and exit the game while in the said fight because I am losing or lost too many ship for my taste, I get back to the main menu, press continue, the game wont load. I have to CTRL+ALT+DELETE out of the game. And then, when I start the game all over my save wont load at all again. I even tried to reboot. What in hell causes that? I am sooooooooooooooo tired of having to start all over again! Now before you say use the .bak save file in the save folder, EVEN THAT ONE gets corrupted sometimes. I am 100% sure that has nothing to do with my rig. Something is happening in the game and it is corrupting my saves. I am pretty sure to that its the quicksave button.

Could it be a problem of quitting the game while in a fight? I am so sure we are not the only ones having that problem. This is a cry for help!! I love this damn game so much... But this is so annoying. How can this game be so demanding on my computer? It uses the 5 gigs all the time.

**** I am using SS+ with all the related factions ***** My Java is the latest 64 bit version. I have 8 gig of RAM. A Geforce 460M and an i5 3.2 GHZ.

 :-[
Logged

Dark.Revenant

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2657
    • View Profile
    • Sc2Mafia
    • Email
Re: Can't Load Saves? Use 64-bit Java! (Instructions Inside)
« Reply #54 on: January 29, 2015, 08:38:10 AM »

I have not yet encountered this problem, but all the same I have 6 GB allocated.
Logged

Valkyriiking

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Can't Load Saves? Use 64-bit Java! (Instructions Inside)
« Reply #55 on: January 31, 2015, 03:20:01 AM »

tried everything so far... nothing worked for me all my saves don't work
vmparams -
Spoiler
java -Djava.library.path=native\windows -Xms1g -Xmx3g -Dcom.fs.starfarer.settings.paths.logs=. -Dcom.fs.starfarer.settings.paths.saves=../saves -Dcom.fs.starfarer.settings.paths.screenshots=../screenshots -Dcom.fs.starfarer.settings.paths.mods=../mods -classpath janino.jar;commons-compiler.jar;commons-compiler-jdk.jar;starfarer.res.jar;starfarer.api.jar;starfarer_obf.jar;jogg-0.0.7.jar;jorbis-0.0.15.jar;json.jar;lwjgl.jar;lwjgl_util_applet.jar;jinput.jar;lwjgl_test.jar;log4j-1.2.9.jar;lwjgl_util.jar;fs.sound_obf.jar;fs.common_obf.jar;xstream-1.4.2.jar;"..\\mods\Version Checker\jars\lw_VersionChecker.jar" com.fs.starfarer.StarfarerLauncher
[close]
starsector.bat
Spoiler
java -Djava.library.path=native\windows -Xms1g -Xmx3g -Dcom.fs.starfarer.settings.paths.logs=. -Dcom.fs.starfarer.settings.paths.saves=saves -Dcom.fs.starfarer.settings.paths.screenshots=screenshots -Dcom.fs.starfarer.settings.paths.mods=mods -classpath janino.jar;commons-compiler.jar;commons-compiler-jdk.jar;starfarer.res.jar;starfarer.api.jar;starfarer_obf.jar;jogg-0.0.7.jar;jorbis-0.0.15.jar;json.jar;lwjgl.jar;lwjgl_util_applet.jar;jinput.jar;lwjgl_test.jar;log4j-1.2.9.jar;lwjgl_util.jar;fs.sound_obf.jar;fs.common_obf.jar;xstream-1.4.2.jar com.fs.starfarer.StarfarerLauncher
[close]
Logged

Dark.Revenant

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2657
    • View Profile
    • Sc2Mafia
    • Email
Re: Can't Load Saves? Use 64-bit Java! (Instructions Inside)
« Reply #56 on: January 31, 2015, 03:21:38 AM »

They could be corrupted, or you might not have enough memory.  Saves with lots of mods have been known to need 5 GB.
Logged

TartarusMkII

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 164
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Can't Load Saves? Use 64-bit Java! (Instructions Inside)
« Reply #57 on: February 02, 2015, 05:29:25 AM »

Hey, I thought I had this fixed but did not, so I came to this thread to make sure I did it right, but broke my game- So I reinstalled, and narrowed down my issue, but I have no idea what is going on.

After putting JRE7 into the core folder to replace the old one (removing the old first then renaming, etc), I edit the vmparams file as it says in the original post- but then the game does not start. Nothing happens, ever. Nothing appears, nothing technically crashes, there is no error log (the log that exists just says there was not enough memory from the last time it was working).

The only thing I change is the 1024 values to either 3g or 6g, or their MB equivalents (divisions of 8). Anything I change to vmparams causes the game to simply not launch.

What the hell do I do? =(
Logged

Dark.Revenant

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2657
    • View Profile
    • Sc2Mafia
    • Email
Re: Can't Load Saves? Use 64-bit Java! (Instructions Inside)
« Reply #58 on: February 02, 2015, 07:21:49 AM »

Are you sure that you're replacing the game's copy of Java with a version that's actually 64 bits?
Logged

TartarusMkII

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 164
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Can't Load Saves? Use 64-bit Java! (Instructions Inside)
« Reply #59 on: February 02, 2015, 07:40:23 AM »

Hey D.R thank's for the reply.

I did not realize that Java would install itself to the right place depending on the version I got, so I just assumed that I knew better in the past, and already had 64bit version, but I did not.

However, after setting it up properly. setting xms to 3g and the max to 6g, trying to load my safe caused windows to totally freeze after an audio glitch about 50% through loading the save. I had to force restart the computer, and I'm restarting it now. What do you think could have caused that? I have 8g of RAM.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 28