Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.97a is out! (02/02/24); New blog post: Simulator Enhancements (03/13/24)

Author Topic: General modding help request  (Read 2898 times)

TheDTYP

• Commander
    • View Profile
General modding help request
« on: May 19, 2014, 06:46:10 PM »

Hello, modders. I want to say right off the bat: I have zero experience modding and I have little to no clue what I'm doing. The only things I have done were attempt to make a faction and mission, but it seems like the available guides are out of date.
Basically what I wanted to do was make a small faction (No special ships or systems or anything fancy, just another group of people who use vanilla ships) and a solar system for them to call home. Being that the "Guide to adding your own faction to the game" is almost two years old and was around long before other solar systems were implemented, I'm now pretty stuck. Much of this file stuff is absolute gibberish to me. What I tried to do was copy and paste other files over and try to edit them myself, but that ended in disaster.
I know you have better things to do,  but I'd really appreciate it if someone could have the time and the heart to create an up to date guide on how to build a vanilla faction and add a solar system.
Telling me how to make a mission wouldn't go amiss either. And if it just so happens everything I need already exists and is on this very forum and I just wasn't vigilant enough, could I please have a link? Thank you very much.

xenoargh

• Admiral
  • naively breaking things!
    • View Profile
Re: General modding help request
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2014, 07:22:14 PM »

If you're new to Java, do a bit of homework first; while this is pretty trivial to code, you're still working with a programming language, not just some text files.  It's one of the awesome things about StarSector, but the learning-curve is a little steep.