Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.9.1a is out! (05/10/19); Updated the Forum Rules and Guidelines (02/29/20); Blog post: GIF Roundup (04/11/20)

Author Topic: I can't believe this problem still there?  (Read 3052 times)

ucws

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
I can't believe this problem still there?
« on: March 14, 2014, 08:05:03 AM »

The hidden missile still display in gameplay.
Since V0521a I know starfarer, this problem is bothering me... :(
I am very happy to see in the next version something changed?  :)

[attachment deleted by admin]
Logged

PCCL

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1995
  • still gunnyfreak
    • View Profile
Re: I can't believe this problem still there?
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2014, 08:32:28 AM »

Fairly certain its intended. the projectile displays but the rest of the weapon (i.e the rack) doesnt
Logged
mmm.... tartiflette

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 16600
    • View Profile
Re: I can't believe this problem still there?
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2014, 08:45:35 AM »

Yeah, that's the intended behavior. If you don't want the missiles to render, either set this render hint:
RENDER_LOADED_MISSILES_UNLESS_HIDDEN

Or do not set the RENDER_LOADED_MISSILES hint on the weapon.

I know that doesn't help if you want HIDDEN to fully hide vanilla missiles, but that's the only way to go if you really want that behavior. Also, some fighters (i.e. Dagger, Thunder) rely on this behavior to render properly.
Logged

ucws

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Re: I can't believe this problem still there?
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2014, 10:00:59 AM »

Yeah, that's the intended behavior. If you don't want the missiles to render, either set this render hint:
RENDER_LOADED_MISSILES_UNLESS_HIDDEN

Or do not set the RENDER_LOADED_MISSILES hint on the weapon.

I know that doesn't help if you want HIDDEN to fully hide vanilla missiles, but that's the only way to go if you really want that behavior. Also, some fighters (i.e. Dagger, Thunder) rely on this behavior to render properly.

RENDER_LOADED_MISSILES_UNLESS_HIDDEN
Sorry I didn't know there is such a good hint...
Very helpful thanks.
Logged

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 16600
    • View Profile
Re: I can't believe this problem still there?
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2014, 04:49:26 PM »

Pretty much no way for you to know, that hint is rather well... hidden :)
Logged

Cycerin

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1647
  • beyond the infinite void
    • View Profile
Re: I can't believe this problem still there?
« Reply #5 on: March 14, 2014, 06:02:06 PM »

Are there any hidden mounts on vanilla ships, even?
Logged

Wyvern

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2498
    • View Profile
Re: I can't believe this problem still there?
« Reply #6 on: March 14, 2014, 06:43:14 PM »

Hidden mounts, in vanilla, are only used on fighters.  And they don't use this hint; either they display missiles, or they're using swarmers that don't display missiles normally.
Logged
Wyvern is 100% correct about the math.

dmaiski

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 422
  • resistance is futile
    • View Profile
Re: I can't believe this problem still there?
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2014, 03:03:44 PM »

you could allways just use a script to turn the transparency value of misile sprite to 0 if the missile is within the launching ships colbox using evry frame combat script
Logged
BISO
(WIP) lots of shiny new weapons ( :-[ i have more weapons then sprites :-[ )

i got a cat pad
its like a mouse pad but better!