Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Im a noob and i want a noobish difficulty setting  (Read 6374 times)

DatonKallandor

• Admiral
    • View Profile
Re: Im a noob and i want a noobish difficulty setting
« Reply #15 on: October 05, 2013, 04:41:15 AM »

What is the deal with the burn penalty right after combat? My burn is reduced to 1 for about 10 seconds before it returns to normal. Anyone else getting this?

It is intended.

Perfect. So it's intended for you to get mobbed by 10 other fleets after you attack one? I fail to see the sense in that design decision.

It's supposed to let the loser of the fight get some distance from the winner so they're not instantly doomed to harass->harass->harass->repeat till CR is gone->pursuit loop. The loops still works, but there's more distance covered by the runner because they get a burn boost and the harasser gets a burn penalty.

Uomoz

• Admiral
  • 'womo'dz
    • View Profile
« Reply #16 on: October 05, 2013, 07:55:29 AM »

Well it's really easily explainable: the fleet has stopped to recover loot and scraps for a day, making it vulnerable to attacks.

Psygnosis

• Lieutenant
    • View Profile
« Reply #17 on: October 05, 2013, 04:12:43 PM »

http://pxlbyte.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/Dont-touch-me-you-filthy-casual.jpg

Jokes aside. Yes StarSector is pretty unforgiving at the start. It would do with a basic "Contingency and battle tactics" booklet.

A few basic things; At the start its not worth settling for less than 6.0 Maximum burn. The reason for this is that most of the fleets you will have issues with at 2-4 MB. While you will also want to be catching several 4.0 MB fleets (anything with a buffalo in it)

As for "too much loot" The Hound is a very light freighter, (MB: 8?) and can hold a good amount of cargo. and wont slow the fleet down.