Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Null error  (Read 2614 times)

SainnQ

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 219
    • View Profile
Null error
« on: March 05, 2013, 12:54:26 PM »

So I recently stumbled across the Hawken Fleet of ships and decided to simply drag and drop them into my mods folder and off I went.

Until I started getting an error about 5-10 minute into the game repeatedly.

How would I go about using the log to determine the error? Is this the right place I'd ask for help in figuring out the error?
I think it has something to do with a convoy fleet being spawned for the hawken faction.
Logged

sdmike1

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 820
  • Dyslexics of the world, untie!
    • View Profile
Re: Null error
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2013, 02:35:00 PM »

It should be the last copple of lines, attach the log file to a post.


What OS are you running, if it is windows it should be under
C:\Program Files (x86)\Fractal Softworks\Starsector\starsector-core
In a text document called starsector or starfarer

SainnQ

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 219
    • View Profile
Re: Null error
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2013, 04:00:35 PM »

It should be the last copple of lines, attach the log file to a post.


What OS are you running, if it is windows it should be under
C:\Program Files (x86)\Fractal Softworks\Starsector\starsector-core
In a text document called starsector or starfarer

Sorry it took me so long, I was having a helluva time getting the bug to reoccur.

I'm running the newest versions of Neutrino Corp, Hawken Fleet, Valkyria & Restock.

3140783 [Thread-6] ERROR com.fs.starfarer.combat.D  - java.lang.NullPointerException
java.lang.NullPointerException
   at com.fs.starfarer.campaign.CampaignEngine.createFleet(Unknown Source)
   at data.scripts.world.HawkenFleetConvoySpawnPoint.spawnFleet(HawkenFleetConvoySpawnPoint.java:44)
   at data.scripts.world.BaseSpawnPoint.advance(BaseSpawnPoint.java:52)
   at com.fs.starfarer.campaign.BaseLocation.advance(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.campaign.CampaignEngine.advance(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.campaign.A.super(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.A.ÖÖÒ000(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.A.A.new(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.combat.D.o00000(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.StarfarerLauncher$2.run(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:619)

Logged

ValkyriaL

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2145
  • The Guru of Capital Ships.
    • View Profile
Re: Null error
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2013, 04:18:11 PM »

Quote
at data.scripts.world.HawkenFleetConvoySpawnPoint.spawnFleet(HawkenFleetConvoySpawnPoint.java:44)

There you have it, line 44... possibly... null errors are always tricky.
Logged

silentstormpt

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1060
    • View Profile
Re: Null error
« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2013, 06:17:48 PM »

One of your fleets seem to be null, this may happen for example if the fleet you tried spawning has a typo so its not the same as the one on the *.faction file
Logged

SainnQ

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 219
    • View Profile
Re: Null error
« Reply #5 on: March 05, 2013, 07:31:07 PM »

Well that seems to be a problem, I'm not trying to spawn any fleet. The error usually hits when other fleets are being destroyed (I think)
Logged

Uthilian

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: Null error
« Reply #6 on: March 07, 2013, 12:33:35 AM »

I would say I have probably misspelled something so when the convoy spawns it triggers the error
Spoiler
What it was
      CampaignFleetAPI fleet = getSector().createFleet("ironlegion", type);
is what it should be
      CampaignFleetAPI fleet = getSector().createFleet("hawkenfleet", type);

[close]
and others mistakes in the HawkenFleetConvoySpawnPoint
« Last Edit: March 07, 2013, 01:56:03 AM by Uthilian »
Logged