Starsector > Lore, Fan Media & Fiction

The Lore Corner

(1/93) > >>

Dohon:
I read through all the blog posts and I especially liked the lore post called "The State of Affairs". I'm an amateur writer and I always get excited when I read deeper into an intresting and intriguing universe. Starfarer looks to be gritty, dark and slowly slipping into damnation. Which is awesome. :) Now, the blog post got me all sallivating and I have some questions. So, I was wondering if me and the other dwellers could ask some lore questions in this thread? Unless the lore is still something to be kept under wraps for now, of course. :)

Ivaylo:
Please go ahead and ask, but we will have to clear responses with the High Hegemon's Sector Media office, and that can take a while.

Dohon:
Cheers! I have compiled a small batch. Well, not exactly small. Rather large actually. Huge even. Sorry about that. In return, I promise I'll write fanfiction in the near future. Promise!

Here goes:

* How long is a sector cycle compared to a standard Terran year?
* How do ships travel around the sector? Is there some kind of hyperdrive or is it all done at sub-light speeds and using cryogenics?
* Is communication between planets instantaneaous? Or rather radio-wave speed?
* Have there been attempts to seek out other sectors? Is that even high on the agenda of Starfarer's factions?
* How big is the sector? Are there hundred of worlds? Or is more like dozens?
* How many of those worlds are 'major worlds'?
* How many worlds are under the control of the Hegemony? How do the other factions compare to that?
* How long does it take on average to reach a nearby world?
* What are the main factions? We know of the Hegemony, Tri-Tachyon and the Luddites. Are there other big league players?
* Is the Selenius system still independent?