Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Display suggestion:damage display  (Read 2465 times)

death03

• Ensign
    • View Profile
Display suggestion:damage display
« on: September 08, 2012, 10:23:23 PM »

Hi,dear devs,I used to play GSB and in that game,ship damage would display as armor holes and structure expose(and maybe on fire),but in starfarer,when ship get damaged they looks like melting(and looks less realistic compare to the GSB),will it be changed in the "real" style(at least IMO) in the future?
Thank you

PCCL

• Admiral
  • still gunnyfreak
    • View Profile
Re: Display suggestion:damage display
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2012, 10:32:04 PM »

not a dev but the answer to your question is unlikely...

(also I'm a gsb vet too, nice to meet you :))

the way damage is handled here is fundamentally different from GSB, in GSB each ship has a few points where they can be hit and thus the damage is distributed on the hull. Here the ships mostly get hit on the edges of the sprite... don't think it would look good with hull breaches all over the edges.
mmm.... tartiflette

FlashFrozen

• Admiral
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2012, 10:44:11 PM »

The damage is displayed currently where your ship will be poked full of holes, look at your ship AFTER the glowing/melting has cooled off. You'll notice some deep black cracks all over.

I'm personally a fan of the melting, but I think it's not good enough ^.^
just as a personal choice, I'd want melting to be more of a energy weapon damage only, and say high explosive lots of smoke and shrapnel, and kinetic will be bright sparks, just to visual that your getting hit by different damage types.