Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.9.1a is out! (05/10/19); Blog post: Skills and Story Points (07/08/19)

Pages: 1 ... 32 33 [34] 35 36 ... 45

Author Topic: [0.9.1a] Console Commands v3.0 WIP 7.6 (released 2018-12-07)  (Read 388287 times)

DinoZavarski

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: [0.8.1a] Console Commands v3.0 WIP 4 (released 2017-06-21)
« Reply #495 on: July 02, 2017, 07:24:35 AM »

Edit: could you try replacing the mod's jar with this one and see if that fixes it? Unfortunately this bug is hardware dependent so I can't test the fix myself.

Replaced it, unfortunately same error.
Logged
Me no know, me no understand, me just root...

LazyWizard

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1271
    • View Profile
    • Bitbucket Profile
Re: [0.8.1a] Console Commands v3.0 WIP 4 (released 2017-06-21)
« Reply #496 on: July 02, 2017, 07:43:43 AM »

Could you try this one?

I'm about to leave to spend the day with family, so if that one doesn't work you can use this jar as a fallback until I can get back to a computer (rename it to lw_Console.jar). That one doesn't properly fix the bug, but simply papers over it by providing a large enough buffer that it shouldn't occur.

Also, just to make sure: you're using a Mac, right? If not, then I'm trying to fix the wrong thing.
Logged

DinoZavarski

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: [0.8.1a] Console Commands v3.0 WIP 4 (released 2017-06-21)
« Reply #497 on: July 02, 2017, 09:29:56 AM »

Also, just to make sure: you're using a Mac, right? If not, then I'm trying to fix the wrong thing.

No, Linux.

Sorry, should have guessed it is OS related and told this earlier, given no one mentioned similar problem since the release.

Tell me if i can do something to help in debugging. Just be aware that my java skill is somewhere around the power copypaster level (script kitbashing based on logical guessing).

Logged
Me no know, me no understand, me just root...

LazyWizard

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1271
    • View Profile
    • Bitbucket Profile
Re: [0.8.1a] Console Commands v3.0 WIP 4 (released 2017-06-21)
« Reply #498 on: July 02, 2017, 01:01:39 PM »

Alright, I'm pretty sure I spotted the error. Could you try this jar and see if it works now?
Logged

DinoZavarski

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: [0.8.1a] Console Commands v3.0 WIP 4 (released 2017-06-21)
« Reply #499 on: July 02, 2017, 11:23:08 PM »

Works!  ;D
Logged
Me no know, me no understand, me just root...

LazyWizard

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1271
    • View Profile
    • Bitbucket Profile
Re: [0.8.1a] Console Commands v3.0 WIP 4 (released 2017-06-21)
« Reply #500 on: July 03, 2017, 12:02:03 AM »

Excellent. Thanks for testing it for me!

For anyone curious: the culprit was the console overlay's background (a darkened screenshot of the game). Initially I thought the crash was due to some Retina display compatibility code, but the real problem was that the native buffer the screenshot was stored in was dynamically sized based on your monitor's display settings, but the actual screenshot was always stored in a 32 bit per pixel format. That explains why this hasn't shown up before now: the buffer would only be too small if you ran the game with a sub-32 bpp display mode, which I didn't even think was possible with Starsector.
Logged

DinoZavarski

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: [0.8.1a] Console Commands v3.0 WIP 4 (released 2017-06-21)
« Reply #501 on: July 03, 2017, 02:13:51 PM »

the buffer would only be too small if you ran the game with a sub-32 bpp display mode, which I didn't even think was possible with Starsector.

Code
[email protected] ~/Games/starsector % grep Depth /var/log/Xorg.0.log
[    38.142] (**) NVIDIA(0): Depth 24, (--) framebuffer bpp 32
[    38.800] (**) NVIDIA(1): Depth 24, (--) framebuffer bpp 32
[    38.807] (--) Depth 24 pixmap format is 32 bpp

24bit depth is actually pretty typical for Nvidia Linux drivers.
Logged
Me no know, me no understand, me just root...

Martell

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: [0.8.1a] Console Commands v3.0 WIP 4 (released 2017-06-21)
« Reply #502 on: July 04, 2017, 10:10:38 AM »

If you're still taking requests, can I ask for AddOrdnancePoints to have a percentage component? So +20%OP instead of a flat number.

Thanks in advance.
Logged

LazyWizard

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1271
    • View Profile
    • Bitbucket Profile
Re: [0.8.1a] Console Commands v3.0 WIP 4 (released 2017-06-21)
« Reply #503 on: July 04, 2017, 10:11:44 AM »

Sure, I'll see what I can do.

Edit: added. If you don't want to wait for the next WIP, replace the jar in the mod folder with this one. Adding a percent sign at the end of the argument makes the bonus a percentage rather than flat.
« Last Edit: July 04, 2017, 10:21:32 AM by LazyWizard »
Logged

Martell

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: [0.8.1a] Console Commands v3.0 WIP 4 (released 2017-06-21)
« Reply #504 on: July 04, 2017, 11:37:27 AM »

Holy crap, it took you a minute to answer and 10 minutes to code and upload.

Thanks so much! That's amazing. Your name is only half true.
Logged

Dal

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: [0.8.1a] Console Commands v3.0 WIP 4 (released 2017-06-21)
« Reply #505 on: July 05, 2017, 04:44:08 PM »

Another hopefully quick suggestion - Could the Storage command have a counterpart SetStorage added? You'd have to verify there's a valid storage at the station to use, but it'd be a lot more convenient than having to transfer the contents of the abandoned station when arriving at "home". Or, thinking of it, SetHome could check for a valid storage and set it then.
Logged

LazyWizard

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1271
    • View Profile
    • Bitbucket Profile
Re: [0.8.1a] Console Commands v3.0 WIP 4 (released 2017-06-21)
« Reply #506 on: July 05, 2017, 04:52:19 PM »

I'll see what I can do. I won't be able to release anything today, though. I've been messing with the internals of the mod and I'm not sure if it's stable enough to release in its current state.
Logged

cjusa

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 332
  • Missiles and Mecha, my boys. Missiles and Mecha
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: [0.8.1a] Console Commands v3.0 WIP 4 (released 2017-06-21)
« Reply #507 on: July 05, 2017, 08:21:39 PM »

While in a text field in the Refit screen, pressing control-backspace currently opens the console instead of backspacing a word. While not game breaking, it is an annoyance during ship and variant renaming. I haven't noticed it anywhere else (yet).
Logged
"Light the Stars with your Incendiary Rounds!"
"They thought I was insane for thinking I could push Jangala into the sun! Boy, were they wrong."

LazyWizard

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1271
    • View Profile
    • Bitbucket Profile
Re: [0.8.1a] Console Commands v3.0 WIP 4 (released 2017-06-21)
« Reply #508 on: July 05, 2017, 09:27:09 PM »

Yeah, being able to open the console inside campaign menus was an oversight. It'll be fixed in the next version.
Logged

00lewnor

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: [0.8.1a] Console Commands v3.0 WIP 4 (released 2017-06-21)
« Reply #509 on: July 06, 2017, 10:05:36 AM »

Can I us this mod to teach myself the salvage gantry hullmod? I want to 'learn' it now I've reached salvaging skill 3 but it doesn't seem to be on the list for the AddHullmod command.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 32 33 [34] 35 36 ... 45