Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.9.1a is out! (05/10/19); Blog post: Skills and Story Points (07/08/19)

Pages: 1 ... 29 30 [31] 32 33 ... 44

Author Topic: [0.8.1a] STARSECTOR Ship&Weapon Editor (v2.7.4)  (Read 270206 times)

The Soldier

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 3734
  • Quartermaster
    • View Profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.5)
« Reply #450 on: December 09, 2012, 05:15:56 AM »

Even being pretty good at making weapons, appearently I can't figure out how to work this thing! ;D A little help?
Logged
Quote from: Trylobot
I am officially an epoch.
Quote from: Thaago
Note: please sacrifice your goats responsibly, look up the proper pronunciation of Alex's name. We wouldn't want some other project receiving mystic power.

Trylobot

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1168
    • View Profile
    • Github profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.5)
« Reply #451 on: December 11, 2012, 04:22:34 PM »

The weapon editor can't yet modify anything, but there's a good bit of code that needed (and still needs) to be written around weapons. The  simple fact that it can read and display the weapon information properly is a pretty big chunk of it, and most of my work was spent validating that yes, in fact, the weapon displays the same way it would if it were in-game. I still need to load projectiles' data and images if for no other reason than the missile launchers won't look right until I do.

The first couple editable properties should be pretty simple, and I'll see if I can put some time in this week to get that out to everyone.
Logged

xenoargh

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 4815
  • naively breaking things!
    • View Profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.5)
« Reply #452 on: December 12, 2012, 03:19:35 PM »

Great, really looking forward to being able to intuitively place offsets instead of having to do it in Photoshop :)
Logged
Check out my SS projects :)

Trylobot

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1168
    • View Profile
    • Github profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.5)
« Reply #453 on: December 17, 2012, 03:41:36 PM »

Logged

xenoargh

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 4815
  • naively breaking things!
    • View Profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.5)
« Reply #454 on: December 18, 2012, 04:38:03 PM »

Beautiful!  Merry Christmas :)
Logged
Check out my SS projects :)

oranoron

  • Lieutenant
  • **
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.5)
« Reply #455 on: December 19, 2012, 06:19:11 AM »

Maybe I have missed something and the thread is too long to check over but I can only seem to place medium energy turrets. How do I change this?

I figured that out. How do I get the ship to show up for sale in the game?
« Last Edit: December 19, 2012, 07:10:09 AM by oranoron »
Logged

Okim

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2145
    • View Profile
    • Okim`s Modelling stuff
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.5)
« Reply #456 on: December 19, 2012, 08:00:17 AM »

Using your exceptionally helpful editor, but the amount of weapons that my mod has makes it difficult to pick them in the list - the list has no scrollbar or other means to move to the top/bottom of the list.

Also it would be a great thing to switch off the original game data. I`m modding a total convertion project and i would be very glad to remove the stuff that i`m not using (this would even remove the first problem that i have!).

Trylobot

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1168
    • View Profile
    • Github profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.5)
« Reply #457 on: December 19, 2012, 03:49:12 PM »

How do I get the ship to show up for sale in the game?
You'll need to write a script to accomplish this. My editor doesn't cover it. Poke around in the vanilla data for examples, it's very straightforward.

the list has no scrollbar or other means to move to the top/bottom of the list.

Also it would be a great thing to switch off the original game data.
These are both planned features, but I'll definitely prioritize #2 before #1.

Also try using this config file instead, I've optimized it to provide as much space as possible for an HD monitor with smaller fonts and such as well; you'll need to add your mod with [M] after you load this the first time, but after that it should be no vanilla data. But for now it will prompt you for vanilla and you cancel each time (sorry):

sf-ship-ed-settings.json
------------ BEGIN FILE ------------
{
  "font_size": 12,
  "data_font_size": 8,
  "starfarer_base_dir": null,
  "mod_dirs": [],
  "data_dir": null,
  "images_dir": null,
  "variant_dir": null,
  "weapon_dir": null,
  "width": 1920,
  "height": 1080
}
----------- END FILE ---------

Logged

xenoargh

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 4815
  • naively breaking things!
    • View Profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.5)
« Reply #458 on: December 19, 2012, 09:20:38 PM »

+1 on being able to drop Vanilla data, it's causing some issues over here.

The "replace" statements in the mod loader config JSON might be a good way to do this, or just a switch in the config files.
Logged
Check out my SS projects :)

ValkyriaL

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2145
  • The Guru of Capital Ships.
    • View Profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.5)
« Reply #459 on: January 05, 2013, 05:45:30 AM »

I guess your gonna have to add new weapon slot types now with the decorative slots that was unveiled, I want blinking lights. ^_^
Logged

Trylobot

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1168
    • View Profile
    • Github profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.5)
« Reply #460 on: January 06, 2013, 10:45:39 AM »

I will weigh in soon with regards to a compatibility update and probably put the weapon editor on hold until I'm sure the ship editing functionality is once again up to snuff; apparently there have been numerous moddability improvements so I'll evaluate what I can do to support them with what I've got right now.

You'll hear from me again shortly.
Logged

Sproginator

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 3590
  • Forum Ancient
    • View Profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.5)
« Reply #461 on: January 06, 2013, 12:21:12 PM »

I will weigh in soon with regards to a compatibility update and probably put the weapon editor on hold until I'm sure the ship editing functionality is once again up to snuff; apparently there have been numerous moddability improvements so I'll evaluate what I can do to support them with what I've got right now.

You'll hear from me again shortly.
Sweet
Logged
A person who's never made a mistake, never tried anything new
- Albert Einstein

As long as we don't quit, we haven't failed
- Jamie Fristrom (Programmer for Spiderman2 & Lead Developer for Energy Hook)

The Soldier

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 3734
  • Quartermaster
    • View Profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.5)
« Reply #462 on: January 06, 2013, 02:07:35 PM »

Compatibility update?  You mean changing Starfarer in the sf-ship-ed-settings.json to Starsector?  Kidna easy if you ask me. ;D LOL
Logged
Quote from: Trylobot
I am officially an epoch.
Quote from: Thaago
Note: please sacrifice your goats responsibly, look up the proper pronunciation of Alex's name. We wouldn't want some other project receiving mystic power.

ValkyriaL

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2145
  • The Guru of Capital Ships.
    • View Profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.5)
« Reply #463 on: January 06, 2013, 04:13:57 PM »

Just click M inside the editor and go into starsector instead of starfarer, done.
Logged

Okim

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2145
    • View Profile
    • Okim`s Modelling stuff
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.5)
« Reply #464 on: January 12, 2013, 03:37:05 AM »

So, when will we get an updated version that supports DECORATIVE weapons?  ;)

Also Starsector name is causing problems with editor not being able to locate 'Starfarer' in game folder. And this means that there is no access to vanilla hull mods (the only original stuff Ironclads are still using).

Pages: 1 ... 29 30 [31] 32 33 ... 44