Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.9.1a is out! (05/10/19); Blog post: Skills and Story Points (07/08/19)

Pages: 1 ... 24 25 [26] 27 28 ... 44

Author Topic: [0.8.1a] STARSECTOR Ship&Weapon Editor (v2.7.4)  (Read 270438 times)

Okim

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2145
    • View Profile
    • Okim`s Modelling stuff
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #375 on: September 10, 2012, 01:40:58 AM »

Quote
 Press (C) to enter "Set Shield Center" mode
    Then, Click to set a center
    Then, Click again to set a shield radius
    IMPORTANT: The shield area should be entirely within the collision area

Typo in readme: should be S instead of C :)

Uomoz

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2643
  • 'womo'dz
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #376 on: September 11, 2012, 10:08:14 AM »

And once again, I find myself abusing of this amazing tool without even noticing. TY Trylobot.

EDIT: latest version have some messed up code (I rolled back to 2.4.3). Naming the Variant and\or assigning ALTERNATING\LINKED (all the things you do with T in variant mode) were very messed up (ex. it was putting the variant name in the weapon group mode "slot").
« Last Edit: September 11, 2012, 03:25:51 PM by Uomoz »
Logged

Trylobot

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1168
    • View Profile
    • Github profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #377 on: September 12, 2012, 12:05:46 AM »

Whoa... I'll look into this right away Uomoz. Thanks for the report

edit: Can you give me some steps to reproduce? I'm having trouble with it
« Last Edit: September 12, 2012, 12:08:45 AM by Trylobot »
Logged

DelicateTask

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 222
    • View Profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #378 on: September 12, 2012, 12:21:43 PM »

Okay, so I looked into using Wine to run this on my Mac, and saw the steps it would take...

Aww, hell no.

I actually thought about trying to set up Wine, but it turns out that Xcode is no longer available for 10.6, which is stupid because there are lots of people still using Snow Leopard (I strongly dislike 10.7). Considering all of the programs, libraries and tweaking that would be required (not to mention finding backdated versions of programs), I decided not to waste my life on what would likely end with no progress and a ton of random files all over my computer.

Can someone eventually figure out a way to show some non Windows users some love, please? I'm getting frustrated when my attempts at modding fall flat on their faces, while I just stare in dismay and try to figure out what I could've possibly missed.
Logged

Uomoz

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2643
  • 'womo'dz
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #379 on: September 12, 2012, 12:23:47 PM »

Whoa... I'll look into this right away Uomoz. Thanks for the report

edit: Can you give me some steps to reproduce? I'm having trouble with it

Ehrrr, it was a modded ship. Can't say much else! While saving it moved values i set (like variant name and variant ID) around, in the ALTERNATING and LINKED "slots". While i was writing\setting em in the program they seemed fine.
Logged

Trylobot

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1168
    • View Profile
    • Github profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #380 on: September 12, 2012, 01:43:15 PM »

Can someone eventually figure out a way to show some non Windows users some love, please?

This editor is open-source, and BlitzMax programs compile on Mac. I simply don't own a Mac of my own to test it on.
Download the source here:
https://github.com/Trylobot/sf-ship-ed/tags

Download BlitzMax (choose the "TRY NOW" link for either Intel or PPC Mac):
http://blitzmax.com/Products/_index_.php

If you have issues with the app itself, I'll try to fix them based on your description of what went wrong. Just try to keep in mind, this is donationware.
Logged

FlashFrozen

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 988
    • View Profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #381 on: September 13, 2012, 03:20:04 PM »

Idk, but just as personal thing, the custom engine is kinda annoying since with one accidental arrow key, it'll basically reset the custom engine ( if you left/right arrow key the engine type from the custom class)

Anyway to sorta preserve the last known custom configuration?
Logged

Trylobot

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1168
    • View Profile
    • Github profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #382 on: September 13, 2012, 03:24:36 PM »

It's actually best to externally define your custom engine types that you intend to re-use, then reference them by id instead. I made a note of it in the changelog.

This isn't to say you're wrong (because you have a very valid point), but I don't think I'll be messing with that behavior anytime soon (or I may just enforce the use of the below method programmatically with auto-named styles or some other such wizardry)

Custom Engine STYLE ID:
  this is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED to use over the STYLE SPEC per-engine.
  But to use it, you must first define your Engine Style ID in the following:
    data/config/engine_styles.json
Logged

xenoargh

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 4815
  • naively breaking things!
    • View Profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #383 on: September 14, 2012, 05:44:23 PM »

Tested 2.4.4; +/- works again, thanks very much :)
Logged
Check out my SS projects :)

xenoargh

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 4815
  • naively breaking things!
    • View Profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #384 on: September 14, 2012, 06:02:30 PM »

Whoops, found a weird bug; when you go and name things, then come back to the Ship/Variant details, it appears that a lot of strings are getting corrupted.
Logged
Check out my SS projects :)

Trylobot

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1168
    • View Profile
    • Github profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #385 on: September 14, 2012, 06:14:38 PM »

Yeah, Uomoz said the same thing. I've not had a minute to spare this week but I'm gonna try and find some time this weekend to address this.

And hey, if anyone wants to take a crack at my source code, fork me and request a pull I'd be happy to review it. But the code's pretty much a horrific mess so I'm not holding my breath on that.
Logged

Trylobot

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1168
    • View Profile
    • Github profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #386 on: September 15, 2012, 12:30:01 AM »

Latest Changes
______________________________________________________________________________
editor version 2.4.5 (starfarer 0.53.1a RC5)
- fixed: strange data corruption bugs on main ship and variant string editors



Logged

Uomoz

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2643
  • 'womo'dz
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #387 on: September 15, 2012, 12:16:48 PM »

:D

Ty man, always a pleasure to support you!
Logged

Dragar

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #388 on: September 15, 2012, 04:29:18 PM »

hmm, no matter what I do I keep getting this error when trying to make my own ship(that uses the onslaught as the sprite for now but still)

Thread-6] ERROR com.fs.starfarer.combat.String  - java.lang.RuntimeException: Ship hull variant or fighter wing with id: [lenko_myship_variant] not found!
java.lang.RuntimeException: Ship hull variant or fighter wing with id: [lenko_myship_variant] not found!
   at com.fs.starfarer.loading.FleetCreationSpec.o00000(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.loading.SpecStore.Ò00000(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.loading.SpecStore.super(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.loading.G.o00000(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.oOOO.A.new(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.combat.String.o00000(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.StarfarerLauncher$2.run(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:619)

It says that the variant file is not found but I'm looking at it right now and its in the right place.
Logged

medikohl

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 850
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #389 on: September 16, 2012, 02:20:45 AM »

How's the progress on the weapon editor?
Logged
"Captain! You can't call our greatest dreadnought 'The Parrot'"
"Watch me"
Spiral Arms: Ship Sprites for Everyone
Pages: 1 ... 24 25 [26] 27 28 ... 44