Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.9.1a is out! (05/10/19); Blog post: Skills and Story Points (07/08/19)

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 ... 44

Author Topic: [0.8.1a] STARSECTOR Ship&Weapon Editor (v2.7.4)  (Read 270476 times)

Trylobot

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1168
    • View Profile
    • Github profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #60 on: March 25, 2012, 08:44:16 PM »

Can you also try the debug version then? Also, what operating systems are you guys on?
Logged

Zilerrezko

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 246
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #61 on: March 25, 2012, 08:44:53 PM »

so, I did the t and enter thing before I even opened the editor, and then I opened the debug again and did it after the crash, and it literally was the same thing on both debug screens.

If it matters, it's doing it right at start up, like 1/4 of a second after the loading screen pops up saying "loading..." then BAM! annoying microsoft ding noise.

Windows XP
Logged

Zilerrezko

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 246
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #62 on: March 25, 2012, 08:48:14 PM »

I think your editor may also be making problems with me and trying to get a fighter to be recognized by starfarer. I have a post on it, don't know if it matters. One difference I notice is the spacing on your editor is different than the .ship (or.variant) style. Don't know if that makes a difference. But, yeah.

*edit* I feel like we're in a war room and it's like all of a sudden our whole nation is under invasion and everyone is freaking out, bombs are dropping, and stressness. Just puttin that out der.

*edit edit* yeah I'm getting the same thing Maseo is.
« Last Edit: March 25, 2012, 08:51:36 PM by Zilerrezko »
Logged

Zilerrezko

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 246
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #63 on: March 25, 2012, 08:56:16 PM »

Quote
yup i found it its not his editor, when i first opened your wing file i didnt have "seperated by semicolon" on it shouldnt need to be on
and when i opened it i got this

Huh, I just did the same thing but I actually see my ship, don't know why it's not showing up in your's. But I think this should have been posted in my thread and not trylobot's >.>

Quote
ill fix this just a sec. yup that did it, ill send the fix to your email.

Alright thanks
Logged

Trylobot

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1168
    • View Profile
    • Github profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #64 on: March 25, 2012, 09:01:09 PM »

Wait so when you have a wing data csv like what you posted, the editor crashes, but if you take the file out, it's fine?
Logged

Maseo

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #65 on: March 25, 2012, 09:01:34 PM »

i went ahead and removed all my comments sense the problem didn't have anything to do with your editor. awesome editor by the way i would be LOST without it. xD
Logged

Maseo

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #66 on: March 25, 2012, 09:02:18 PM »

Wait so when you have a wing data csv like what you posted, the editor crashes, but if you take the file out, it's fine?
yup everything is hunky dori now thanks for trying to help us out though!
Logged

Trylobot

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1168
    • View Profile
    • Github profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #67 on: March 25, 2012, 09:07:27 PM »

On that note; if anyone has data that crashes the editor, post it - I'll fix it if I'm able.
Logged

Zilerrezko

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 246
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #68 on: March 25, 2012, 09:26:01 PM »

WAIT!!! how what why? how does whatever just happened, replacing that CSV file just fix it?
Logged

Trylobot

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1168
    • View Profile
    • Github profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #69 on: March 25, 2012, 09:37:37 PM »


Changelog
editor version 1.9.2 (starfarer 0.51a)
- fixed bug that caused invalid *.csv files to crash the editor
  now they are ignored
- editor automatically creates "sf-ship-ed.log" that shows what's being loaded



@Zilerrezko: Can you please run again with 1.9.2 and if you are still having problems, post your sf-ship-ed.log that it now creates?
« Last Edit: March 27, 2012, 09:00:13 PM by Trylobot »
Logged

Zilerrezko

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 246
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #70 on: March 25, 2012, 09:46:23 PM »

Maseo found the problem being that the comma's in the CSV files were all ";" ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;, once he sent me back the files all replacing the semi colons, I retried the 1.9.1 and it worked!

THE PROBLEM

I'm using openoffice, and it has option to use spacing in the table it makes with either Comma's or Semi Colons (and other stuff), I had Comma and Semi Colon checked, and somehow the commas were replaced with semi colons by open office. Might be a bug in open office. But I tried to chenged one comma to a semi colon and tried the 1.9.2 and it worked! (then immediately changed it back to a comma)
Logged

InfinitySquared

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #71 on: March 25, 2012, 10:39:19 PM »

Awesome!

Hmm, I've got a few more suggestions if you don't mind. There should be a control that snaps the turret rotation by 45 or 5 degrees. Also a mirror button that copies the slots on top and pastes them on the bottom. So, say I set only the weapon or engine slots on top, and press a button so that the editor copies and flips the slots to the bottom (like Battleships Forever's ship maker, for reference).
Logged

The Soldier

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 3734
  • Quartermaster
    • View Profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #72 on: March 26, 2012, 11:31:25 AM »

Jeez, Trylobot.  You're making new versions faster than I can make new ships with this! :D
Logged
Quote from: Trylobot
I am officially an epoch.
Quote from: Thaago
Note: please sacrifice your goats responsibly, look up the proper pronunciation of Alex's name. We wouldn't want some other project receiving mystic power.

arcibalde

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1722
    • View Profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #73 on: March 26, 2012, 11:46:12 AM »

"EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION"

Win7

I entered weapon mod with W then i pres T to change weapon settings and i get this message, and editor closes  :(
Logged
Creator of:
Relics MOD - vanilla balanced - Campaign integrated
Vanilla addon MOD - vanilla balanced - Campaign integrated
Project ONI MOD - mission only

Zilerrezko

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 246
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #74 on: March 26, 2012, 11:50:35 AM »

and you have the new 1.9.2 version?
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 ... 44