Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Starsector 0.9.1a is out! (05/10/19); Blog post: Raiding for Fun and Profit (11/27/19)

Pages: 1 ... 28 29 [30] 31 32 ... 44

Author Topic: [0.8.1a] STARSECTOR Ship&Weapon Editor (v2.7.4)  (Read 273076 times)

medikohl

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 850
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #435 on: October 24, 2012, 01:00:39 AM »

Why hath thou forsaken me?

For thee is not worthy of thou holy grail.
I will settle for an editor of divine weapon development.
Logged
"Captain! You can't call our greatest dreadnought 'The Parrot'"
"Watch me"
Spiral Arms: Ship Sprites for Everyone

medikohl

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 850
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #436 on: November 02, 2012, 09:42:35 PM »

Missing person's report:

Trylobot.


Last seen:

slaving away for our benefit.


If you have any knowledge of this individuals whereabouts, please let us know so we can chain him to his computer so he doesn't escape again.

(We miss you)
Logged
"Captain! You can't call our greatest dreadnought 'The Parrot'"
"Watch me"
Spiral Arms: Ship Sprites for Everyone

Sproginator

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 3590
  • Forum Ancient
    • View Profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.4.5)
« Reply #437 on: November 07, 2012, 05:15:01 PM »

Where is the talented soab
Logged
A person who's never made a mistake, never tried anything new
- Albert Einstein

As long as we don't quit, we haven't failed
- Jamie Fristrom (Programmer for Spiderman2 & Lead Developer for Energy Hook)

Trylobot

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1168
    • View Profile
    • Github profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.5)
« Reply #438 on: November 17, 2012, 03:04:57 PM »

editor version 2.5 (starfarer 0.53.1a RC5)
- added weapon editor prototype (incomplete)
- added more detailed logging in sf-ship-ed.log
- fixed: custom engines output with incorrect field name 'type_'


The weapon editor is going to be an iterative feature, much like the editor itself was. If you want to help me prioritize features for it, feel free to suggest things.

At the moment, the next couple things I'm planning on adding to it are:
Toggle between turret / hardpoint modes, Add/Remove barrel endpoint coordinates, Assign images (image sequences already working), Simulate firing (multistep, iterative process) by first showing the visual recoil with a nominal reload speed, then showing the glow image, then auto-dividing barrels for Alternating barrel mode, then allowing you to change the barrel mode. Finally I want to actually load the reload speed from the weapon data CSV, and then instantiate an actual projectile and "launch it". I do not have any short-term plans for projectile editing, but I don't see any major difficulty with loading projectiles + images for the sake of this weapon-fire-preview feature.
« Last Edit: November 17, 2012, 03:09:22 PM by Trylobot »
Logged

arcibalde

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1723
    • View Profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.5)
« Reply #439 on: November 17, 2012, 03:20:52 PM »

^^Nice  ;D And thank you  :D
Logged
Creator of:
Relics MOD - vanilla balanced - Campaign integrated
Vanilla addon MOD - vanilla balanced - Campaign integrated
Project ONI MOD - mission only

The Soldier

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 3734
  • Quartermaster
    • View Profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.5)
« Reply #440 on: November 17, 2012, 03:55:57 PM »

NOOO!!! my carrer...

D:
Logged
Quote from: Trylobot
I am officially an epoch.
Quote from: Thaago
Note: please sacrifice your goats responsibly, look up the proper pronunciation of Alex's name. We wouldn't want some other project receiving mystic power.

Sproginator

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 3590
  • Forum Ancient
    • View Profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.5)
« Reply #441 on: November 21, 2012, 04:16:49 AM »

Damn shame I cant play with this, Curse not having a PC!
Logged
A person who's never made a mistake, never tried anything new
- Albert Einstein

As long as we don't quit, we haven't failed
- Jamie Fristrom (Programmer for Spiderman2 & Lead Developer for Energy Hook)

ValkyriaL

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2145
  • The Guru of Capital Ships.
    • View Profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.5)
« Reply #442 on: November 21, 2012, 04:59:29 AM »

I don't understand how the weapon part of the editor works, i can load one of the weapons i already have, all its data is there if i press F2, but i cant do anything to it, have i installed it wrong?

EDIT, i cant use any vanilla weapons to fit my ships either after i installed 2.5, how do i get them back in the lists of available weapons?
« Last Edit: November 21, 2012, 05:45:59 AM by ValkyriaL »
Logged

xenoargh

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 4822
  • naively breaking things!
    • View Profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.5)
« Reply #443 on: November 25, 2012, 02:17:31 PM »

Heya, just wanted to give a shout-out; without this program, there's no way I would have been able to get done with so much, so fast :)

A couple of things I'd like to see in future releases, if you have time:

1.  I'd like to be able to edit the description text for ships and weapons, preferably with a guide that will show me if my opening paragraph's too big for that part of the UI (it hasn't changed much in three builds, I'm guessing it'll stay stable).  This is one of the biggest things that I still have to do by hand and I'd much rather do one-stop shopping in SfEd.

2.  I'd like to see "Variant" replaced by "(Stock)" for the default name of a Variant.  While yes, it'd be great to come up with a clever name for each variant, when we're putting lots of ships together as fast as possible... well, that first build is usually (going by Alex's somewhat loose conventions) named hullname_Standard.  "Standard" doesn't work well in the Variant UI, imo; "(Stock)" is a better description of how the ship is equipped when it's initially delivered. 

For fighters, it'd be nice if that text was "", because there's literally no good reason to put text in that field 99% of the time, since we can't customize them in-game and very few mods have the same fighter's art used for multiple variants.
Logged
Check out my SS projects :)

Sproginator

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 3590
  • Forum Ancient
    • View Profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.5)
« Reply #444 on: November 26, 2012, 01:57:04 AM »

Heya, just wanted to give a shout-out; without this program, there's no way I would have been able to get done with so much, so fast :)

A couple of things I'd like to see in future releases, if you have time:

1.  I'd like to be able to edit the description text for ships and weapons, preferably with a guide that will show me if my opening paragraph's too big for that part of the UI (it hasn't changed much in three builds, I'm guessing it'll stay stable).  This is one of the biggest things that I still have to do by hand and I'd much rather do one-stop shopping in SfEd.

Agreed, this would be an excellent feature

2.  I'd like to see "Variant" replaced by "(Stock)" for the default name of a Variant.  While yes, it'd be great to come up with a clever name for each variant, when we're putting lots of ships together as fast as possible... well, that first build is usually (going by Alex's somewhat loose conventions) named hullname_Standard.  "Standard" doesn't work well in the Variant UI, imo; "(Stock)" is a better description of how the ship is equipped when it's initially delivered.  

Agreed, Variant auto-naming to Stock would be great

For fighters, it'd be nice if that text was "", because there's literally no good reason to put text in that field 99% of the time, since we can't customize them in-game and very few mods have the same fighter's art used for multiple variants.

Disagreed, Would still be nice to add Codex wise and Lore wise to add more depth :)
« Last Edit: November 26, 2012, 02:04:26 AM by sproginator »
Logged
A person who's never made a mistake, never tried anything new
- Albert Einstein

As long as we don't quit, we haven't failed
- Jamie Fristrom (Programmer for Spiderman2 & Lead Developer for Energy Hook)

xenoargh

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 4822
  • naively breaking things!
    • View Profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.5)
« Reply #445 on: November 26, 2012, 05:38:47 AM »

Quote
Disagreed, Would still be nice to add Codex wise and Lore wise to add more depth :)
Yeah, but nobody bothers, lol.  That, and if I did it, I'd at least change the paint-job, so that players would be like, "oh, that's the one that carries Guided Spoon launchers, not the Bee Gun Cannon" ;)
Logged
Check out my SS projects :)

Sproginator

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 3590
  • Forum Ancient
    • View Profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.5)
« Reply #446 on: November 26, 2012, 06:32:44 AM »

Quote
Disagreed, Would still be nice to add Codex wise and Lore wise to add more depth :)
Yeah, but nobody bothers, lol.  That, and if I did it, I'd at least change the paint-job, so that players would be like, "oh, that's the one that carries Guided Spoon launchers, not the Bee Gun Cannon" ;)

lol

Paint jobs would be a fun feature to suggest, but i did read it here someone a long while ago
Logged
A person who's never made a mistake, never tried anything new
- Albert Einstein

As long as we don't quit, we haven't failed
- Jamie Fristrom (Programmer for Spiderman2 & Lead Developer for Energy Hook)

xenoargh

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 4822
  • naively breaking things!
    • View Profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.5)
« Reply #447 on: November 30, 2012, 08:08:09 AM »

Any idea when we'll be able to edit weapon fire points?
Logged
Check out my SS projects :)

arcibalde

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1723
    • View Profile
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.5)
« Reply #448 on: December 08, 2012, 03:32:22 AM »

I got crash. This is version i'm using: editor version 2.5 (starfarer 0.53.1a RC5)

So i did: ship center, and shield center, and bounds and 4x launch bays. Then i started another editor and load ship from another mod to see something. Then i turn out that second editor and in first one i tried to put first weapon slot. After shift+lclick it crashed. -.-

I tried it again and now works ok.  ;D
« Last Edit: December 08, 2012, 03:39:39 AM by arcibalde »
Logged
Creator of:
Relics MOD - vanilla balanced - Campaign integrated
Vanilla addon MOD - vanilla balanced - Campaign integrated
Project ONI MOD - mission only

ThePinkPanzer

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
  • Professional accidentaly rude person
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Trylobot's ship editor (2.5)
« Reply #449 on: December 08, 2012, 08:22:13 PM »

No idea why, but it refuses to allow me to load one of my ships up.

Edit: Never mind, everything randomly fixed itself.
« Last Edit: December 08, 2012, 08:23:47 PM by ThePinkPanzer »
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 28 29 [30] 31 32 ... 44