Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 26

Author Topic: Adding custom ships  (Read 165469 times)

Avan

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1399
  • Pioneer of Starfarer Modding
    • View Profile
    • DevDB forums
Adding custom ships
« on: May 05, 2011, 01:54:07 PM »

Ok, I decided I had to try... ;D

I made a cute little fighter (22x23px) and am trying to figure out the coordinate system and what the bounds do in the .ship file.
I'm not really pro at pixel art, I've been doing 3D stuff, so if I ever do release it, it probably will be some time before I do... X3
« Last Edit: May 27, 2011, 07:48:47 AM by Avan »
Logged

Alex

  • Administrator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 13696
    • View Profile
Re: Adding in custom ships
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2011, 02:07:46 PM »

Tip: if you don't specify bounds (or specify empty bounds, I forget which), the game will use a circular collision area based on the collisionRadius.

As to the coordinate system, I forget exactly what it is :) It's x,y w/ the ship facing to the right (i.e. towards 0 degrees). The origin might be at the middle of the sprite, or at the rotation center of the ship.


As you might have guessed, there is a ship editor (which is the reason I don't have to remember this anymore). It's not quite ready for prime time, but at some point we'll polish it up and release it.
Logged

Avan

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1399
  • Pioneer of Starfarer Modding
    • View Profile
    • DevDB forums
Re: Adding in custom ships
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2011, 02:11:39 PM »

Ok, thanks! I'll mess around with it and see if I can get it in-game.

Avan

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1399
  • Pioneer of Starfarer Modding
    • View Profile
    • DevDB forums
Re: Adding in custom ships
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2011, 02:24:15 PM »

Hmm, I am getting 'array out of bounds' errors when it tries to load shiphulls.cvs

Apokus

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Adding in custom ships
« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2011, 02:27:39 PM »

How did you edit the csv file? OpenOffice or Excel?
Logged

Avan

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1399
  • Pioneer of Starfarer Modding
    • View Profile
    • DevDB forums
Re: Adding in custom ships
« Reply #5 on: May 05, 2011, 02:30:41 PM »

Open Office

Apokus

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Adding in custom ships
« Reply #6 on: May 05, 2011, 02:32:42 PM »

Good.. i hope you have a backup then ;) If not let me know, i have a lot of backups by now :D
I had the same problem with all the csv files... upload them to google documents, edit them there, download them as csv and put them into your folder.. thats the only way i got them work :/
It seems like Excel and OpenOffice has some markers there the game dont like :/
Logged

Avan

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1399
  • Pioneer of Starfarer Modding
    • View Profile
    • DevDB forums
Re: Adding in custom ships
« Reply #7 on: May 05, 2011, 02:36:01 PM »

ah ok, thanks! ;D

Apokus

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Adding in custom ships
« Reply #8 on: May 05, 2011, 02:38:48 PM »

If it works for you too, youre welcome ;)
I was going to smash things around here last night while having the same problem until i remember that there was a comment in some sample file about the google document online :D
After testing it this way it works for me :)
Logged

Avan

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1399
  • Pioneer of Starfarer Modding
    • View Profile
    • DevDB forums
Re: Adding in custom ships
« Reply #9 on: May 05, 2011, 02:42:48 PM »

How do you download them as csv? I only have the option to do 'PDF, Open Office, Skip, MS Office'

Apokus

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Adding in custom ships
« Reply #10 on: May 05, 2011, 02:52:15 PM »

You dont have this option?
http://imageshack.us/f/848/saveas.jpg/
Logged

Avan

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1399
  • Pioneer of Starfarer Modding
    • View Profile
    • DevDB forums
Re: Adding in custom ships
« Reply #11 on: May 05, 2011, 02:55:23 PM »

Oh ok thanks  ;D
I usually don't use google docs

Apokus

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Adding in custom ships
« Reply #12 on: May 05, 2011, 03:01:48 PM »

Same here ;)
Btw.. this would be a good question to alex.. is there a way we can tell the game to get the online saved file? ;)
So... its a bit inefficient to edit them online, save them on the pc, put it in the right folder, edit it again online and so on.. would be easier to edit the file online as long as we have to work on it :)
Logged

Avan

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1399
  • Pioneer of Starfarer Modding
    • View Profile
    • DevDB forums
Re: Adding in custom ships
« Reply #13 on: May 05, 2011, 03:16:28 PM »

Ok, I managed to get it working. Now to actually put the ships in a mission and test them out.

Avan

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1399
  • Pioneer of Starfarer Modding
    • View Profile
    • DevDB forums
Re: Adding in custom ships
« Reply #14 on: May 05, 2011, 03:27:24 PM »

Yay, everything is working except for the tactical icon
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 26