Fractal Softworks Forum
November 17, 2018, 01:47:54 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Starsector 0.9a is out! (11/16/18)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Troubleshooting  (Read 21734 times)
Ivaylo
Loremaster
Global Moderator
Commander
*****
Posts: 230



View Profile
« on: April 09, 2012, 03:33:56 AM »

The game doesn't start/something looks odd/etc

Please make sure your graphics drivers are up-to-date and try again. If they are or updating doesn't help, read on for more specific solutions.



The download link in the order confirmation email doesn't work anymore, what do I do?

You can download the game from a link on this page, no password needed. You'll still need your activation key.


I lost my activation key!

Send an email to keys [at] bmtmicro [dot] com, they should be able to help you out.


Game won't start on Mac OS X versions prior to 10.6 (Snow Leopard)

What you actually want to do is replace the JavaApplicationStub executable file in the Starsector.app/Contents/MacOS directory with one under /System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Resources/MacOS/.

The first question is, where did you put Starsector on your system? Assuming it's in the Applications folder, what you want to do is run the following as a single, one-line command from Terminal:
cp /System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Resources/MacOS/JavaApplicationStub /Applications/Starsector.app/Contents/MacOS
It may wrap around in this post because it's too long, but needs to be a single command when you type it in - that is, type/paste the whole command in one line without hitting enter.

Once that's done (and again, assuming Starsector is in the Applications folder), you'd need to run these two separate commands:
cd /Applications/Starsector.app/Contents/MacOS
./JavaApplicationStub
After that's done, you should be able to run the game normally.

Original thread here.


Game won't start, gives "Fatal: Exiting - exception in LWJGL initialization, Cause: Pixel format not accelerated"

Note: if you have the latest NVIDIA drivers (as of January 2017) and are experiencing this problem, see this thread.

There are two possible causes of this error. First, make sure that your display is in 32 bit mode.

Windows XP: Right-click on desktop, "Properties", "Settings" tab, and an "Advanced" button.
Windows 7: Right-click on desktop, "Screen Resolution" hit the "Advanced" link (it is blue), then hit the "Monitor" tab. At the bottom you will see a pulldown, which should be set to "32 bit."

If your display already is in 32 bit mode and you're still getting this error, please update your graphics drivers.

Original thread here.


Sound does not work on Linux

Starsector uses the OpenAL library which is typically bundled with your OS distribution. In rare cases the 32 bit binaries are included for a 64 bit OS. You must grab the correct binary files for the library in order for sound to work.

Ubuntu: If you have the Synaptic Package Manager
Open Synaptic Package Manager (System -> Administration -> Synaptic Package Manager)
Then in the search box type "libopenal" without the quotes.

Then click on the libopenal1 checkbox there, it ought to install the package in your OS. Our bundled .so file ought to have worked, but if this fixes sound we know where the issue is.

Arch Linux: open the command line and run: pacman -S lib32-alsa-lib lib32-openal

Original thread here.


Running with an ATI graphics card on Linux, crash shortly after startup

If you're running Starsector using an ATI graphics card on Linux, you might experience the game crashing shortly after startup. To get around this:

1. Install OpenJDK.
2. Modify starsector.sh to launch the OpenJDK java. In most cases, just change the first line from
./jre_linux/bin/java ...
to:
java ...
Where "..." represents the rest of the line.

This will run the game using your default jvm. You can see which one that is if you type "java -version" in the console. If that's not the OpenJDK jvm, change starsector.sh to point to your OpenJDK java executable.

If the above does not work try the official ATI drivers in addition to running with OpenJDK.

Original thread here.


Installing mods

To install a mod, download it and unzip it into the "mods" directory. On Windows, it's in the installation directory. On a Mac, it's right inside the application package - right-click on the application and select "Show Package Contents" to see it. On Linux, it's in the starsector directory.

Do not unzip the contents of the mod into the mods folder - you have to put the directory the mod is in into the folder instead.

You can select which mod(s) you want to run with in the launcher.

You can find a list of available mods here.
« Last Edit: January 30, 2017, 07:06:31 PM by Alex » Logged

Escort Ship-level forum support
Upgradecap
Admiral
*****
Posts: 5422


CEO of the TimCORP


View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2012, 03:35:35 AM »

Awesome!!!  Finally got this thread around here Grin
Logged

arwan
Admiral
*****
Posts: 621



View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2012, 07:36:50 PM »

... There is a new hope. ...
insert star wars theme music now
...strike back...
the force is strong with this one.. come to the dark side and experiance UNLIMITED POWER!!!


atleast that is what went threw my mind as i read this.

good post i hope it helps a lot of people out.
Logged

Alex
You won't be able to refit fighters and bombers at all. They're designed/balanced around having a particular set of weapons and would be very broken if you could change it. Which ones you pick for your fleet -out of quite a few that are available- is the choice here, not how they're outfitted.
Ivaylo
Loremaster
Global Moderator
Commander
*****
Posts: 230



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2012, 06:22:18 AM »

You win the easter egg hunt, arwan!
Logged

Escort Ship-level forum support
Alex
Administrator
Admiral
*****
Posts: 12096


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2012, 01:28:51 PM »

Updated and reformatted OP.
Logged
Alex
Administrator
Admiral
*****
Posts: 12096


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2013, 11:16:17 AM »

@MidnightSun: thanks for pointing out the naming issue Smiley
Logged
mrpersonality30
Ensign
*
Posts: 1


View Profile Email
« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2013, 09:12:49 PM »

i have a question about factions please. I have a few mods loaded and the one problem I'm having is the factions aren't loading any ships or items on there stations only a few stations load things and I'm not sure what's wrong.
Logged
sirboomalot
Admiral
*****
Posts: 596


Boom


View Profile Email
« Reply #7 on: March 22, 2013, 10:14:26 PM »

i have a question about factions please. I have a few mods loaded and the one problem I'm having is the factions aren't loading any ships or items on there stations only a few stations load things and I'm not sure what's wrong.

If one of the mods is uomoz's corvus, you'll want to choose vanilla starsector, otherwise the stations in uomoz's corvus that are enemies with the faction you choose won't sell you anything.
Logged
Azmond
Captain
****
Posts: 438


I'm but a man with a pencil.


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: July 23, 2013, 10:07:38 PM »

I don't know if anyone's noticed, but here's another linux touble-shooting tip. If a mod doesn't work, look at what made it crash, if the file isn't the same as the file in the error, try renaming the file to the one in the error.

An example:

File aSd.PNG not found, you look in the mod folder where the file should be there, it's there. but named asd.png instead. Rather then go throguh the code of the mod, just re-name the file to what the mod is looking for, linux is a case-sesitive OS, so, if it's not named right- even the extensions of the flie!!! -you may have an error on your hands.
Logged

CEO and Founder of Metelson Industries!

I Play Dwarf Fortress a lot  Come see what happens, or participate! :3
qinta
Ensign
*
Posts: 4


View Profile Email
« Reply #9 on: November 18, 2015, 07:48:00 PM »

I am having issues running the starsector plus mod. I have changed to 64 bit java and have memory set to 5MB (-Xms5120m -Xmx5120m) as described in the Out of Memory? Use 64-bit Java! Instructions Inside + Video forum.
the game starts up, but displays improperly on the main menu. it works just fine when i actually start a game, until i get into a battle. the tactical map works fine, but when i try to pilot, the ship graphics are not there, and there are afterimages of the aiming and flux/hull HUD.

I am using
Windows 10
Intel CORE i7
the graphics drivers are up to date
the vanilla game ran properly with 32 bit java.

Logged
Dark.Revenant
Admiral
*****
Posts: 2418



View Profile WWW Email
« Reply #10 on: November 18, 2015, 09:15:42 PM »

Your video driver is messed up.  Also, wrong section.
Logged

MrPrime84
Ensign
*
Posts: 4


View Profile Email
« Reply #11 on: September 04, 2016, 03:03:50 PM »

I am having issues running the starsector plus mod. I have changed to 64 bit java and have memory set to 5MB (-Xms5120m -Xmx5120m) as described in the Out of Memory? Use 64-bit Java! Instructions Inside + Video forum.
the game starts up, but displays improperly on the main menu. it works just fine when i actually start a game, until i get into a battle. the tactical map works fine, but when i try to pilot, the ship graphics are not there, and there are afterimages of the aiming and flux/hull HUD.

I am using
Windows 10
Intel CORE i7
the graphics drivers are up to date
the vanilla game ran properly with 32 bit java.

I'm having the same issue and curious to know how I can resolve this for good. Any help will be greatly appreciated. I Recently purchased the game and haven't been able to play because of the graphical issues I'm having.
Logged
chidorah
Ensign
*
Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: February 02, 2017, 11:33:53 PM »

Hi, I just installed the game but when I went to run the game, it loaded up and immediately crashed, saying "fatal:null" after checking my log, I went to the end where it said "
220345 [Thread-4] ERROR com.fs.starfarer.combat.CombatMain  - java.lang.OutOfMemoryError
java.lang.OutOfMemoryError
   at sun.misc.Unsafe.allocateMemory(Native Method)
   at java.nio.DirectByteBuffer.<init>(Unknown Source)
   at java.nio.ByteBuffer.allocateDirect(Unknown Source)
   at org.lwjgl.BufferUtils.createByteBuffer(BufferUtils.java:60)
   at com.fs.starfarer.util.D.Ò00000(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.loading.ResourceLoaderState.init(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.state.AppDriver.begin(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.combat.CombatMain.main(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.StarfarerLauncher$1.run(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)"
I am using
Windows 10
Intel CORE i7
the graphics drivers are up to date
64xbit Java

Any help is appreciated
Logged
Midnight Kitsune
Admiral
*****
Posts: 2339


Your Friendly Forum Friend


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: February 02, 2017, 11:47:26 PM »

Hi, I just installed the game but when I went to run the game, it loaded up and immediately crashed, saying "fatal:null" after checking my log, I went to the end where it said "
220345 [Thread-4] ERROR com.fs.starfarer.combat.CombatMain  - java.lang.OutOfMemoryError
java.lang.OutOfMemoryError
   at sun.misc.Unsafe.allocateMemory(Native Method)
   at java.nio.DirectByteBuffer.<init>(Unknown Source)
   at java.nio.ByteBuffer.allocateDirect(Unknown Source)
   at org.lwjgl.BufferUtils.createByteBuffer(BufferUtils.java:60)
   at com.fs.starfarer.util.D.Ò00000(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.loading.ResourceLoaderState.init(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.state.AppDriver.begin(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.combat.CombatMain.main(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.StarfarerLauncher$1.run(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)"
I am using
Windows 10
Intel CORE i7
the graphics drivers are up to date
64xbit Java

Any help is appreciated
How much ram do you have and have you changed the VAMPRAMS file at all?
Logged

Stop trying to balance the game around a few minmaxers...
Programming is like sex:
One mistake and you have to support it for the rest of your life.

Tired of having your game crash because of out of date mods? Then click here!
Get Version Checker today! Now with 90% less hassle! Simply toss it into your mod folder, activate the mod like a normal one and BINGO you will now be informed of any and all updates when you start SS campaign up!
Pwnzerfaust
Ensign
*
Posts: 3


View Profile Email
« Reply #14 on: May 06, 2017, 01:41:02 AM »

I'm having a crash on startup and I can't figure out how to get it to work. I've installed the latest version of JRE x64, and I updated my graphics card drivers. I am using Windows 10 64 bit. Error message below, from log.
Code:
0    [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.StarfarerLauncher  - Starting Starsector 0.8a-RC19 launcher
1    [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.StarfarerLauncher  - Running in D:\Games\Starsector\starsector-core
1    [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.StarfarerLauncher  - OS: Windows 8.1 6.3
2    [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.StarfarerLauncher  - Java version: 1.7.0_80 (64-bit)
44   [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.settings.StarfarerSettings  - Loading settings
59   [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.loading.LoadingUtils  - Loading JSON from [ABSOLUTE_AND_CWD: null (data/config/settings.json)]
487  [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.launcher.opengl.GLLauncher  - Found display mode: 320x240, 48Hz, 32bpp
488  [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.launcher.opengl.GLLauncher  - Found display mode: 320x200, 48Hz, 32bpp
488  [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.launcher.opengl.GLLauncher  - Found display mode: 400x300, 48Hz, 32bpp
488  [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.launcher.opengl.GLLauncher  - Found display mode: 512x384, 48Hz, 32bpp
489  [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.launcher.opengl.GLLauncher  - Found display mode: 640x480, 48Hz, 32bpp
489  [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.launcher.opengl.GLLauncher  - Found display mode: 640x400, 48Hz, 32bpp
489  [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.launcher.opengl.GLLauncher  - Found display mode: 800x600, 48Hz, 32bpp
490  [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.launcher.opengl.GLLauncher  - Found display mode: 1024x768, 48Hz, 32bpp
490  [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.launcher.opengl.GLLauncher  - Found display mode: 1152x864, 48Hz, 32bpp
490  [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.launcher.opengl.GLLauncher  - Found display mode: 1280x768, 48Hz, 32bpp
490  [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.launcher.opengl.GLLauncher  - Found display mode: 1280x800, 48Hz, 32bpp
491  [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.launcher.opengl.GLLauncher  - Found display mode: 1280x720, 48Hz, 32bpp
491  [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.launcher.opengl.GLLauncher  - Found display mode: 1280x600, 48Hz, 32bpp
491  [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.launcher.opengl.GLLauncher  - Found display mode: 1280x960, 48Hz, 32bpp
491  [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.launcher.opengl.GLLauncher  - Found display mode: 1280x1024, 48Hz, 32bpp
491  [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.launcher.opengl.GLLauncher  - Found display mode: 1360x768, 48Hz, 32bpp
492  [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.launcher.opengl.GLLauncher  - Found display mode: 1366x768, 48Hz, 32bpp
492  [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.launcher.opengl.GLLauncher  - Found display mode: 1400x1050, 48Hz, 32bpp
492  [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.launcher.opengl.GLLauncher  - Found display mode: 1440x900, 48Hz, 32bpp
492  [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.launcher.opengl.GLLauncher  - Found display mode: 1600x1200, 48Hz, 32bpp
493  [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.launcher.opengl.GLLauncher  - Found display mode: 1600x900, 48Hz, 32bpp
493  [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.launcher.opengl.GLLauncher  - Found display mode: 1680x1050, 48Hz, 32bpp
493  [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.launcher.opengl.GLLauncher  - Found display mode: 1792x1344, 48Hz, 32bpp
493  [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.launcher.opengl.GLLauncher  - Found display mode: 1856x1392, 48Hz, 32bpp
494  [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.launcher.opengl.GLLauncher  - Found display mode: 1920x1440, 48Hz, 32bpp
494  [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.launcher.opengl.GLLauncher  - Found display mode: 1920x1080, 48Hz, 32bpp
494  [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.launcher.opengl.GLLauncher  - Found display mode: 1920x1200, 48Hz, 32bpp
494  [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.launcher.opengl.GLLauncher  - Found display mode: 2048x1536, 48Hz, 32bpp
494  [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.launcher.opengl.GLLauncher  - Found display mode: 2048x1152, 48Hz, 32bpp
495  [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.launcher.opengl.GLLauncher  - Found display mode: 3840x2160, 48Hz, 32bpp
495  [main] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.launcher.opengl.GLLauncher  - Assuming native monitor resolution is 3840x2160
970  [Thread-2] INFO  com.fs.graphics.L  - Using refresh rate:48
1366 [Thread-2] INFO  com.fs.graphics.TextureLoader  - Cleaned buffer for texture graphics/ui/launcher_bg.jpg (using cast)
1403 [Thread-2] INFO  com.fs.graphics.TextureLoader  - Cleaned buffer for texture graphics/ui/launch_button_bg.png (using cast)
1415 [Thread-2] INFO  com.fs.graphics.TextureLoader  - Cleaned buffer for texture graphics/ui/play_button0.png (using cast)
1423 [Thread-2] INFO  com.fs.graphics.TextureLoader  - Cleaned buffer for texture graphics/ui/play_button1.png (using cast)
1430 [Thread-2] INFO  com.fs.graphics.TextureLoader  - Cleaned buffer for texture graphics/ui/buttons/toggleA20x_on.png (using cast)
1439 [Thread-2] INFO  com.fs.graphics.TextureLoader  - Cleaned buffer for texture graphics/ui/buttons/toggleA20x_off.png (using cast)
1444 [Thread-2] INFO  com.fs.graphics.TextureLoader  - Cleaned buffer for texture graphics/ui/buttons/arrow_down.png (using cast)
1448 [Thread-2] INFO  com.fs.graphics.TextureLoader  - Cleaned buffer for texture graphics/fx/scanline11.png (using cast)
1490 [Thread-2] INFO  com.fs.graphics.TextureLoader  - Cleaned buffer for texture graphics/fonts/orbitron24aabold_0.png (using cast)
1574 [Thread-2] INFO  com.fs.graphics.TextureLoader  - Cleaned buffer for texture graphics/fonts/orbitron20aa_0.png (using cast)
1647 [Thread-2] INFO  com.fs.graphics.TextureLoader  - Cleaned buffer for texture graphics/fonts/insignia15LTaa_0.png (using cast)
1725 [Thread-2] INFO  com.fs.graphics.TextureLoader  - Cleaned buffer for texture graphics/fonts/orbitron12_0.png (using cast)
4019 [Thread-4] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.StarfarerLauncher  - Running vanilla game with no mods.
4019 [Thread-4] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.settings.StarfarerSettings  - Loading settings
4020 [Thread-4] INFO  com.fs.starfarer.loading.LoadingUtils  - Loading JSON from [ABSOLUTE_AND_CWD: null (data/config/settings.json)]
4313 [Thread-4] INFO  com.fs.graphics.L  - Using refresh rate:48
4481 [Thread-4] INFO  com.fs.graphics.TextureLoader  - Cleaned buffer for texture graphics/particleline32ln.png (using cast)
4485 [Thread-4] INFO  com.fs.graphics.TextureLoader  - Cleaned buffer for texture graphics/particleline32sq.png (using cast)
4505 [Thread-4] ERROR com.fs.starfarer.combat.CombatMain  - java.lang.NullPointerException
java.lang.NullPointerException
at com.fs.starfarer.campaign.accidents.A.super(Unknown Source)
at com.fs.starfarer.combat.CombatMain.main(Unknown Source)
at com.fs.starfarer.StarfarerLauncher$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

« Last Edit: May 06, 2017, 03:30:17 PM by Pwnzerfaust » Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines
Simple Audio Video Embedder
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!