Fractal Softworks Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Need help! Null error  (Read 1592 times)

toastyblitz

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Need help! Null error
« on: July 01, 2020, 08:07:54 PM »

So after hours of chasing down other null errors, I'm left with this, right before the game finishes loading:

Spoiler
14055 [Thread-4] ERROR com.fs.starfarer.combat.CombatMain  - java.lang.NullPointerException
java.lang.NullPointerException
   at com.fs.starfarer.loading.specs.g.isDHull(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.codex.CodexData.Ô00000(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.codex.CodexData.<init>(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.codex.super.<init>(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.codex.super.Ô00000(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.loading.ResourceLoaderState.init(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.state.AppDriver.begin(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.combat.CombatMain.main(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.StarfarerLauncher$1.run(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
[close]

It is literally the last thing in the log, and unlike with the previous errors, there doesn't seem to be any context to chase down what specifically is causing the problem. I am 1 day old when it comes to modding, so if it is super obvious please feel free to mock my noobishness.

Logged

SirHartley

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 840
    • View Profile
Re: Need help! Null error
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2020, 11:41:38 PM »

your magicLib is outdated, update it.
Logged

toastyblitz

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Re: Need help! Null error
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2020, 05:28:54 AM »

Thank you for the suggestion, however I'm currently running the latest version, 0.29rc3.
Logged

SirHartley

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 840
    • View Profile
Re: Need help! Null error
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2020, 05:49:49 AM »

okay, that is strange considering we had that error multiple times and it was MagicLib, every time.

Please provide the following information:
Is that save old or did you start a new one?
Did you update any mods recently, on an ongoing save? If yes, which ones?
You mention fixing stuff. What did you do, exactly?

Also, please provide your Mod list.
Thanks!
Logged

toastyblitz

  • Ensign
  • *
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Re: Need help! Null error
« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2020, 03:46:49 PM »

*edited for clarity*

Some things I left out as I was very tired in my original post:
I am updating a mod from 0.7.2 to the latest version. (Ironclads, after talking with Okim)
Currently working on just porting ships and weapons over. When I have just weapons in the mod folder, the game loads fine. I've gotten it to where with the hulls and variants folders as well, it loads up until I get this:

18632 [Thread-4] INFO  com.fs.graphics.TextureLoader  - Cleaned buffer for texture graphics/shaders/distortions/ripple/0057.PNG (using cast)
18646 [Thread-4] INFO  com.fs.graphics.TextureLoader  - Cleaned buffer for texture graphics/shaders/distortions/ripple/0058.PNG (using cast)
18659 [Thread-4] INFO  com.fs.graphics.TextureLoader  - Cleaned buffer for texture graphics/shaders/distortions/ripple/0059.PNG (using cast)
18673 [Thread-4] INFO  com.fs.graphics.TextureLoader  - Cleaned buffer for texture graphics/shaders/distortions/ripple/0060.PNG (using cast)
18985 [Thread-4] ERROR com.fs.starfarer.combat.CombatMain  - java.lang.NullPointerException
java.lang.NullPointerException
   at com.fs.starfarer.loading.specs.g.isDHull(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.codex.CodexData.Ô00000(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.codex.CodexData.<init>(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.codex.super.<init>(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.codex.super.Ô00000(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.loading.ResourceLoaderState.init(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.state.AppDriver.begin(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.combat.CombatMain.main(Unknown Source)
   at com.fs.starfarer.StarfarerLauncher$1.run(Unknown Source)
   at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)

My question really is what would be something that the Codex is looking for when loading that the earlier hull loading process isn't?


**Update**

Found the problem child. Narrowed it down to a single hull/variant. Now I just gotta figure out why.

**Final update**

Fixed. The original Ironclads, as a TC, added in a whole set of hullmods. I didn't want to open the can of worms of trying to reconcile what the ship/variants had from the original vs the hullmods included in the base game, so I *thought* I had stripped them all out.

Missed one.
« Last Edit: July 02, 2020, 06:20:51 PM by toastyblitz »
Logged